We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views”
Review of Miharotia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miharotia House
Ranked #19 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed two nights here on our honeymoon and enjoyed every moment of it. We were fortunate to be the only guests during our stay making it feel like "our" house. Trevor and Polly were really great hosts. The rooms were really spatious and the breakfast was superb. When we arrived it was foggy and it was not until the next day we realized the amazing view they have overlooking the Kaikoura bay. Wish we had stayed an extra night as Kaikoura is such a beautiful place with so much to do and see.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Miharotia House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and loved every minute of it. Our hosts, Polly and Trevor, are great company and make a fantastic breakfast!

Miharotia House is stunning, with beautiful views of the mountains and Kaikoura. You'll want breakfast, which is on the first floor, to go on forever just so you can keep gazing at the amazing view.

Our room was huge, and incredibly comfortable - we loved the massive reclining chairs!

Miharotia House is a little way out of town, which didn't bother us at all - its elevated position is what gives it such amazing views. You can walk into town, but I wouldn't want to walk back in the dark! We got a taxi back in the evening, which was no hassle at all.

We felt truly at home here, and we'd love to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We spent three nights here in February 2011. The rooms are wonderful - spacious, lovely finishes and immaculately clean. Hosts Trevor and Polly really make you feel at home - and how good is it starting the day with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast while taking in the views over Kaikoura. Recommend not only Miharotia House but also spending some time in the area and seeing the sea lions.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

What a wonderful surprise spot. It would be hard to choose what was best - the views, the gardens, or the wonderful, contemporary house. Everything is first class, including the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawjusth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

On a hill to the south of the town facing out to sea, this B&B has stunning views. Our whale-watching trip was a disappointment, but that was more than made up for by being able to stay in this lovely home. Polly and Trevor are excellent hosts, well attuned to your needs and very friendly. Breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinJan5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed for two nights and loved the house and the town of Kaikoura, both are stunning. Polly and Trevor offer a very relaxed stay in their beautiful home. The rooms are of a high standard, as is the breakfast. The only downside is the location, which is a drive away from the town and restaurants (but Polly was willing to drop off) and we are bath lovers and the facilties provided only a shower. The unique house, warm and relaxed welcome and lovely breakfast more than compensated. It was a very enjoyable stay and we would recommend Miharotia to anyone going to Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Super place. Can’t fault it. Magnificent location, splendid views of the bay, rooms superbly furnished, great attention to detail, nice patio to sit out on. Hosts Polly and Trevor friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carianmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.6 mi away
The Hampton's Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miharotia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miharotia House

Address: 274 Scarborough Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Hotel Class:4 star — Miharotia House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miharotia House is an architecturally designed and decorated luxury Bed and Breakfast, nestled on the peninsula and overlooking the tourist mecca of New Zealand, Kaikoura. Meticulously designed by local architect John Chapman to capture the panoramic 180 degree views and incorporate recycled New Zealand Rimu from the original House. You will enjoy the attention to detail in this superb home, from the spiral wooden staircase to the curved windows in the dining room. Subtly sophisticated, inside are three individually decorated guest suites complimented with modern day luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Miharotia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing