We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming attitude, long face”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming attitude, long face”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is the worst stay of our month-long trip in New Zealand.

On the bright side, the hardware is good in general. Room is clean, facilities looked quite new.

However there are 2 small issues relating to the cleaniness and facilities in the room:

1. One of the electric blankets was not working (switches were checked on, and plug checked connected to socket)

2. Although the room was clean, there was a fly in it. I do not blame the hosts on this, as fly is part of the natural environment and sometimes unavoidable. But it is ironic that they have a small card telling us the motel implemented a 5-star Hygiene Programme, which includes "Our commitment to keep motel units pest free with regular spot checks", this is an unfortunate isolated incident I would say.

These were just minor incidents and did not really bother me. The hardware in general is good, but this does not make up for the shortcomings of software -- attitude of the gentleman on duty at reception.

This gentleman has done probably everything on his checklist - introduced the surrounding areas and tourist attractions, led us to our room (and changed a faulty bulb), told us where to park, etc., but all along with an annoying long face and aggressive actions.

For once we thought this gentleman was a part time reception here and a full time policeman (as a police car was parked on the premise on that day), and probably this explained his manner. And we had thought that it would be fine as we probably did not need to interact with him anymore, which unfortunately not for the night.

The laundry room, which is supposed to open from 8am to 9pm according to the compendium, was locked. We had no choice but to seek his assistance. He reminded us of the "rules" that laundry room would be locked at 9pm sharp. Despite we were very hungry, we did not dare to go out for dinner before the laundry was done, which was 1.5 hour wait.

To kill time, we wanted to surf the net, but we spent over an hour trying to hook up with the internet without success. There was an error message "Radius server not responding", so we thought it must be some problem with device or connection, we tried both WIFI and LAN cable connection, with different laptops, and numerous retries by keying in username/password with different lower case/upper case combinations, etc., and only as a last resort we went to the reception. The gentleman just made a single click on his computer then commanded me "Go try it now!", not hearing clearly for the first time because of his talking speed and heavy accent, and didn't expect the problem is resolved by just a single click, he increased his voice and repeated "GO TRY IT NOW!!". We went back to our room and check, miraculously it worked!! Why did he lock the internet (or forgot to unlock) if he had handed us the login details?

As the internet issue resolved, laundry was also done, so we finally headed out for dinner with peace of mind, but we returned with frustration as all restaurants, including Subway sandwiches, had closed already.
We suffered hunger waiting for the laundry due to motel rules, we spent time trying to hook up with the internet, and now we had no where to dine out. To make matter worse, the internet was not working again now, with the same error message. But it was past 9pm and reception had closed. Now I felt I was cheated, while they advertise having free internet, they seemed to lock it up whenever they want at their discretion. We paid, we tolerated, and we suffered, all because of the motel's rules and negligence.

With the attitude of the gentleman, and rules written in the laundry room and reception desks (e.g. "Check out at 10am sharp, any later will incur a second night's charge"). I felt I was in a boarding school, or a military camp rather than in a motel. Every time a problem came up, I had to force myself to approach the "warden", and this haunted me very much every time. I said "thank you" to him whenever I asked for his assistance, but I heard neither "thank you" from him, nor apologetic words for the inconveniences which caused to me.
Sleeping was not with peace of mind, as I had to worry about the next morning, that I had to pay and disappear by 10:00am and not a minute late. It is indeed emotional burden which I do not expect to have on holiday.

The only thing we were pleased with is, it seems he treats everyone with the same manner, as we heard him saying "could you say that again slowly?!" on the phone with an unfriendly and aggressive tone. So we are glad that his attitude is not related to our ethnicity, nationality, age, appearance or whatsoever. May be it's just he had a bad day.

The gentleman may not have done all the above-mentioned on purpose, but just "too casual" and "unprofessional" and therefore perceived as having poor attitude. But honestly I do not appreciate such casual attitude which I do not feel comfortable with, it is not the "friendly casual" which I have had most of the time.

I hope that the gentleman is just a part-time or temporary staff, but not Kevin, the host of the accommodation. Otherwise I don't think he is suitable to be the owner running the motel business.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
We are dissappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Trouble is we cannot fix a problem such as a faulty electric blanket if it goes unreported, we have undergone unit checks during October so the electric blanket has been replaced.
In regards to the fly, as we air the rooms most days, we cannot restrict fly movements, sorry. The pests that we are restricting are the likes of bed bugs and spiders.
In regards to the attitude we apologise, as you mention the trouble with the internet, this was frustrating us even more so than yourselves. We did not lock the internet, the internet server and computer was doing this automatically, but we have finally fixed this issue, we have also installed a repeater so our wireless network is now suitable for most of the latest technological gadgets such as Tablets, Iphones and Ipads.
The laundry rules have come about due to guests getting frustrated due to other guests laundry not being done and not wanting to move another persons property. So this is for the consideration of other guests, and the laundry gets closed at 9pm so as not to disturb anyone that could be sleeping in the units close by.
We trust this is an incident of unmatched characters and potential guests decide to stay upon the majority of the feedback provided from all reviewers.
Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    221
    31
    12
    1
See reviews for
101
473
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Booked for 2 night stay in king luxury suite, but got upgraded to the Seaview room, the honeymoon suite, it was fantastic, clean, modern, very comfortable, loved the shower capsule and the super king bed. Great views from the private balcony. Will definately be back and recommend to all to stay here. Walking distance to super market and restraurants. Thanks so much for the great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeCurtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thankyou for your glowing review of our honeymoon studio! It sounds like you took advantage and enjoyed all features within, fantastic!!
As we only have one honeymoon studio we can not upgrade everyone, but if its a special occasion we try to do this if its available at check in.
We hope to see you again in the future!
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2011

A great family room very practical for a family, (just no bath, but you can get over that !).
Cot provided if required (at a price) which was handy.
All in all a great place to stay at a good price.

Handy to have a New World pretty much next door !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmnz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thankyou for your review, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay in our family one bedroom unit. Even though none of our units have baths, we do have some units with our Luxury Shower Capsules, which is entertaining for most who try the gadgets within it!
We do have one portacot available with bedding and in future we also have a baby bath and a changing table attachment.
We are very handy to the Supermarket, approx 150m away, and also there is a day spa directly across the road, which would also be nice for a treat next time!!
Staff and management would like to wish you a happy and safe journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Quite pleasant, clean, a bit out of town, on the main road so get a room toward the back. Friendly management, but not terribly organized or professional. Maybe casual is a better way to describe it. Most rooms would appear to have views which are going to be significantly different depending on location.

Room Tip: Try to see as many rooms as possible before making a selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portlandorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thankyou for your review, we are pleased you found your stay clean and pleasant. We are approx 2.5km from the town centre called West End. We are on Beach Road or SH1 which makes us easy to find and even though it is a main highway our rooms are quiet inside.
We like to provide a relaxed atmosphere for guests and your "unorganised" comment may have reflected upon the chaos that we experienced immediately after the Christchurch Earthquake when we were arranging tour groups and other fleeing people from that terrible incident. We have returned to a relaxed and well organised operation again.
All guests are welcome to view our rooms prior to checking in and can select alternate rooms based on availability on the day.
Enjoy the rest of your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had a lovely time- the rooms are all new, clean and more than comfortable. Positioned close to the sea and with views of the mountains we were not diappointed. We travelled with our baby- and the cot and blanket provided where nice and new. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellie526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thankyou for your review.
We our pleased you enjoyed your time with us here in Kaikoura. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and comfortable stay which includes the sleep quality of your baby, by providing a clean, comfortable portacot.
This is a hire product and as we have only one please ensure any future guests contact us prior to the stay if you require it. Otherwise we may be able to arrange any additional portacots if given enough time to arrange. If required we also have a changing table attachment for infants and a baby bath.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the “honeymoon” unit, which had a huge comfy bed, views of the mountains and sea, a little balcony, and a super fancy shower.

Place is easy to find and walking distance to several places to eat and drink. We had no noise from the road and even though it looks close to the train track, there were only a couple of trains per day (wasn’t loud).

Very short drive to the Esplanade.

Owner was happy to recommend places to eat, drink and visit (gave an awesome tip on where to find seals).

Price was reasonable given the location/view/room. Would stay here again, although didn’t really go much on the super fancy shower, so I wouldn’t base my decision on this. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thankyou for your fabulous review!
We have only one honeymoon studio in which proves very popular as it has the Super King bed, Luxury Shower Capsule and your own private balcony to view the ocean and mountains.
We are approx 150m from the first restaurant, a supermarket and gym, approx 2.5km from the West End / Esplanade which is the main street of Kaikoura.
If you do not wish to try the Luxury Shower Capsule you can request a regular shower unit, which is of similar price and quality.
We hope to see you again in the future
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We booked a deluxe studio for one night and on checking in we asked for a seaview room. This was fabulous and we were sorry we couldn't stay longer. The studio was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. A great place to stay and when we are next in NZ we will certainly be back.

Linda and Stuart. Aug 11. UK

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Hi Linda and Stuart
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our seaview unit! We pride ourselves on providing the highest standard of cleanliness as certified in our 5 star hygiene certificate, and along with comfy beds and great showers we feel this is a recipe for a great stay. We look forward to your next stay with us,
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Kaikoura

Property: Quality Suites Kaikoura
Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Kaikoura 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites Kaikoura prides itself on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE and UNLIMITED Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing