We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good value”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for a night to go whale watching. We turned up rather early but we were allowed to check in. The room was very comfortable, with good heating which was needed on that occasion. The bathroom also had under floor heating. Everything was clean. The shower was very good. We had complimentary wi-fi as well. The front desk recommended some options for dinner and also booked them for us. Plenty of parking spaces close to the rooms. Friendly service and efficient. A bit too far to walk into town but only a short drive to get there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobella_D_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi Isobella_D_N Thankyou for your lovely comments.

Now that the season is beginning to quieten down we can check some people in early, depending on what room type you have booked obviously. We are pleased we could do this for you.

All our rooms have many heating options with fan heaters, underfloor tile heating in the bathroom, electric blankets and extra blankets so in winter cold should not be a factor.

Reception is here to give you information on what your interests and dining requirements may be, so please make the most of our local knowledge.

Happy journeys
Regards
Sharon G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    221
    31
    12
    1
See reviews for
101
473
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A very comfortable stay - large room with large glass door at one end onto the courtyard and door on to the car park at the other. Very friendly staff. Continental or cooked breakfast available, delivered to your room. Bit of a walk from the whale watching but almost next door to a supermarket.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor probably have better views and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizH227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi LizH227

Thank you for your nice comments, it is pleasing to hear of the comfort you enjoyed, as our location seems to be regularly commented on, we are approx 15-20 minutes walk from main street of town, whale watching and train/bus stations, but it is very easy walking and with many cafes and shops along the way to keep you entertained.

We hope you have a great trip around NZ, enjoy the journey
Regards
Sharon G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked due to excellent tripadvisor reviews but was very disappointed.
Service. The guy on the front desk appeared to be just going through the motions and was not at all interested when I said our room smelt stale. His reply was that their is no smoking in any hotel room in NZ.
Value. I paid £90 odd pounds excluding breakfast, so not good for a motel.
Sleep Quality. A busy road at the front and a railway at the back with freight trains night and day sleeping was not easy.
Cleanliness. We were greeted at the door by a pot full of fag ends. With the main area smelling as if someone had been smoking and an unpleasant smell in the bathroom I give it a poor rating.
Location. On the main road, a far better bet would be accommodation on the road leading off towards tourist information office.
Rooms. Dingy is the best way to describe them, with brown and green colour scheme.
Overall. Poor. We had prepaid for two nights and left after one. The man at the desk,manager? Was not interested in the fact we were leaving due to smell and noise and just said I could not cancel the second night and get a refund.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi BrassoNorthYorkshire

I was dealing with your comments via your travel agent but now I can respond via here too. It is difficult to deal with a complaint when all we had received was a question, which was "Is there smoking in your rooms?" Which you remarked on the response we gave, when we were under the impression you had seen someone smoking in our rooms. You had made no complaint directly with us in regards to any of these comments which is hard to fix if we do not know they are an issue.

As you mentioned, as per other reviews, yes we are located along Beach Road, the main road, which benefits an easy to find location, and the traffic dramatically reduces at night, the trains are there but usually only 2-3 times a night and only last for 20-30 seconds, they are very short trains compared to overseas trains.

We apologise if there were any cigarette butts in the ash tray/flower pot, this should have been removed by the housekeepers. If you had of brought this to our attention in a clear comment "Our room smells of smoke" We would have been happy to show you alternate rooms available. The colour scheme should not have been a surprise to you as it is loaded as pictures on tripadvisor.

In regards to the refund we could not refund you directly as you had pre-booked via a travel agent and so you had to go down those channels to do so. As there was no direct complaint to us we were just under the assumption that due to the whalewatching trips being cancelled for the day that you had decided to move on early. These complaints are hard to fix when we do not know they are an issue, until weeks after your stay.

I hope this clarfies any issues
And wish you happy journeys onwards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herndon, va
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

i needed to check in really(!) late and the staff there made sure to remember my late night arrival and have everything set up for me just as they promised. i am extremely appreciative of this.
they rooms are modern, clean, and very attractive.
they also have free (yay!) internet and a guest computer in the lobby.
all in all, they are very professional and provide their top notch service with a genuinly warm smile. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdc2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi cdc2f

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your time in Kaikoura, and you used our services such as FREE internet to your benefit.

We wish you a safe journey onwards, and enjoy the journey
Regards
Sharon G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Room was good as were the room facilities. Bed was king size and was comfortable as were the pillows. Shower unit was something special with more features than Dr Who's Tardis but suggest you read the brochure on how to use it before you get in. It might save you the embarrassment of setting off the alarm or getting a steam bath and not knowing how to turn anything off. We later found instruction brochure in the information compendium!
Note it is a 5 minute drive north of the town but is fairly close to a big supermarket.
We would of rated it a f 4 but for the fact it was on the highway and the railway was behind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi ozandy and thankyou for you review.

I am pleased you found the room good and comfortable. Maybe we should try to find a place to put the instructions for the shower on bathroom wall... we shall investigate our options. Thankyou

The benefits of being on the main road is easy to find and the traffic does dramatically reduce overnight. The trains provide a great service and they only last 20-30 seconds normally as they are only very short trains in comparisons to overseas trains.

We are still in the town boundary and only 2-3 minutes drive from the main street called WestEnd. Now West End is approx 300-400m long and there are no motels along this stretch. So yes we are only a very short drive from the main street and only 150m from the Supermarket which is very handy.

Enjoy the journey and all the best
Regards
Sharon G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I got the best sleep of my whole entire trip at this motel! Super comfy king size beds and fancy spaceship-like showers that have jets and steam, I loved it here. Owners were super friendly and helpful and we got what I thought was great value (we stayed in April). Would very highly recommend this place, it's a tiny bit out of town but worth the couple of minutes drive and it's right next to a grocery store so that's pretty convenient too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lia_p_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thankyou leahp_australia for your lovely comments

It is great hearing about your good nights sleep with us, and the friendly service we gave. And that you even enjoyed the shower capsule experience! People either love them or not fussed with them. Even though you mentioned we are out of town, we are still located "in town" just not in the centre of the main street called Westend, only a couple of minutes drive or 15-20 minutes easy walk.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and wish you all the best journeys for the future
With regards
Sharon G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for one night and the hotel is easily located.
The facilities are good and only comment I have would be the smell of the air fresher used for the tolet which I didn't like. The air fresher smell was too strong and made me chocking and I rather they did not use it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger_Golden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thankyou for your comments Roger_Golden

I am pleased you found us easily and with good facilities. In regards to the air freshener, there are plug in air fresheners which you can easily turn off, or you may be mentioning the self cleaning process that the shower capsule does, which uses an ozoneater system which creates an ozone smell, but with the doors closed of the shower this keeps this smell to a minimum.

Enjoy your journey
Regards
Sharon G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Kaikoura

Property: Quality Suites Kaikoura
Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Kaikoura 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites Kaikoura prides itself on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE and UNLIMITED Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing