We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no extra cuppa here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“no extra cuppa here!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2008

during nov stayed here the accomadation was good and very clean and comfortable,however the breakfast left us feeling a bit dissapointed, there was no offer of a second cup of tea with your breakfast and once guests requested another cup, you felt as if you shoul not be asking.However the views were good which helped.

  • Liked — the sea views
  • Disliked — no offer of second drink at breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVMAZEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    37
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
118
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2008

What a fantastic place - we arrived late from Sydney, everything was in place for us booking for dinner immediately made and we felt very welcome. Trips had already been booked for us to make sure we had a space, time was of the essence. Julie and her family could not have been more helpful. Our room in the new wing was superb with views to die for. We also had the use of the lovely garden to relax in the sun. Breakfast was spent enjoying delicious homemade food and swapping 'whale tales' with fellow guests. I would recommend Bendamere to anyone.

  • Liked — Far better than our expectations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JudyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2008

Just wanted to share our experience at Bendamere House. We had a wonderful welcome and shown to our room it was not one of the new rooms but the one attatched to the house, it had wonderful views and we were so pleased as we had our own private deck area that was sun drenched all day. Julie and her boys were so lovely they could not do enough for us and the wealth of local knowlege is amazing. Breakfast included fresh home made baked muffins (to die for yum yum) and you could have as much as you wanted from the buffet trolly we ate lots and fresh tea and coffee was made for us, there was no need for a cooked breakfast. Thank you Julie for making our stay with you so enjoyable wish we could of stayed longer.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights between Chrismas & New Year whilst travelling throughout NZ. The House has excellent views over Kaikoura and it is an easy walk into town to sample the local restaurants/bars . Julie is a mine of local information and even had an ariel solution when our trip on the whale watch boats was cancelled. Thanks Julie.
Rooms are next to the main house, large with good views . Julie is happy for guests to use the garden and look out to sea and see what can be spotted.
Breakfast is taken in the owners kitchen and the conversation and exchange of experiences around the breakfast table helps establish the must dos and how best to do them.
A good value stop if travelling through Kaikoura
Would recommend a two night minimum to ensure you get a chance to see whales, dolphins, seals and sea birds.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank meriliesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrottsville, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

This is a new facility, very clean and roomy. We were on the second floor and the view was unbelievable. On the left was a range of mountains and on the right was water. We were picked up and dropped off at the train station at no charge. Kaikoura is very small so we could easily walk downtown from the B&B.

Our only surprise was that the breakfast was continental unless your asked for a regular breakfast and then there was a charge for that. That was not my understanding from their website.

We did have a balcony and there was also a huge lawn in front of the B&B with lawn chairs and umbrellas so you could just relax and enjoy the view.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Messy kitchen where we had breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TNMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2008

The hospitatlity was severley lacking. They have 5 rooms 4 new and the original one. If you do stay here never have the original room. It was cold and was overlooked from the passageway, so to get privacy you have to close the curtains all the time. The bathroom window (not frosted) was also overlooked from the drive. It was divided from the garage by a flimsy stud wall with virtually no sound proofing, in which the kids play football, bounce balls on the wall, run across the roof, and mend their motorbike engines. The other rooms maybe a lot better? The views are good.

The breakfasts were not hearty but below average and the worst we had on the 6 week trip.

When we pointed out the lack of privacy and noise, we were not given a lot of sympathy.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Hiker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.4 mi away
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 37 Adelphi Terrace, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bendamere House Bed & Breakfast is a quality property featuring 5 ensuite rooms all with their own balcony and superb ocean and mountain views! All rooms feature Quality King Sleepyhead beds, silent fridges, air conditioners, bathrobes, full tea and coffee facilities and yummy homebaked shortbread on arrival.Free broadband internet for all guests in your room and coin operated laundry facilities on site! Our property features half an acre of lawns and rose gardens where you can sit and relax while enjoying a wine on our garden furniture and at certain times of the year catch the dolphins performing in the bay!! Minutes walk to the Kaikoura township and all sightseeing ventures. Secure off street parking and courtesy pick up and drop off to all trains/buses. Our tariff includes a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit salad, cereals, juices,freshly toasted savoury croissants, toast, honeys and spreads,tea and coffee and delicious homebaked muffins every day! Kerry and Julie have great knowledge of the area and the South Island so we are only to happy to help you plan your activities and trip further on! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing