We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The booking process was easy using their website, we requested a quiet room based on advice on tripadvisor of road noise and trains. We arrived in Kaikoura around lunchtime and thought we would see if the room was ready early - it was and they were polite too given we had turned up with no warning! The man (I assume one of the owners) confirmed our room was the quietest one which was nice. Room was clean and well appointed, comfy bed and the room was warm. Was easy to relax in and felt at home. Didn't hear any road noise and not a single train. Lovely service on the reception desk in the morning too from the woman who was genuinely helpful and gave us a discount coupon for a recommended cafe for breakfast. We will definitely be back when we're in Kaikoura next! Thanks :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieRose_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your feedback is appreciated.and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 712 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Reading all these great reviews I have had to question my own experience to see whether I was being unfair or had just been unlucky. I think it's the latter.

We arrived in Kaikoura in lovely sunshine after a fabulous drive from Hanmer Springs. As we walked into the i-Site it started to rain and it go heavier as the day went on. So we didn't see Kaikoura at its best. Driving out of town to Aspen Court was a fairly depressing ride - and quite a distance too. We had booked only the day before so our request for a room with a view was clearly a non-starter, since we were told that such rooms had been booked months in advance. Nonetheless, the end room on the ground floor at the front of the building was the poorest we experienced in our 6 weeks in New Zealand. Sleep was a fitful affair, due to the road noise which was very intrusive throughout the night. We had booked for two nights but stayed only one. On the plus side, whilst we didn't experience the fabulous, helpful side of the owners that others have done, once they were over the initial 'don't know what you've got to complain about' attitude, they did not quibble about us cancelling the second night.

If you believe the glowing reviews here then you must go ahead and book and should ignore these comments. But otherwise, stay closer into town and stay off the main road, even if it's a bit more expensive, get a view of the bay and a pleasant walk to the attractions on offer.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment. It is regrettable that your experience was not entirely positive. January is one of the busiest times of the year and we do not always have the flexibility to offer a variety of rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place was incredible. The place was magnificent, great rooms, nicely decorated and a view of the mountains from our. Dinner table. I'll admit the shower was a trifle complex, too many buttons for my taste, but I'm a ludite.

The only real problem was that my daughter didn't want to leave this place, and we had to move on.

And the whale watching was spectacular!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Rooms: 4/5
Location: 5/5 walking distance to nearby supermarkets. Quiet and peaceful. Town Center and restaurants are a good morning walk away.
Hosts: 5/5 They give honest information and really try to help you out.
View: 2/5 view is not the reason you stay here. Nothing exceptional about it.
Value for money: Great!

I have not visited/stayed at other hotels in kaikoura. However this place is peaceful and feels like home.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rohan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment, your feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Called in as driving past and needed a motel, reception was friendly, super helpful of local tips and photography opportunity, loved the baby seals at the waterfall, something I would have missed if it was not recommended, Great knowledge of places to eat, and get real coffee. Room clean, tidy, spacious, Bed extremely comfortable, views of sea and mountains, quiet, WiFi, and spa shower. Would recommend, pity I did not have longer to enjoy the motel and region, Next time

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment, your feedback is really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My partner and I have stayed at the Aspen Court numerous times. Every time we arrive the owner is very welcoming, takes time to chat with us and provides information on nearby restaurants. Our room was clean and tidy to a high standard, and as a bonus we had a view of the Kaikoura mountains. Bathroom was good, enjoyed the underfloor heating. I would recommend this motel to family and friends. We will definately be returning for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prija843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Found our room to be perfectly clean and comfortable. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Some restaurants and takeaway food available nearby. Handy to have a supermarket close by. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment, your feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
122 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anchor Inn Motel
Anchor Inn Motel
#2 of 20 in Kaikoura
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Kaikoura

Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $95 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Kaikoura 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites Kaikoura prides itself on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE and UNLIMITED Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Suites Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing