We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & special B & B in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Point Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique & special B & B in great location”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Really nice, comfortable, & well equipped accomodation in a beautiful spot with views across the bay to snow capped mountains.
Convenient for sea trips or exploring the country & coast.
Small farm ,lovely gardens,friendly & helpful hosts...& a special extra..sheepshearing & feeding the lambs.
Lovely wood fire ,short walk to seal colony, quiet at night.
We would recommend The Point as a first class place to stay & hope to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our night with Gwenda at The Point. We were late arriving, but Gwenda had prepared some dining suggestions in advance. In the morning, we were treated to a delicious assortment of homemade jellies and jams (we still crave more kiwifruit jam). The dull roar of the ocean was an ever-present delight. The room itself was pleasantly decorated and very comfortable. If we were to ever return to Kaikoura, we'd definitely choose The Point!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Here's an overview of our one-night stay last week:

Location: extremely beautifully situated 5 minutes (walk!) from Seal Colony, excellent seafood BBQ down the road, very quiet too. Beautiful garden too!

Room: big enough, clean, lovely bathroom (historic rimu floors!), good heater (and chocolates :) )

Hosts: friendly, hospitable (though their visiting friends were a little noisy)

Breakfast: good, continental plus an egg on toast, I loved the homemade jams and the poached peaches

Would we stay again? Yes. So far our most enjoyable stay in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

There were some positive & negatives with this B & B. Great location is a plus. Close to Pt. Kean & the seal colony. And the sheep shearing show they provide on premises for $10/adult was also convenient & educational. Great tasting BBQ crayfish down the road. However, host doesn't easily engage in conversation but does when drawn into a conversation. For some, this type of situation may make for an awkward experience. We've stayed at various accommodations around the world including B & B's and the greatest assets of hosts were social skills, social skills, social skills! That wasn't natural here! That's not to say the host was unfriendly. I believe the hosts are trying their best! But, in the hospitality business, when people are having to choose among different accommodations for top dollar, I would give this a pass next time around and would likely book a motel. I will say the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Kaikoura was our first stop after having escaped the Nelson floods just before Christmas and we arrived exhausted to a warm welcome from both Gwenda and Peter. Gwenda was happy to recommend places to eat and also checked whether our whale watching trip was running the following morning, which we appreciated. The room was lovely, and the bathroom beautifully decorated. We felt very welcomed and neither host appeared to mind when we sat at their dining table to check our email as we were unable to pick up the wireless internet in our room.

Breakfast was delicious, with a lovely fresh egg on toast. There is a guest lounge to watch TV, as well as a few board games which were very welcome after a tiring day. At no point did we feel like intruders or unwelcome.

Sadly we left Kaikoura (a beautiful town) the next day without seeing the whales, but we intend to return to do so and when we do we will definitely be staying at The Point.

There is both a dog and a cat, which may pose an issue for some travelers, and it is a fair way from the town so a car (or a strong pair of shoes!) is a must. There is also a roadside seafood stall a few metres from the B&B which provides delicious food within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwenda S, Owner at The Point Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
We appreciate and Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay at our Bed & Breakfast, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt welcome in our home.
However I am sorry that you missed the Whales; we definitely would welcome you back for another visit and hopefully a more successful Whale Watching tour.
Wireless internet is available but unfortunately the Rutherford Room is an exception, I am pleased that you felt welcome to sit at our dining table to check your emails.
We do appreciate that we are out of town (4km) and to walk to town takes maybe an hour for which you do require walking shoes. The roadside BBQs and coffee cart are very popular and do provide a wonderful menu to choose from.
Once again thankyou and we look forward to seeing you next time you come to Kaikoura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

One room is by the front door and although there are only 2 rooms, it could be bit noisy, especially if you need an afternoon nap.
Rooms clean and basic. Breakfast also very basic, although you are offered free range eggs for breakfast, which are yummy. Views from the home stay are breathtaking . Nothing luxurious, but good and basic and good value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junojac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointSmith, Owner at The Point Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear Guests

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay at our Bed & Breakfast. We apologies if you felt it may have been noisy if wanting to take an afternoon nap; we do endeavour to be aware of guests wanting to rest in the afternoon and can work together on this if advised. We are glad you enjoyed the fresh farm eggs. We agree the views are breathtaking especially on a good day. Once again we appreciate and thankyou for taking the time to review our property and we will take on board what you have mentioned. We trust that the time you had in Kaikoura will add to the memories of you New Zealand holiday.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed here for three nights some time ago but I had only found this website recently and didn't know I could share our experiences (I wish we did this after we left). First, the only good point: It's in a beautiful location with magnificent views to the Kaikoura ranges across the water, and walking distance to the seal colony.

The location is about the only thing going for this B&B. I agree with other correspondents that we felt like intruders here. The female host simply didn't want to talk to us or make us feel welcome. It was a little awkward too that the room is actually located inside their house (without a separate entry) so every time we came back from a drive, we felt as though we were trespassing into their house, especially when they were out.

I remember one time over breakfast the host's daughter would come to our table and help herself to the breakfast provisions that were laid out for us. Whilst I don't really care what she ate (there was plenty for us), I was concerned that there were no boundaries here and which reinforced the feeling of living like unwelcome guests in someone else's house.

I remember my wife and I discussed our visit here on the flight home to Australia and we both agreed it was a weird experience. No, we wouldn't come back here. It's just too awkward for us. We just felt like we were only staying to be an additional source of income for them, and there was no regard or goodwill shown towards us. There are many other better places than staying here with strange unfriendly hosts. Since we stayed, we hoped for their sake that it was just a one-off but from what I read here on the website, their unfriendly approach continues. Really, they should close the B&B and concentrate on their farming. They're just not suitable to be working in hospitality. Avoid.

Room Tip: Terrible. Better value elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pushkarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#15 of 36 in Kaikoura
38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Point Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Point 85 Fyffe Quay, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Point Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you a warm and friendly welcome to our home. Enjoy the quietness and the special location of this beautiful 125 year old farmhouse. Our unique location offers you picturesque views overlooking the sea and the speculator Seaward Kaikoura mountain range. Surrounded by the beauty of the sea and farmland (part of the Kaikoura peninsula) we are ideally situated for walking around the Kaikoura Peninsula, the Seal colony, Fyffe House and 4 km from the town centre and sightseeing activities. Our two guest rooms have comfortable queen beds, TV (Freeview TV) and their own private ensuite. We have free wireless broadband Internet service available and a lounge for guest use ( board games and books to peruse). Our property is surrounded by gardens which you are more than welcome to walk around or sit and enjoy. Our tariff includes a continental breakfast consisting of 5 cereals, fresh fruit, peaches, yogurt, tea & coffee, orange juice, toast, home made spreads and farm eggs on toast. At The Point we operate a daily Sheep Shearing Show, show times 1-30pm and 4pm( during the winter months please check show times). In Kaikoura we are spoilt for choice with a vast number of restaurants to choose from; within 10-15 minutes walk we have two of Kaikoura's top restaurants and the local seaside BBQ's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Point Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing