We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy train and road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“noisy train and road”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

we found the motel to be clean, modern with excellent facilities and friendly staff. It was quite a way outside Kaikoura, so it was quite a way to walk to visit the the restaurants and bars in the town. In fact, we decided to drive when eating at Whte Morph, as it was too far to walk.

The motel is situated between SH1 and the railway line, and trains were pretty noise, as were the large double sized trucks.

Carol A

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks CazAllen for your review.

Great to hear you found our complex clean and modern containing everything you needed whilst you stayed with us.

I am sorry to hear you were not impressed with our location. Whilst it is true that we are not located right in the town centre we are in fact only a 2 minute drive away OR a leisurely 20 minute walk. Additionally we do sit between SH1 and a train line but to be honest there are only a few trains every night. I am sorry you heard these trains and occassional truck on SH1 as each motel unit contains noise reducing double glazed windows as well as noise reducing insulation within the walls and ceiling.

It would be great to see you again if you ever decided to return to NZ. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    221
    31
    12
    1
See reviews for
101
473
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Only had 1 night in Kaikoura but it was very pleasant. Motel was tidy and the room had a nice view. An interesting addition was the shower which was like something out of Star Trek. It obviously had the main showering function, but in addition could turn into a spa, sauna and if I'd got to the end of the detailed instructions pamphlet, probably transported me back in time if required. Word of warning, the button that looks like a light bulb is in fact an alarm. I pressed it by mistake and was so shocked, I almost put my back out. We had the room on the right as you look at the back of the motel and were treated to seeing a chubby boy playing in his paddling pool in his back garden. We wouldn't have noticed him had we not heard him trip up, holding an ice cream and fall face first into the pool. Now, I appreciate it was a warm evening and he was cooling off but his insistent shouting at us, the caged dogs (which were eating an entire rack of ribs) in his garden and his poor friend was enough to send us inside.

That aside, the motel was good. Free WiFi, good location for town and the amusingly named "Whaleway Station" (a train station next to the Whale watch office) and nice and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from rude chubby boy next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBXXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello judgementaljosh and many thanks for your review.

Certainly the capsule showers are fun to master and play with so we hope you enjoyed the experience. As for the noisy neighbour normally we don't hear anything from any of our neighbours but given you stayed on a hot day it is always likely for some of them to spend lengthy amounts of time outside. I am sorry you had to put up with such yelling. We have had a quiet word to the parents and hopefully it won't happen again.

Many regards and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The units are modern, clean, and finished to a very high standard. All the appliances and utensils felt new and worked perfectly. Nothing was missing or broken. The giant bed was wonderful.

The motel owner was pleasant and there is good parking and ample services nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 2seals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you 2seals for your review of your experience at Aspen Court Kaikoura.

It sounds as though you left with your expectations well and truly met....that is what we aim to achieve. The beds are great aren't they? Big enough to not even notice anybody next to you during the night.

It would be great to see you again soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a "motel" and a very good one indeed. The rooms are almost brand new, nicely appointed, clean and fresh. Staff is very helpful and location is good. Internet works fine as well. I would not mind staying here two or three days but if you are only passing by Kaikoura then you found the right place. This is not a shady motel but really well-run property on par with many good, quality 3 or 4 star hotels!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello LW23 and thank you for your positive comments.

We know that people from the USA have reservations about staying at motels but New Zealand motels by and large are not really similar to those found in America. Yes our complex is modern, and clean and definetly not "shady". We like to think we are better than most hotels as we provide parking outside each unit AND have individual kitchens in ALL units, things that hotels do not provide.

It would have been nice if you could have stayed longer but in any event please look us up next time you are back in NZ. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant stay at this motel. Room was large and very comfortable and the bed was huge! Well equipped kitchenette that you can cook basic meals if you don't fancy eating out. The room was immaculate so I am guessing has been decorated fairly recently. We had a view out to the rear and the sea and had a little balcony. The shower looks like it has come of the starship Enterprise with all the various settings etc but was very good. The main town is less than a 5 minute drive, 10 minute walk and there is a convenient supermarket about 2 minutes away, really handy. I found the staff really friendly and helpfull, we had some laughs with them and they were able to provide advice on the best things to do. If I am being picky the only small disturbance is a railtrack that runs about 100 metres away by the seashore, not many trains run along this track so I can't say that it was a problem for me. This was one of my favourite places that I stayed during my time in New Zealand and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I would try and get one of the rooms to the rear with the sea view and balcony, really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Gary C and many thanks for your review.

The motel complex is actually just over 6 years old but we try to keep it as clean as we possibly can so its great to hear your impressions of it being near new!

Also nice to hear all of our staff went out of their way to help you and provide information on local things to do and see.

The train, unfortunately, is something we cannot do much about. Luckily for us there are only one or two trains every night passing by. We do have noise glass and extra insulation to prevent much of the noise entering the rooms but we cannot eliminate it all completely.

It would be great to see you again one day. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The motel itself was clean, but there was a very rude staff member who clearly could not be bothered with us.We arrived 10 mins after the check in time due to traffic.When we arrived we were told that we were late and he was about to lock the door then what would we have done? Asked to fill out a form and when it came to ticking breakfast I asked my group (4 of us in total) if they wanted breakfast. The guy said ''No breakfast you're too late!" And that was that! Next I had to write the registration number on the form-I have a poor memory so asked my husband what it was. Then the receptionist said "It's on your keyring" obviously assuming we had a hire car which is not the case-we have been living in Christchurch for over two years and he clearly assumed wrongly that we were visiting and had a hire car-how rude??? He took us out to our rooms but walked so fast we didnt see where he went, finally found a door open and he had thrown the key in the room said nothing about the room at all, then moved upstairs to take my parents to their room and again said nothing. He clearly could not be bothered with us and made our initial opinions about the motel very poor! Our room was fine but an adjoining room which was very noisy, hearing the shower, people toileting, talking, the trains oh my God the trains shaking the room throughout the night reminded us of aftershocks from Christchurch not a nice feeling, very poor bed quality when you lay down the bed sinks to the middle and not very comfortable! Wouldn't dare talk about the concerns we had with our room with the receptionist for fear of having our heads bitten off! Huge disappointment unfortunately. Customer service is very limited here, first rude hospitality I have experienced like this so felt the need to review this motel on tripadvisor!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not adjoining, and arrive before 9pm that will probably assure a more posi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi VikkiM
I am dissappointed to hear of your experience here in Kaikoura. Clearly everyone got off on the wrong foot. We do clearly state on the online booking systems that you used, of our reception hours and what to do if arriving after this time. If arriving after 9pm we ask for the guests to ring us (we do have a FREE-CALL phone number) so we can give you directions to find your room and key details after hours) I am sorry that you missed these directions. We do need to have a close-off time breakfast orders so if we have numerous breakfast requests we do not run out of products. As with the suggestion of the "its on the keyring" was just to assist you and not offend you. We do not hide the fact of the trains, as it is a very useful service, they are only short trains and only usually 1 or 2 overnight and this is a rare report of it shaking the room like an earthquake, my only reasoning for this could have been a very heavy loaded train as your stay was prior to Christmas. I have checked out the beds and am unsure of how you rated the poor bed quality as there is no roll-together or sinking that I experienced, and the bed comfort provided is usually excellent.
I thankyou for your comments and I hope these have calmed your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in apartment # 10, which was new, large and prettily decorated. The bed was really good, the kitchenette was well equipped and we could sit outside on the balcony for our meals. There is a funky shower with massage functions but luckily you can just use it the ordinary way as well. This is the second motel only on our travels that has a heated mirror in the bathroom, so it does not steam up after your shower. You can get free wifi or use the computer in the reception area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks Donegal119 for your positive comments.

The beds are great aren't they? We hope you made full use of the kitchen facilities as well.

See you again next time you come back to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Kaikoura

Property: Quality Suites Kaikoura
Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Kaikoura 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites Kaikoura prides itself on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE and UNLIMITED Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing