We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly wonderful;” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 34 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“Truly wonderful;”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed 1 night last month on our way to Picton, and was blown away by the location and spectacular views from the room.
The hosts were fantastic and very helpful, and the gourmet breakfast was better than at some of the best hotels that I have stayed at.
Thanks you for a great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djgreenaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed our breakfast. We enjoy cookiing for our guests. We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
201
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Nikau Lodge for a few nights just recently and I truly can't fault the experience. The rooms were lovely with spectacular views and the breakfasts were delicious! Quentin and Jane were amazing hosts, and with lots of little special details and touches, I felt right at home. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary reviw. We are very pleased you felt at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent one night at Nikau Lodge and really wished we could have stayed more...we were leaving South Island the next day and what an amazing, welcoming, friendly and so comfortable stay we had with Quentin and Jane. We so loved the walk along the cliff top and exploring the beach and rocks below. Restaurants, so many to choose from, all easily accessible. Our room was so comfy, clean and what a view! Loved the breakfast and we both voted it the best breakfast on the South Island. Have no hesitation in highly recommending Nikau Lodge to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, but I think they all have spectacular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxezvouslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for voting our breakfast the best in the South Island and for your high recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Kaikoura for one night and found the place fantastic!! Our whale watching trip was cancelled and Jane gave us plenty of activities to do in the rain including seeing the seal cubs at the waterfall (a particular highlight of ours) and enjoying glass of wine in the hot tub in the rain. We had breakfast in the room with an amazing view over the bay of Kaikoura. Jane and Quentin made us feel at home and the B&B was beautiful - We would highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Dolphin room was fantastic and very cosy. Excellent views of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
It was a shame your Whale Watch trip was cancelled, but as you found out there are lots of other things to do in Kaikoura and the seal pups are a hightlight for lots of our guests. Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

On Frommer's recommendation, we booked our stay in Kaikoura at the Nikau Lodge. This B & B is even better than the write ups! Quentin & Jane were very gracious hosts. The rooms were great, the views were superb and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights whilst on a 4 week trip around New Zealand. What a wonderful place to stay! We had the Dolphin room - beautifully appointed, really comfortable bed and fantastic views over Kaikoura. Great to sit in the window with a glass of wine admiring the views! Only a few minutes walk to main street and eating places. Breakfasts here are brilliant as both host and hostess are fantastic cooks and the selection was worthy of a 5* hotel. (Probably better). There are also little extras provided and the hosts go out of their way to be helpful. Don't think anyone could be disappointed here. We would definitely return here again.

Room Tip: Front rooms with views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisstrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks very much for your review and rating our breakfasts as 5*! We do love cooking for people and serving a breakfast that sets them up for the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

What a fantastic place to find in Kaikoura. The best B and B we have ever stayed in! The hosts Quentin and Jane were very welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
The B and B is located slightly above the main street but has easy access through some short cuts which Quentin informed us of.
On arrival we had an upgrade to a sea view room and the view from the window was amazing. Spacious rooms and little touches that make a huge difference. Homemade cookies, free internet, offers of lifts to station or the peninsula, complimentary wine and beer from a fridge on the landing, lovely toiletries, free laundry facilities and a fantastic breakfast again with many homemade additions. The muesli/granola and apple and pear compotes were delicious and that was before we were given the cooked breakfast which looked and tasted delicious and set us up for the busy day ahead.
We were really made to feel at home and was a change to the usual motel that we mostly stayed in.
We sat in the front garden looking over the bay with a drink until sunset. This is definately the place to stay in Kaikoura, we hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We hope you can come back and share our front garden again. A fabulous spot to enjoy a glass of wine and soak up the view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph
The White Morph
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 34 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Hampton's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing