We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed 1 night in an executive studio. Hotel looks new and modern. Room was clean and new too. Bed is very comfortable. Aircon and TV were all in good working conditions. Reception was friendly. Very satisfied overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckiancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment, your positive feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    221
    31
    12
    0
See reviews for
100
473
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for only a night last December but it was great, we were really tired after driving first from rotorua to auckland then flight to christchurch and then drive to kaikoura but hotel was worth it. Kaikoura is a very relaxing place and the hotel adds to it. The welcome was great. There was free wifi. Rooms are spacious and open up either ways into the driveway and inside the hotel. The kitchen is small but clean. The bathroom great. Not much to do in town for night but stay was good plus the hotel helped us to book the whale cruise well in advance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Czarofconsoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment, we appreciate your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
584 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Yes, the managers are quite proud about the spaceship shower capsules in the rooms. There are special instructions, your require training to handle the 10 buttons and switches with water and steam coming from all different directions in different intensities. No, you don't come for this (even though for some it is a new experience). This little motel stands out for the extremely welcoming and warm managers, their obsession about cleanliness, hygiene, and order (just look at how the kitchen utensils are disposed in the drawers). We enjoyed how well everything worked and, if back in the area for some more wale watching (5 min drive) we would clearly come back. Well done.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here 1 night but were happy with our stay

Pros
People were nice
Room was spacious
Bathroom was nice
Was a nice value
It was a quiet place to relax

Cons
A few miles from downtown
Carpet was old and a little dirty

We would stay here again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOnPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The Hosts are very hospitable and always ready to help if any guidance is required. Thumbs up for cleanliness, spacious rooms, location. We would recommend the rooms on first floor with views of ocean. The view from these rooms make ur day.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitang_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to accommodate a guest's request for a a room with a view, if they are available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights. The room was very well fitted out and comfortable, everything you could want in a hotel room. The owners were friendly and welcoming. A nice touch was to be offered towels as we wanted to swim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyanne1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

dont know why tripadviser deleted my review about his motel.
we stayed here for just one night as the owners werent among the most friendliest.
the rooms are immaculate though and tastefully furnished with quality furniture and linen.there is a little kitchenette and the ensuite bathroom has soaps and towels. all of good quality.every room has a little outside sitting area.
unfortunately the lady running the place is very rough and unfriendly and controlling too. her husband wasnt allowed to say much as she was the one in charge. obviously.
if you dont mind the rough owners you will enjoy your stay as the rooms are very nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: stayed in a room with mountain view on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, Owner at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
I was not aware that your original review had been deleted and have re-posted the response to that review.

Thank you for your positive feedback concerning the standard and presentation of our rooms. Our staff and managers work extremely hard ensuring a high quality of cleanliness is provided to all of our guests.

However we are concerned to hear that you had issues with one of our managers and that you perceived her as having an unfriendly and grumpy manner. We understand that you dealt with her on your initial visit to the motel when discussing prices and availability. We had one room available to suit your needs and were given the opportunity to view this room. You initially said that you were looking for something cheaper and would continue looking around Kaikoura. After a period of time you returned to Aspen Court Kaikoura and it seemed appropriate that she would continue to deal with your family as she had had the initial conversation earlier that afternoon. This would avoid any duplication amongst our managers. Your interpretation of this scenario is that she was controlling the situation to the point of being rude and unhelpful which we feel is far from the truth. As you can see from previous Trip Advisor reviews our managers are often thanked for their politeness and helpfulness. We thank you for the positive comments you gave our motel but feel a one star out of five is a bit tough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Kaikoura

Property: Quality Suites Kaikoura
Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Kaikoura 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites Kaikoura prides itself on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE and UNLIMITED Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing