We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whales and fancy showers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Whales and fancy showers”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I love Kaikoura and this was a return visit for me, but the first time for my wife. The previous visit for me was in a YHA, so this definitely represented a move up in the world!

Aspen Court was a lovely place to stay. It was our first stop on the South Island, having picked up a hire car in Picton and driven down the North East coast down highway 1, stopping off at a winery for lunch.

Parking: Ample parking at the front of the motel.

Check in: No problems.

Room: Really impressed. It was our first motel and to have the mod cons was great: kettle, fridge, microwave. We were able to make some packed lunches for the whale watching trip the next day. The magic shower was very impressive, even if I didn't use all of its functions (it wasn't for lack of trying!)

Service: Friendly and relaxed. We had an unsuccessful trip whale watching, but the guys kept hold of our luggage and were easy to talk to.

Location: A little out of town, 15 minutes walk to a good restaurant.

Overall, I'd recommend Aspen Court and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thankyou for your detailed review, very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully next time you will have a successful whale watching experience, Enjoy the rest of your journey and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    221
    31
    12
    1
See reviews for
101
473
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

the unit was nice and tidy, however the room was very cold on arrival, could have had room warmed when knowing when we were due to arrive

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thankyou for your review and we appreciate your comments. In regards to the heating, in an environment of being environmentally friendly and financially aware, we do not put any heaters on in rooms until after 6pm in the winter time. But saying that the rooms are very quick to warm up and with electric blankets on the beds, spare blankets in the room, underfloor heating aswell as a fan heater in the bathroom, we feel this allows for any extremely cold temperatures that Kaikoura may experience through the winter time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The room was very attractive but had some quirks, eg a unnecessarily complex shower but nowhere to put a bar of soap by the bathroom sink and no shelf or hook for toiletry bags, a kitchenette but no table to eat at. There is no need to pay for a seaview room because there is not much to see and most rooms have a similar view. I do think the south end of town has a more attractive waterfront.

The restaurant next door looked nice and had friendly staff but the food was very mediocre. We had a lovely meal at the Thai restaurant on the main street in town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDFOttawaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thankyou for your comments. our rooms with these "Quirky" showers get a variety of comments, most enjoy the variety of options available (ie foot massager, water jets, sauna vent, lights, radio etc ) and other prefer just a regular shower. If people prefer the regular shower, it is set for a standard shower prior to guest arrival and with an easy to read page of "guidelines" you can experience a shower with a difference. We a re addressing the additional shelf and hooks in the bathroom suggestion and currently deciding on our best options to amend this concern you have.
Suitable dining tables are currently being investigated also. thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed here for one night over Easter, check in was easy & as others have said casual but not at all unpleasant. The room was spacious & the super king bed was huge. The showers are great but did take a couple of times reading the instruction manual to work out how to use it. Kitchenette handy & had breakfast in our courtyard, which was lovely on a nice mild morning. A lovely walk into town centre, not too far & very close to supermarket & robbies. would recommend & looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thankyou for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Had a really lovely stay here. Very comfortable, modern decor, own kitchenette and peaceful outlook. Was pleased to have open glass doors to a semi-private courtyard where I could sit in the sun for breakfast. The location is a bit of a walk into town, about 15 mins, but it's a comfortable walk on a footpath past shops and houses, and perfectly safe. Very near a supermarket and a pub. Looks beachfront on the map but it isn't really.
Staff super helpful, they accommodated our slight change of dates resulting from the Christchurch earthquake, without penalty.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank now__voyager_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
We appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoy your stay with us. Our cancellations policy is always at managers discretion so when events such as the Ash Cloud and Earthquakes interfere with traveling plans we generally waive the fees as long as we are contacted asap. So thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We booked a seaview studio and that is what we got. We could see the sea and a railway line and a bit of waste ground. Not exactly beautiful. Having said that the room was good with a spaseship of a shower, and having got used to the attitude of the gentleman checking us in (just a little too laid back), it was an acceptable place to stay. The choice of restaurants within walking distance was limited as the property is quite out of town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandad1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
We are please you enjoyed our studio, we like to provide a relaxed atmosphere in our motel (sorry we are not a hotel) and the "waste land" section behind our motel is privately owned and does not belong to the property. We are located approximately 2-3 minutes drive from the main street (centre) of Kaikoura or 15-20 minutes pleasant walking if going by foot. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and welcoming unit for your stay with us. Happy travelling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed two nights in this motel on the edge of town with views of the sea and mountains but only 2 minutes drive from the town centre. It's has a local supermarket and a restaurant within walking distance (no noise) and the town has every thing else you might need. The room was immaculately clean with a great shower and we had a very comfortable king size bed. I would recommend anyone to stay ay the Aspen Court when in Kaikoura as it was very quiet, comfortable and we have two great nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCourtKK, General Manager at Quality Suites Kaikoura, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
2.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Kaikoura

Property: Quality Suites Kaikoura
Address: 154 Beach Road | PO Box 181, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Aspen Court Motel Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Kaikoura 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites Kaikoura prides itself on Comfort and Cleanliness. Our commitment to hygiene has set a new high standard in the industry with our 5 star Hygiene Certificate. All rooms have Super King size beds. We offer FREE and UNLIMITED Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing