We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Excellent”
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just stayed at Nikau Lodge recently and had a fantastic experience. You could not find a more friendly host anywhere. The owners are exceptionally helpful and offer great advice on local attractions and dining. We had difficultly booking a dolphin company and Jane was very helpful phoning back and forth to the dolphin company for us to assure it was going ahead.

The rooms are clean and large with superb views of the ocean and mountains. The mountains were particular spectacular during our stay as they were snow covered. You are provided toiletries and towels as well as robes. The beds are also SUPER comfy.

The breakfasts are wonderfully delicious, but make sure you have your appetite! The hosts like to fill you up!

There are nice little touches that make this place fantastic to stay. Complementary wine and beer in the fridge and Quentin baked some biscuits and brought some to us.

Overall I highly recommend this place. Great facilities and great people!!!

(Their dog 'Jack' is as friendly as the owners!)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenbennett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review. It was fantastic that you did manage to go Dolphin Swimming and we were very happy to help with your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
202
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Nikau Lodge en route to Wellington and enjoyed a very comfortable bed in a spacious room that boasted great views. The hosts were welcoming and friendly, they treated us to a glass of wine and were good company which made the evening special.

After a great breakfast we were on our way to the ferry but we intend to make the Nikau Lodge a regular visit on our regular travels around the South Island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilHarrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review and we are very happy that you found your room comfortable. We know how important it is to have a good quality bed for optimum confort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Nikau B&B lodge while attending the celebrations at the Marae across the road for business. (We own a filming company) Our one night planned stay turned into two nights. We were very happy to stay another night so we could actually relax and have a chance to sit down chill out and get to know our hosts. As a kiwi myself I feel that Quentin and Jane are fabulous hosts and an asset to my country's tourism. The warm friendly atmosphere fantastic warm rooms and very comfortable beds made our stay perfect. The breakfast is just terrific and Quentin even cooked us a little surprise evening meal after our long busy day filming which was way above and beyond the call of the B&B duty. All up a fantastic stay.
A great way to sample "Kiwi" hospitality with the fantastic surroundings of Kaikoura NZ.
I fully recommend the Nikau Lodge B&B

Room Tip: All rooms were nice we stayed in the Dolphin room first night and the Whale room second night (It ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwifromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed our "Kiwi" hospitality. We are very proud to be a 100% New Zealand owned and operated B&B. Look for the 100% NZ banner on our website.
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed 1 night last month on our way to Picton, and was blown away by the location and spectacular views from the room.
The hosts were fantastic and very helpful, and the gourmet breakfast was better than at some of the best hotels that I have stayed at.
Thanks you for a great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djgreenaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed our breakfast. We enjoy cookiing for our guests. We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Nikau Lodge for a few nights just recently and I truly can't fault the experience. The rooms were lovely with spectacular views and the breakfasts were delicious! Quentin and Jane were amazing hosts, and with lots of little special details and touches, I felt right at home. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary reviw. We are very pleased you felt at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent one night at Nikau Lodge and really wished we could have stayed more...we were leaving South Island the next day and what an amazing, welcoming, friendly and so comfortable stay we had with Quentin and Jane. We so loved the walk along the cliff top and exploring the beach and rocks below. Restaurants, so many to choose from, all easily accessible. Our room was so comfy, clean and what a view! Loved the breakfast and we both voted it the best breakfast on the South Island. Have no hesitation in highly recommending Nikau Lodge to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, but I think they all have spectacular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxezvouslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for voting our breakfast the best in the South Island and for your high recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Kaikoura for one night and found the place fantastic!! Our whale watching trip was cancelled and Jane gave us plenty of activities to do in the rain including seeing the seal cubs at the waterfall (a particular highlight of ours) and enjoying glass of wine in the hot tub in the rain. We had breakfast in the room with an amazing view over the bay of Kaikoura. Jane and Quentin made us feel at home and the B&B was beautiful - We would highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Dolphin room was fantastic and very cosy. Excellent views of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
It was a shame your Whale Watch trip was cancelled, but as you found out there are lots of other things to do in Kaikoura and the seal pups are a hightlight for lots of our guests. Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
153 reviews
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing