We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to celebrate our anniversary!”
Review of Lemon Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lemon Tree Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We came to magical Kaikoura to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. We chose the Lemon Tree Lodge based on a friend's recommendation and we loved it. The new owners are very friendly, warm, and attentive. The view from our ocean-view room was stunning and having breakfast on the deck outside our room overlooking the ocean was spectacular - we enjoyed it so much that we even had take out dinner on the deck! As others have mentioned, the hot tub with the view is an fabulous touch. Overall, an excellent experience and we will continue to recommend the Lemon Tree Lodge to all of our friends who come down to Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishaandindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 147 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2010

Perched on a cliff overlooking Kaikoura the views are simply stunning especially from the hot tub on the deck. Lovely gardens and choice of rooms all beautifully furnished. Generous breakfasts. Friendly and accommodating hosts

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skydiver58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We were warmly welcomed by the new owner of this B&B. The B&B is at a hill so you have a beautiful view over the ocean. It is very nice that the hotel is not at the center of the village because it can be very crowded .
The room was very clean en neat. The room was not very large, but it is was good enough. The breakfast is served in the room so that was very nice.
We also sat in the jacuzzi, it was very nice to sit there with that loverly view!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nootdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We ended our New Zealand trip at the Lemon Tree Lodge and it was just perfect! We had an ocean view room which had a balcony with stunning views! The rooms are very comfortable and the bathroom is fully equiped! The new owners are very friendly and helpfull! Breakfast is served in your room so you can enjoy it on your balcony! I highly recommend this B&B!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank fiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We chose this place based on reviews. However, when we arrived at 3-45pm the place was locked up - not a sole in sight. The place looked somewhat in need of gardening and cleaning. We went down to the local information centre and found out that the place was/is being sold and the owners are no longer in residence. This was confirmed when we spoke to a local just up the road. So . . . . . .. we have done our tariff because the phone number for Lemon Tree is no longer answering and gets redirected to another number which does not answer.
We know all the other reviews are glowing, but this is what happened to us. Not happy!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LSL_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmenWolfhalden, New Owner at Lemon Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2009

Our intention is to make The Lemon Tree Lodge the best it`s ever been. We took ownership about three weeks ago. We have been working on the landscape which was unattended for some time.It is important for us as new owners that all of our guest are completely satisfied with their stay at Lemon Tree Lodge. The phone number is still the same; however, we experienced problems on the days around the 14, Sept. 2009, all the calls were being transferred to the previous owners home number in error..This problem was resolved in 3 days. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused to our guests.Sometimes unexpected this can happen when changes are made.

Sincerely,

New Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

As part of a 23 day visit to NZ we spent two night at Lemon Tree Lodge on Jan 14th / 15th 2009. Of the 23 nights that we spent in NZ it was the boutique B&Bs that really stood out, one of which was the Lemon Tree Lodge. We stayed in one of the sea view rooms and it was stunning - coming back after the day's excursions and sitting out on the balcony watching the sea and Kaikoura below. The room was clean, tidy and had everything required (bath robes and petals were a lovely touch) - this is not a hotel so don't expect wireless broadband or the like which for me added to the charm. Our host Andy, was extremely friendly and gave some great advice in relation to what to do and where to eat - also double booked us into Whalewatch as a precaution due to windy weather conditions during our stay. The breakfast was top notch and contained everything you would expect with generous portions (fruit portion was particularly nice). Once you round the corner and pass the wall fountain into the lodge you are entering a top quality B&B with a sense of charm and tranquility that is hard to beat, couple that with Andy's friendliness and you have a winner in my opinion. For me the test is always would I stay at Lemon Tree Lodge again - the answer is in a heartbeat - a brillant experience and one that hopefully will be repeated.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We had the Garden Room, a very well presented quality accommodation with extras like robes. The ensuite was a good size and well-equipped. The owner Alan was very helpful, offering lots of useful local information on places to see and places to eat. He lent us towels for our Dolphin encounter, and even offered to run us to a restaurant. The room has access to terrace for a sea view, we would say it was a better option than Ocean view rooms because they were 50% more expensive.

The location is very good, with the main town restaurants within a short easy walk.

Breakfast was served in our own room, continental but a good range and good quality.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
6.2 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.1 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nikau Lodge
Nikau Lodge
#4 of 32 in Kaikoura
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Lodge

Address: 31 Adelphi Terrace, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemon Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing