We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemon Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lemon Tree Lodge
Ranked #5 of 34 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay, fantastic room overlooking the bay, some wonderful touches such as chocolates and fruit and very friendly and helpful hosts. We had the lavender room on the first floor and were lucky enough to have sunny blue skies which allowed us to have breakfast on our patio. The breakfast was wonderful and set us up for the day. My only sadness was that we hadn't booked to stay longer. You won't be disappointed if you stay here and I would certainly stay again if I'm ever passing that way.

Room Tip: We had the lavender room on the first floor which I loved
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a lovely room with spacious decking overlooking the bay - just sorry that the weather didn't allow us to eat outside for breakfast. Breakfasts were very good and delivered to the room. The room had some lovely touches- fruit, chocolate each day and wonderful toileteries. The bathroom was lovely and smelt gorgeous - a big vase of lavender.There is a hot tub on the deck overlooking the bay for guest use. The property is in a great location- less than 5 minute walk to the restaurants and less than 10 minute walk to the Kaikoura whaleway station. It is a great location with super friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RosEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for just one night, although we wish we could have spent longer, and we loved it. The hosts really have spent a lot of time in making it what it is and we would highly recommend staying here. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and had a really fresh feel to them. The rooms also have a Nespresso machine, which I loved! We were lucky as the weather was nice and sunny so we had wonderful views of the bay from our room (Ocean view room) and breakfast the following morning was lovely. Thank you to Rosemarie and Ivo!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PP_08_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely accommodation: a little chalet with three rooms - bedroom with high-quality bed, sitting room and bathroom, separated by sliding doors. It was well furnished and brightly decorated, with carefully chosen ornaments and artwork. Everything was just right and had clearly been done with a lot of thought and care. They have a wonderful garden too. Breakfasts are pre-ordered and brought to your room - you can choose things like like perfectly cooked eggs and carefully prepared fresh fruit.
The owners are charming, friendly and wonderfully hospitable and helpful, making you feel very much at ease.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiogenesWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Lemon Tree B & B. Rosmarie and Ivo are wonderful hosts who care about the comfort of their guests. My room (pineapple lillie) was perfect and the view from the room was amazing. Kaikoura is a wonderful place to visit especially if you like adventures, such as swimming with dusky dolphins and walking llamas. Breakfast was delicious and presented so beautifully. A wonderful all round experience staying at the Lemon Tree.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne_dobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent two days at Lemon Tree Lodge, particularly because we wanted to go and see albatross.

As they were not too busy, Rosemarie offered us a choice of rooms. Although it was slightly smaller, we took a room overlooking the sea. Just wonderful to have breakfast on the balcony with the snow capped mountains to one side,the blue ocean in front of you, and the township below your feet.

Our room was a good size and with a decent sized bathroom. Sheets and towels were top notch and the whole place was seriously clean (Swiss standards apply!). Breakfast is ordered the day before and Rosemarie delivers it to your room. Her scrambled egg is jolly good.

Our 2.30pm albatross trip was cancelled because of strong winds. We were offered a trip at 0600 the following morning. This didn't phase Rosemarie at all. She was very happy to serve us breakfast after we had done the trip and was very laid back about our subsequent late departure.

Some hosts are in your face, others are hard to find. Rosemarie has a lovely balance. If you want her she is there and gives advice (about local restaurants and so on), but she is not hovering around under your feet. We really appreciated this when our afternoon trip had been cancelled and we suddenly thought (as you do on a five week travelling trip), let's just sit down and read a book. The setting in the garden and overlooking the sea was perfect and we were just left to do our thing.

First impressions of the location are odd because it is directly on the main road. But this was not a problem and it is away from 'downtown' Kiakoura with its restaurants and bars, yet only five minutes walk into the town.

P.s. the albatross trip was JUST WONDERFULL

We loved it here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archaeologyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The positive impression started already when we were picked up at the trainstation by the owner. A couple of minutes drive and we were at the lodge were we were given a beautiful room overlooking Kaikoura and the sea. Only a few minutes walk to many of the restaurants and shops in kaikoura. The view from the room and the terrasse is absolutely stunning. The owner is very serviceminded and makes you feel relaxed in his Lodge. Great breakfast tray brought to the room every morning with an impressive selection to choose from. Nice touch with your own in-room coffee and tea making facilities.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view of the sea and mountains. The ones that have have a stunning panoramic vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANE_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.3 mi away
Nikau Lodge
Nikau Lodge
#3 of 34 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Lodge

Property: Lemon Tree Lodge
Address: 31 Adelphi Terrace, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing