We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cosy place and very welcoming”
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great cosy place with excellent hosts who are extremely knowledgable on the area. Views are spectacular! Breakfasts are huge so wake up with an appetite. You easily park the car at the lodge and walk into town for dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smackinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. We agree our views are spectacular. It is stunning this morning with a fresh coating of snow on the mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Nikau Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 276 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Nikau Lodge and can only reiterate the comments of other reviewers. This is a 5 star B&B which ticks all the boxes. Quentin and Jane are brilliant hosts with a very friendly relaxed approach which makes you feel as if you are staying with old friends. The accommodation is beautifully kept and spacious with very pleasant garden areas. The breakfasts are truly delicious and the porridge more than met the standards of two Scots!! It was good to be able to make your choice the night before from a really good choice of dishes. The Eggs Benedict was just superb - even though I had to admit defeat and ask for only one egg on our second day.

We stayed In the Whale room which is very comfortable with lovely views. The fridge outside the bedrooms stocked with wine, beer etc. was much appreciated, as was the free laundry facilities.

Kaikoura is a great place to spend a few days. If you are keen to swim with dolphins or to go whale watching - both truly amazing experiences - it is a good idea to stay an extra day to give yourself a little flexibility. If the weather is bad the boats don't always go out. We had booked for the first day of our stay but high winds meant that the boats weren't able to sail. However it was a simple matter to defer our trips to the next day, by which time the conditions had changed and the trips went ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilanorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay and that our porridge met the Scottish approval (however I don't think my grandma Wilson would have approved of the fruit and honey in it!). We absolutely agree with you about having a longer stay in Kaikoura. 3 nights seems to be a good time to stay, to fit in boat trips, walks and some of the other great things to do here. Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We loved staying at this comfortable and clean B&B. Truly, it’s probably the best B&B we’ve ever stayed in. Breakfast was amazing. Quentin and Jane provided a menu each night from which we could choose the next day’s breakfast. They had a range of hot and cold offerings, and you could eat as much as you wanted of each. Among our favorite items were eggs benedict with salmon, potato pancakes, and a plum compote that was to die for. They kept a small jar in our room filled with homemade cookies, and we had access to internet and the living room with TV. They have an outdoor hot tub, which we were not able to use only because we were so busy. We loved our conversations with them, and our interactions with their adorable dog Jack. (We were actually there in March of 2012, but Trip Advisor is not allowing that as a date selection.)

Room Tip: We had a choice of two rooms and selected a first-floor room near the side of the house, which was v...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneevermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your amazing review. So glad you enjoyed the breakfasts we provide. We both enjoy cooking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We only had 1 night stay at The Nikau. That was a pity because it was very enjoyable. The hosts Quentin and Jane were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The location is good you can easily walk into town. The breakfast was excellent. Our room - The Dolphin had a brilliant view.

Room Tip: The Dolphin had a brilliant view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

There is a lot to see and do in Kaikoura so we do agree with you that it is good to stay longer than 1 night. Thank you so much for the fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very nice and comfortable place to stay. The rooms were really nice with a very comfortable bed! We loved how we were looked after and the breakfast was amazing.
Defintely would go back there again next time we are in Kaikoura!
Easy to walk into town as well

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thanks for the review. It will be great to see you again next time you are down this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

As with all the best B&Bs, the hosts are what make this place special and Quentin and Jane spare no effort to give you a good stay, with Quentin in particular proving to be a lively character. The welcome and constant attention were much appreciated and made for a very happy stay, enhanced by the chance to relax in their lovely gardens. And the free wine, beer and water kept in a small fridge outside the guest rooms is quite a bonus.

We were in the Whale room which is very comfortable indeed with stunning views across the mountains and bay. A well set-up and spacious room to relax in at the end of the day.

Nikau Lodge is pretty much the perfect spot and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Just one niggle: the bathroom in the next room backed onto our bedroom with apparently thin walls so that when the occupants took a 6.30am shower each morning, we were instantly awake and right in there with them!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed Quentin's hosting style! It is a shame the guests next door chose to shower at 6.30am. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Nikau Lodge. Jane and Quentin are lovely people, so generous and welcoming and they work really hard to make your stay a relaxing and easy one. The Lodge has a wonderful aspect, above the town, with two paths nearby taking you to the West End or to the Esplanade by foot in less than 10 minutes. The Lodge has a lovely garden where you can sit at the end of the day and enjoy a glass of the complementary wine.
The lovely May Chang toiletries, cotton buds and cotton wool are what you might expect in a 5 star cityhotel. Breakfast was wonderful, really sociable...and the food is great (especially the eggs, poached or scrambled and the home made jams are to die for!). We loved our time in Kaikoura; we saw a sperm whale, a colony of seals, walked around the peninsula, and it was a joy to come back to the hospitality of Nikau Lodge.

Room Tip: The whale room is spacious with a lovely view of the beach and mountains
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bboyd254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We are so glad you felt relaxed at Nikau Lodge; that is certainly our aim. Thank you very much for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: $199 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing