We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, welcoming, quiet and relaxing home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Our extended family (ages 23 to 87) stayed in three of The Admiral Creighton's bedrooms. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived, with Tony and Yvonne going out of their way to offer local advice and ensure we were comfortable. The B&B is located well away from the road and was very quiet, with supremely comfortable beds. The views over a stream to the mountains were beautiful. The complimentary continental breakfasts comprised a wide variety of fruits, cerals and toast, while the cooked breakfasts well and truly set us up for the day. I would recommend this B&B for the solo traveller, families and couples who would love to explore the rugged scenery of Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadarnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2009

Very comfortable room in a lovely home on the edge of Kaikoura. Yvonne and Tony were wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome. We had a very short stay here unfortunately but Yvonne made sure that we made the most of it with her recommendations on sightseeing etc. Would strongly recommend ' Admiral Creighton' to anyone. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

The hosts are very welcoming and are enthusiastic about explaining all the things Kaikoura has to offer to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast was good and generous quantities of tea, coffee, etc. is on tap in the dining room.

It was interesting to see the eels and trout being fed in the morning and Creighton, their cockatoo, entertained us during the evening.

The standard of bedroom accommodation I found disappointing. There were no facilities for hanging clothes apart from 4 coathangers on a hook on the wall. Also, the bedroom doors had no locks. Although comfortable, I think the word "luxurious" is over stated!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkLindyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

It is a great spot to stay! After spending a few nights in hotels along the way to Kaikoura, I really enjoyed the hospitality and comfort at this B&B. I got picked up at the train station, and got great suggestions on how to spend my time in Kaikoura. The room was very clean, and a good size, and admittedly, Creighton, a sulphur crested cockatoo, was friendly and entertaining. The walk to/from town was great since it didn't take much time to get there, and the landscape along this area is stunning. I'd stay here again if I were ever lucky enough to go back to NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morffeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

"Hello!" I called as I came to the front door. "Hello!" came back. This happened two or three times but no one appeared. I then realised I was having a conversation with a white cockatoo. He is a real character -asking for food when he hears you eat toast. We tried to teach him, "Up the Arsenal" but needed more than a 3 night stay.

We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of Tony and Yvonne- their advice, their lovely breakfasts, their feeding of the eels, trout and ducks in the stream running through the grounds and the help given with restaurants and places of interest.

We loved whale watching but was disappointed not to be able to swim with the dolphins -but it had been unseasonably cold and the sea was too rough. Oh well -will have to return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonAnnie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

The hosts are indeed very welcoming and nice, the breakfast was fine, but this B & B advertises itself as "luxury" and that it is not. The rooms and the bathroom have none of the touches or furnishings that go along with "luxury" and strangest of all, there are no locks on the doors to the bedrooms even though they can accommodate 4 couples/families every night. Our bedroom faced the street (two bedrooms do face the garden and a stream) and we thought that $140 NZD was quite overpriced, all things considered, especially as compared to the other B & B's and motels that we stayed at.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

When you are the other side of the world and touring from one motel to another it is a pleasant change to arrive at the Admiral Crieghton and experience a little homeliness. The entertainment provided by Creighton the Cockatoo is an added bonus and certain to make you laugh. Yvonne and Tony take pride in offering the personal touch and are always glad to advise on information about the area.
They go the extra mile in opening their home to the guests - sharing a spacious and modern lounge with a log burning stove and 42" TV should you need some evening entertainment.
Breakfast is cooked to order and prepared in the family kitchen with the added touch of home made jam and local honey.
A tranquil stream runs along the back of the house which is home to trout, eels and ducks.
The rooms are small but cosy with all necessary immenities.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank huntSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
2.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast

Address: 191 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: $107 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the family originally from China,it is our luck to find Kaikoura and this Beautiful Property to live. Its a beautiful world come and enjoy some of the best with us.Four star rated the Admiral Creighton B&B is located inside the Kaikoura Township. Close to everything including the Whale Watch Departure, Restaurants and shops.Set back from the main Highway well away from the Main Trunk Railway line which runs through the heart of Kaikoura. This property offers a tranquil environment with views to the magnificent Seaward Kaikoura mountains near by.Feed the trout & huge eels & ducks in our award winning native stream gardenThe spacious living in our comfortable B&B enables us to offer services such as a small conference, family reunions, fishing parties, and the like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing