We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be treated like family would be an understatement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Jasmine and I drove into Kaikoura booked at the Admiral Creighton. We found it quite easily. Met with a warm welcome from Yvonne and enjoyed meeting Tony the following morning. We received a free upgrade on our room and given the freedom of the spacious living room to enjoy evening TV. The accommodation was very modern with kind hosts providing a complimentary breakfast - yummy. Yvonne and Tony had excellent local knowledge and shared their time, and the attention Creighton the cockatoo insisted on, with us. This made for a fantastic weekend. Definitely recommend the Admiral Creighton. Can't wait to visit again :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 673Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatrats, Owner at Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi Jasmine and Chris,

Thankyou for your kind words. We were delighted to have you stay.

Big thankyou for your card, we both appreciated you thoughts.

Do hope you have a job now Chris.

See you again.

Kind regards,
Yvonne and Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

The pros

- Yvonne and Tony are kind and welcoming. They took the time to chat with us, to give us directions and assistance

- We had a bright, large room with a very comfortable bed and ensuite bathroom

- The place is peaceful and quiet

- On clear days the view of the mountains is impressive

- There's a lovely creek (with ducks and heels) at the back of the garden

- Molly the dog is cute and friendly

The cons

- Some of the rooms do not have a key. This is fairly common in NZ as in some b&b for safety reasons some rooms cannot be locked

Breakfast is ok, but in my opinion, considering the price of the room, a cooked option should be included

The place is a bit far from everything so be prepared to need a car

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backgarden have better views but rooms at the front are brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile


Good b&b. Very quiet. A bit "oldish" but cosy style. Basic continental breakfast included. Free and unlimited Internet access !

Only real problem is the cost. Much too high. Took it because my arrival was one day hearlier than planned and the 10 motels i checked before where all fully booked. Should be at least 20 to 30 dollars cheaper. Actually, 2 of the 4  rooms stayed unoccupied (although all the rest of the city was apparently fully booked) during my stay.

So you know my view.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This accommodation was booked by our tour provider. Our large group arrived much later than expected, yet Tony and Yvonne were nothing but pleasant and accommodating. They allowed us to grab a quick shower before serving us a wonderful dinner. Our room was clean and comfy. Greg and I enjoyed "chatting" with their cockatoo, Creighton, and playing ball with Molly. We enjoyed joining Tony on his morning walk to feed the brown trout and eels. So cool!! Upon learning I'm in law enforcement, Tony, a retired police officer, gave me a current copy of a NZ law enforcement magazine to take home. Sadly, our visit was just a single night but when we return to Kaikoura for an extended stay, we plan to stay at Admiral Creighton's again.

Room Tip: Book the last room on the left side of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTripBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the nicest places we stayed in of our trip around the south island. The hosts are lovely, they have a cool parrot, they care for the wildlife around their b&b, they present home made jams & preserves for breakfast which are delicious and the whole place is just generally nice in a nice setting. It was also better value compared to some other places we stayed in. I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We found the accommodations very comfortable and clean. Although we stayed only one night, our hosts Yvonne
and Tony were helpful and quickly oriented us to the restaurants, beautiful seaside walks and other attractions. They were patient with the confusion caused by our locking our keys in the car. The talking parrot, Creighton, charmed us with his calling out, "Hello darling." We enjoyed the gorgeous view of the mountains and the river flowing in back of the property, especially when Tony feeds the fish and ducks. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cameraguy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sorry to say we found this one of the least welcoming B&B’s in New Zealand. We had changed our booking from two nights to one night because the Transalpine train schedule had been disrupted and we would have had to use the bus instead. As the train trip was to be one of the highlights of our holiday, we managed to re-arrange our booking with the railway. We told the B&B owners in good time, but they evidently did not believe us and we had a couple of rather frosty emails from them, telling us it was better going by coach anyway! They also said they had checked the rail website, but could find nothing about the works on the line, and pressed the point again when we got to their home. We showed them where we found the information that the works were to last a few days, but I think they were too disgruntled by then to make us feel welcome.
So we arrived in Kaikoura and had a very offhand greeting from Tony. We were taken to the B&B and along the way he pointed out various places where we could eat, but didn’t tell us they were shut as it was Sunday. As a result, we had a long walk in search of somewhere that did not look like Wetherspoons, but we ended up there anyway!
We were the only guests staying that night and we were pleased to be told that we had been given an upgrade to a larger room – that was until we came to check out the following day. We were hustled out rather precipitously and told we could leave our luggage at the station, where we were duly deposited and left with a curt goodbye. In the rush we did not check our bill and to our dismay we find that yes we were given an upgrade, but we had been charged the full price for the better room!
It seemed to us that our hosts were more interested in preparing for the group tour that was arriving the following day than making us feel welcome. Never mind, our experiences elsewhere on our travels made up for Kaikoura.

Incidentally, the staff at the Whale Watch could not have been more helpful and charming.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatrats, Owner at Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

I am a bit bemused but not surprised with rating, Ann or her husband who sent us six long involved e mails making several request one of which was a free pick up from the train station. On the way to our accommodation I pointed out several restaurants which are close to our B&B I was very surprised to hear they were all closed as one of the closest is about 500mtrs away is open till late 365 days per year, all are well run .
Due to the number and nature of the e mails We decided to up grade this couple in an effort to make them happy The small en suite room booked was at $149 and this is what was charged. A check of the printout from the EFTPOS machine confirms this. The upgrade room is $179.00 so I am not sure what they are on about there.

As the train from Arthurs Pass to Greymouth was cancelled for a few days for track repair I suggested the coach was a good replacement From Arthur Pass the train enters a long tunnel which emerges on the other side of the Southern Alps missing the spectacular views that are to be seen while traveling through the Pass This was a genuine suggestion as we know the area well and there is no comparison between a dark tunnel and the views offered by the heart of the Southern Alps.
As for the welcome I met them at the station Welcomed them to Kaikoura Showed them where the whale watch was along with parts of the town, back at the B&B I spoke at length giving the usual information about the B&B

The next morning we gave them the early breakfast requested and took them at no charge to whale watch. I then had their luggage locked up at the railway station so it would be available for them when they caught the train Later in the day (no Charge) when they finished their whale watch some hours later.
This is the same service given to hundreds of guests who have appropriated it in the past, we have received many accolades. Im not sure what else I was expected to do for them
We did our best knowing it was a challenge and make no apology for our service
Anthony Steadman
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
2.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
116 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast

Address: 191 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: $102 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the family originally from China,it is our luck to find Kaikoura and this Beautiful Property to live. Its a beautiful world come and enjoy some of the best with us.Four star rated the Admiral Creighton B&B is located inside the Kaikoura Township. Close to everything including the Whale Watch Departure, Restaurants and shops.Set back from the main Highway well away from the Main Trunk Railway line which runs through the heart of Kaikoura. This property offers a tranquil environment with views to the magnificent Seaward Kaikoura mountains near by.Feed the trout & huge eels & ducks in our award winning native stream gardenThe spacious living in our comfortable B&B enables us to offer services such as a small conference, family reunions, fishing parties, and the like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Admiral Creighton Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing