We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, beautiful gardens, friendly hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 34 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, beautiful gardens, friendly hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

After we reserved our room, we immediately received email from Julie confirming and offering to pick us up at the train station. When we arrived at the facility we were impressed with the view, the cleanliness of the room, the beautiful gardens and the homemade shortbread cookies. Unfortunately my wife twisted her knee on one of our outings making it difficult to do any extensive walking. This could have been a problem as we did not have a car, however Julie volunteered to give us a guided tour of Kaikoura as well as getting us to a restaurant later during our stay. These are good people that take care of their guests. Great experience. Thanks

Room Tip: Upper floor of the annex offers great view of the ocean and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
112
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
150 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights at Fairweather Room in this comfortable and lovely B&B. Rooms are very well maintained.Julie and Kerry (thanks a lot for the crayfish, Kerry!) give all support wanted, but as all rooms have separate entrances there is enough privacy left.
We loved these gorgeous views from the garden over the ocean and the snow covered mountains- one could sit and watch there for hours.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We (2 couples) enjoyed the upper floor rooms for two nights. Julie was there to greet us, show us the rooms, give us an overview of the area's restaurants and attractions. We loved our stay there and the wonderful views of the ocean. The rooms were pristine, the breakfasts enjoyable with homemade muffins and fresh fruit salad. It was quite windy while we were there so we didn't get to enjoy the landscaped grounds as much as we would have liked, but we enjoyed the walk into town several times, as well as the lavender farm nearby. Julie and her husband made each of us feel welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed their B&B and their company.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RoseDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great rooms and location. Julie is a friendly and helpful host who homebakes muffins each day for you to take out with you and her short-bread is to die for. A graden with stunning views and beautiful roses. Just a 5 minute walk to town and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ynysdewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Bendamere is the nicest place we have ever stayed. Stunning views of the South Pacific and the snow-covered Kaikoura Range; rose gardens galore; a lovely lawn on which to read; and an immaculate, quiet room with a king-sized bed and a deck. Julie was a delightful hostess, sending us off with home-baked muffins and shortbread every day and full of good information about restaurants and attractions. Furthermore, the location can't be beat. Just a 5-minute walk to the town and ocean. We loved it and hope to visit again someday, if we're lucky enough to return to New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieHessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a night while travelling down the coast. The room is great. Nice and big with views across the lawn to the ocean and the mountains in the background. We were made very welcome with recommendations for restaurants etc. breakfast in the
Family kitchen with fellow guests was a nice way to start the day I would definitely recommend Bendamere

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janettags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish it could have been longer. The rooms are immaculate, the views stunning and Julie is a mother hen and superwoman rolled into one. She gave us home baking for our room and to take with us on our trips. Lovely king beds with mattress toppers.you wil not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room for fantastic views and a lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChardonnaySheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.4 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 37 Adelphi Terrace, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bendamere House Bed & Breakfast is a quality property featuring 5 ensuite rooms all with their own balcony and superb ocean and mountain views! All rooms feature Quality King Sleepyhead beds, silent fridges, air conditioners, bathrobes, full tea and coffee facilities and yummy homebaked shortbread on arrival.Free broadband internet for all guests in your room and coin operated laundry facilities on site! Our property features half an acre of lawns and rose gardens where you can sit and relax while enjoying a wine on our garden furniture and at certain times of the year catch the dolphins performing in the bay!! Minutes walk to the Kaikoura township and all sightseeing ventures. Secure off street parking and courtesy pick up and drop off to all trains/buses. Our tariff includes a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit salad, cereals, juices,freshly toasted savoury croissants, toast, honeys and spreads,tea and coffee and delicious homebaked muffins every day! Kerry and Julie have great knowledge of the area and the South Island so we are only to happy to help you plan your activities and trip further on! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing