We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 31 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Understated hosts but almost certainly to exceed your expectations of comfort in a location that just cant be beat. The hosts Gwenda and Peter make efforts to be helpful and chatty. Gwenda even let me hold the 3 day old lamb! :) The room view, the facilities are excellent. Above everything Gwenda is responsive to your needs and even if they might not offer a facility 'on the tin' you just have to ask and she will make every effort to be helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_Panda2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at The Point on 19th Dec 2013. What great hosts Gwenda & Peter are. This is a B & B plus a farm stay, an enjoyable combination. We had a superb trip with Whale Watch Kiakoura and saw a whale twice.
We had been to Kaikoura twice before but both times the weather did not co-operate and the whale watching was cancelled.
The Point is located aprox 2km out of the town, a thing that appealed to us when booking online.It is very near the seal colony, just another of the many attractions in the area.
We had the front room at The Point, comfortable bed, good bathroom and a wonderful view,. But Gwenda's farmhouse breakfast accompanied by her cheerful personality and enjoyable conversation was the "icing on the cake". I think reviewer Remco2492 must have taken an overdose of his allergy medication before he wrote his review!!

Room Tip: Ask for the front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed our 1 night stay at The Point. The hosts were very helpful and friendly (even sharing a beer with us) and helped us get on the reserve list for the Dolphin swimming. The breakfast was really good and had lots of choice (we would recommend trying the homemade Kiwi jam, it is excellent). The location is great for the seal colony and we walked there at 5am, This is a great time as you can get photo's of the seals asleep and watch the sun rise. The only suggestion we would have is that there should be tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

my family and I just had a wonderful two night stay at the point.
The hosts were both very friendly and helpful with tourist info.
Food was delicious, toys were given to our toddler to play with and we fed the baby lamb.
Would love to stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvjjrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Reading the other reviews I recognise the fact that Gwenda and Peter are not the usual people you would expect in a B&B. Their background is farming and working in the hospitalitybusiness aquires more peopleskills. Having said that the contact with Peter was pretty easy. We had a nice conversation about sports and other stuff. At first Gwenda comes across as a more reserved person who answers questions and talks easily about things to do in the area and nice restaurants rather than having a nice chitchat. After the first night however this changed somewhat and we got on a little easier. Breakfast is served next to the familykitchen and is fine but not spectacular. The fresh egg on toast is the "extra" but otherwise pretty basic. We stayed in the frontroom which was OK. Good but smallish bed and bathroom ensuite with a good shower. As mentioned in most reviews: The view is spectacular and the position of the farm is ideally located near the seal colony and a BBQ-caravan (not cheap, but really good food). All in all a place I gladly would stay again, especially now that we know what to expect. Last but not least, their are a dog and cat in the house. Both my wife and I suffer from allergies, but with our medication we experienced no discomfort.

Room Tip: The front room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remco2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The B&B itself including the surrounding area is just awesome! It's just beneath the fur-seal colony, which is also the starting point of a very nice coastal walk. Our room was very nice, tidy and charming. BUT: We didn't feel to be welcome at any time - maybe it was just us - or we did catch a bad time!? Referring to the other ratings you should be able to get an idea. Compared to all the other friendly hosts we met in New Zeeland this B&B is not recommendable. We've just had one night - and don't want to stay another, sorry!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Really nice, comfortable, & well equipped accomodation in a beautiful spot with views across the bay to snow capped mountains.
Convenient for sea trips or exploring the country & coast.
Small farm ,lovely gardens,friendly & helpful hosts...& a special extra..sheepshearing & feeding the lambs.
Lovely wood fire ,short walk to seal colony, quiet at night.
We would recommend The Point as a first class place to stay & hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#11 of 20 in Kaikoura
121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alpine View Motel
Alpine View Motel
#17 of 20 in Kaikoura
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Point 85 Fyffe Quay, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: $119 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Point Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you a warm and friendly welcome to our home. Enjoy the quietness and the special location of this beautiful 125 year old farmhouse. Our unique location offers you picturesque views overlooking the sea and the speculator Seaward Kaikoura mountain range. Surrounded by the beauty of the sea and farmland (part of the Kaikoura peninsula) we are ideally situated for walking around the Kaikoura Peninsula, the Seal colony, Fyffe House and 4 km from the town centre and sightseeing activities. Our two guest rooms have comfortable queen beds, TV (Freeview TV) and their own private ensuite. We have free wireless broadband Internet service available and a lounge for guest use ( board games and books to peruse). Our property is surrounded by gardens which you are more than welcome to walk around or sit and enjoy. Our tariff includes a continental breakfast consisting of 5 cereals, fresh fruit, peaches, yogurt, tea & coffee, orange juice, toast, home made spreads and farm eggs on toast. At The Point we operate a daily Sheep Shearing Show, show times 1-30pm and 4pm( during the winter months please check show times). In Kaikoura we are spoilt for choice with a vast number of restaurants to choose from; within 10-15 minutes walk we have two of Kaikoura's top restaurants and the local seaside BBQ's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Point Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing