We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this!”
Review of Lemon Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lemon Tree Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have just completed 29 days touring around NZ and getting round to writing reviews for the best and worst places we stayed at. The Lemon Tree Lodge was in the top 4! Ivo and Rosemary have created a very special place in paradise. We stayed in the Lavender room and just loved it. The view, the tranquilityy, the quality of the fit out. Just excellent. Loved the gardens and the hot tub. Ivo was the perfect host. Could do with a shaving mirror in the room but no major worries as the reflection in the tiles is almost good enough!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank GooseGossage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 150 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed in the Lavender Room: large, bright, with king; absolutely delightful. This room is on the upper floor (“first floor”), via narrow stairs, which were easily navigated when the inn keeper cheerfully helped bring up our luggage. Décor is modern; very nice bathroom and shower; minimal refridgerator and counter space; has a balcony with a small table & two chairs. Internet is average speed. The inside table of suitable height for a computer is small.

There is a great ocean view; part of which is over business buildings. May have music rising from town on holidays and weekends. There are two separate abrupt internal steps in the Lavender room, which are needed to adjust for the slope of roof. There is an extra room to store luggage (great!), which you look into (no curtain) from the sitting room.

We recommend the two “ground floor” units. The Calla Lilly Suite is directly underneath the Lavender Room. Calla Lilly has the sea view with a much larger deck, plus immediate access to the garden and its wonderful Jacuzzi, plus extra windows (but less privacy than upstairs). The chairs in the Calla Lilly are also much more comfortable.

The two adjacent sea-view rooms (Pineaple Lilly above, and Poppy Flower on the ground floor below) are smaller, but well designed. The ground-floor Poppy room is especially nice. Of the four sea-view units, only the Poppy has an excellent table for computer work, as well as for dining.
.
There was no “wine social” at this B&B; it was thus difficult to meet other guests. Nor was there a common area, such as one often finds in a “Lodge” or in a luxury B&B.
-
Breakfast is served in your room (one egg; pay extra for meat). You may want to ask for breakfasts earlier than needed. This B&B has wonderful walking access to town. Go for the EARLY whale-boat watch to minimize the chance of heavy seas.

Service at the Lemon Tree was first-class and friendly; everything was super clean. The staff is dedicated. Heaters are well sized and thermostated. The owners (Ivo and Rosmarie) are friendly and most helpful in making reservations / providing activity / restaurant information.

The two units without a sea view are quiet, well done, and look out on an internal super-pleasant well maintained garden area

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lavender Room: large, bright, with king; absolutely delightful. This room is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pqueneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in this Swiss couple's (Ivo & Rosemary) ultra stylish establishment. Our room (George) had a private balcony with a stunning view over the beautiful garden out across the ocean. And the room itself was superbly fitted out, with fridge, TV, comfortable bed, modern coffee- making machine, even a wood burning stove.
Our hosts were very friendly without being "imposing" & we appreciated the generous gesture of giving us a really nice bottle of Pinot Gris.
Kaikoura was an interesting resort with a lot to offer, not least the Whale trip, but our abiding memory will be of one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a find, nestled on cliff top overlooking Kiakoura Ivo and Rosie Marie have built a delightful house made up of luxurious rooms with outlook over the Pacific.

Lovely king sized bedroom suite with deck outside and hot tub adjacent. Every possible service provided for the stay in a lovely garden situation. Hospitality standards of the Swiss owners shines through in the quality product and service provided.

Top notch B&B to date on our three weeks in New Zealand. Ivo gave us excellent recommendations for dolphin encounter, walks and of course the restaurants.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Firstly this is not the cheapest accommodation on Kaikoura but wow, it must be the best for the price, we loved it when we stayed there on the night of our wedding anniversary. Our room was fantastic with a lovely bedroom with patio doors onto a very extensive timber balcony/terrace, there is then a linking lobby (where you can dump your bags), a very nice bathroom and a small but lovely bright glass fronted dining area, again with patio doors to the balcony. If you didn't want to sit outside for, e.g. breakfast, this is the place to sit and still enjoy the view. Oh yes, I haven't mentioned the view, it's terrific. The lodge is sitting on an elevated position above Kaikoura (but still only a short walk to main street, restaurants, etc.) giving a view over the town and the bay to the mountains beyond. The balcony (which is very well furnished with sitting/lying options) is a great place to sit and enjoy the view with a glass of wine - you will be offered one (with nibbles) on arrival. A very extensive continental breakfast is delivered to your door at a time to suit you. There is also a very nice hot tub for the use of guests. Last but by no means least, you will get a lovely welcome from the hostess, who is especially keen to ensure that you are totally happy with the product - and you will be!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjjjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Lemon Tree Lodge in Kaikoura for only one night, but wished it could have been longer. Everything about this BnB was luxurious and the owners went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Wine and condiments were waiting when we arrived and the view from our room to the ocean was incredible. Breakfast was served in our room and everything was first rate.
We would recommend this BnB to anyone traveling on the South Island of New Zealand.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that face the ocean on the ground floor. (There are two levels at this BnB).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 922travelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

From the upper rooms you have a really amazing look over Kaikoura and the Ocean.
The room is very well equipped and offers a lot of space. And an excellent place for the whale watching tours, only a 15 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacques0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
6.2 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.1 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nikau Lodge
Nikau Lodge
#4 of 32 in Kaikoura
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Lodge

Address: 31 Adelphi Terrace, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemon Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing