We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Better than I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Booked in Aspen Court for one night of our tour of the Alpine Pacific Triangle. Some of the rooms have state-of-the-art showers, but we opted for the ocean view. The rooms are very clean, sharp, and nicely appointed, with small kitchenette if you need (including small fridge, microwave and sink). Bed and pillows were extremely comfy, and they have an alarm clock for the early risers. Free parking and wifi are included, which is very nice! We had a car, so could drive to the city center; otherwise, it would be a bit of a walk. However, there are restaurants and a grocery store right next door. If in the area again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferrywings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
There are newer reviews for Quality Suites Kaikoura
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 712 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed for one night in this motel in Kaikoura in January. The motel was very clean and tidy and the rooms/bathrooms were new and nicely furbished. There was also a small separate kitchenette. No airconditioning in the room, but it wasn't too hot in the room even though it was summer. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet.

The staff was helpful, especially in finding good restaurants to eat in. Even though this motel isn't located in the center of Kaikoura, there are plenty of great restaurants on a walking distance from the motel.

I would recommend this motel for anyone thinking of spending some time in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed here for a night on the way from Christchurch to Picton in late November, and it's a good place to break what would otherwise be a very long journey. The welcome wasn't overly warm but we were given the honeymoon suite (room 21) on the top floor which was very large and comfortable and had a view towards the sea. There was also a small kitchen which was fine. The bathroom was small but adequate. The shower was interesting but a bit over the top, and came with a full page of instructions on how to use it - probably more than most people want to have to go through. No problems sleeping - a very good king size bed. The road into Kaikoura isn't very interesting and Kaikoura itself is nothing to write home about, but it's the place to be for whale watching etc. However, if your time is short, there are some beautiful walks over the cliffs with great views.

One slightly uncomfortable note - we were running a few minutes late checking out (our fault admittedly) and we asked if we could have an extra half hour if we needed it. Although it was granted (and we only needed 5 minutes in the end) it was with obvious reluctance. I understand that everyone has to keep to a work schedule and that time is money, but whatever the answer had been, it would have been perfectly okay either way - and it would have been nice not to have felt we were being an imposition.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angloT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your room and have taken on board your comments regarding the service. It is hard to please everyone and it has been a season of people requesting early check ins hence our hesitations for granting the late check out, as we had to check when the next guest for your room were requesting to check in. All in all, we wish you a happy future in your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Stayed for one night in this motel. Its in my opinion an average place. Its a bit out of town and has smallish rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

We are located approx 2.5km from the town centre which if walking takes about 15-20 minutes to walk however that also takes you along some lovely shops and cafes which may entice you in for a drink and a bite to eat. We have one small-ish studio which we sell as a standard studio which only has tea/coffee facilities and suitable for the traveller/s who are happy to eat out in restaurants and more budget conscious. We like to offer a variety of units which may suit most people budgets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We only stayed here one night and slept well. If we were staying longer, we would have asked for an ocean view. The room was large, well appointed, and the bed very comfortable. The shower was great - good pressure with lots of bells and whistles! There was also a little functional kitchenette. We drove into town instead of walking for 15 or 20 minutes(?) All in all we would stay here again or maybe stay in one of the many motels overlooking the ocean right in town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phippinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Just a few minutes out of the town centre by car, this motel has good sized rooms with modern bathroom and cooking facilities and in room internet access in a very quiet location (apart from the occasional train passing by). You can get a breakfast delivered to your room (arrives the night before but you have fridge/toaster etc in the room) which is great if you're off to see the dolphins the next morning. As somewhere to base yourself for a couple of days to see Kaikoura, can highly recommend - a good, no-hassle and very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We booked this motel for a one night stay after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advsior and were not disappointed. The location is wonderful, close to the sea on one side with a view of majestic snow capped mountains on the other.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Kaikoura

Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $98 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Kaikoura 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites Kaikoura prides itself on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE and UNLIMITED Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing