We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Lemon Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lemon Tree Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We really enjoyed staying here. The upbeat family running the place is very friendly, smart, sharp. The garden is spotless, and Kaikoura centre and most sights are walking distance just down the hill. The WiFi doesn't quite reach the rooms, but you aren't here for the internet. The jacuzzi overlooking the bay and the Pacific is unmissable if you stay here. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: A room with a view to the Pacific and Kaikoura town might be nicer, but a room with the garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qschzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
111
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This place has everything, decking for each apartment, beautiful gardens, home made bread for breakfast and a hot tub overlooking the bay! Could not recommend highly enough, in our 3 week trip to NZ this was one of the top spots. Without question, the best location in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We have just stayed 2`nights at this excellent accommodaton in Kaikoura.The hosts are very friendly and welcoming .The accommodation comprised a bedroom,small living area , bathroom and a large outdoor deck.It was very tastfully finished and furnished to a high standard .Breakfast was a real hit - great home made - European style breads and fresh fruit platter met our needs.In case you want good coffee the suite ahd its own nespresso machine.
Really recommend the ocean view suites - outstanding views.Definitely would stay again

G & Q

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms have great views across the bay to the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralph01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just fantastic. Can't say more. Great location and best accommodation on our 3 weeks around NZ

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Lemon Tree Lodge has to have the best view in Kaikoura. We only stayed for one night and wished that we had stayed longer. I could have spent all day sat on the decking looking at the view of the sea with the mountains in the background. The hosts of this hotel/B&B cannot do enough for you. They were happy to recommend restaurants and help out with anything that we needed. All in all a superb night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Our second visit to Lemon Tree Lodge within 18 months ....... It is described as a boutique B & B, but is much more than that ....... Rosemarie and her husband treat you as valued friends, rather than as paying guests, and can't do enough for you. The rooms are exactly as you would want them to be, with everything that you need close to hand.

The view of the mountains and ocean from the terrace is breathtaking, constantly changing and a real suntrap! And the view from the hot tub at the end of the day has to be experienced!!

Go, just go, and prepare to be amazed!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mischiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Well located above the town with superb views of the Ocean with a great mountain range as a backdrop. Outside balcony with table and chairs enables you to enjoy breakfast while watching the dolphins.

Don't forget to take advantage of the hot tub in the garden, enjoy a glass of wine in seclusion as you relax after your whale watch.

Whale Watch Kaikoura - is probably why most visit the town and you should be lucky enough to see sperm whales dive. The boats have really good audio visual displays.

Be sure to eat or have a take away from the Thai resteraunt in town which is only a 10minute walk away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nikau Lodge
Nikau Lodge
#4 of 32 in Kaikoura
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Lodge

Property: Lemon Tree Lodge
Address: 31 Adelphi Terrace, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemon Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing