We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely return”
Review of Nikau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nikau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Would definitely return”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A wonderful start to our holiday around South Island. Jane and Quentin ( and Jack :) ) were very welcoming hosts and we really enjoyed our 2 night stay at Nikau Lodge. Yummy breakfasts too.
Thanks again! Sally and Steve

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for the review and we hope you and you Dad had a great trip around the South Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
202
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Nikau Lodge,
I can not agree more with the other reviews. Being a travel coordinator, I have travelled quite a lot all over the world and I absolutely loved this B&B.
We stayed in the Seal room and enjoyed the lovely view, the owners Quentin and Jane are very helpful, they gave us advise about what to do and see in the area, weather advise for the whale watch trip, the breakfast was fantastic, I loved the coziness and warmth of this B&B, with wooden floors, soft colours and decoration, comfortable high beds, nice bathroom products and a good location.
A pity we could only stay 1 night, we hope to go back one day.
Griet and Dries - Belgium

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We also hope you might be able to come back some time and hopefully the weather will be more kind to you so that you can enjoy more of what Kaikoura has too offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our party of 2 couples had a wonderful time staying at Nikau Lodge in Kaikoura while on our "Babymoon". The B&B had beautiful views, was warm, lovely and clean, and had some nice touches that made us feel looked after (eg: cookies and drinks in our rooms, nice bodywash/lotions in the bathroom, the swan towels!, recording of the overnight rugby test on mysky). The breakfast was devine, we all ate far too much!
I wish we had spent more time in Kaikoura as there is so much to see and do, 2 nights were not enough.
Loved the spa pool, and Jack the dog was super cute.
Thanks for a lovely time and for looking after us so well Quinton and Jane.
Maree, James, Eric and Justine

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. We enjoyed the view of the mountains and sea from the Whale and Seal rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Manager at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
What a fabulous review, thank you very much. Quentin said he couldn't have written it better himself!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a fantastic time at Nikau Lodge. The view from the lovely Crayfish Room was beautiful. Breakfast was great, as was the cookies and complimentary wine. Jane and Quentin could not have been more generous with their time; in conversations and lifts to beautiful places to walk from. Thank you.
Liz and Graham from the UK.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We were so pleased that you both enjoyed a couple of Kaikoura's wonderful walks and we were happy to help with transport for you. We enjoyed talking with you and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Whale Room, which overlooked the garden, green hills, snow-capped mountains, and the turquoise South Pacific. The owners were very personable and friendly and had great suggestions for places to eat and things to see. Very good cookies in the room and interesting breakfasts, e.g., omelettes, eggs benedict, and french toast with caramelized bananas. The bed was super-comfortable.

Room Tip: The Whale Room has the best views and is furthest away from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_W_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the Whale room, it does have such a great bed!! I agree with you that Quentin's cookies are good. Many thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Quinten and Jane are wonderful hosts at this cute B&B by the sea. This Lodge is very clean and has great views from the rooms. But it was the little touches that made it special with complimentary beer and wine for guests and scrumptious breakfast cooked to your liking. Don't forget to say hello to their cute dog Jack if you go - adorable!

If you head to Kaikoura on your South Island adventures (and you should), make sure to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Of course we absolutely agree that Kaikoura is a place that should be on everyone's South Island itinerary. Guests are always amazed by the scenery in our beautiful town. We love providing those extra little touches, we like to think of what we would like if it was us traveling. There's no doubt a cold beer on arrival after a hot day on the road can be very pleasant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for one night as we over-nighted in Kaikoura. Jane and Quentin were really helpful, not only dropping us off at Dolphin Encounters the next morning but coming and picking us up afterwards, bringing along with all the cases we had left at their's and taking us to the station.
The room and view were both beautiful, too bad we didn't try to spa bath as were too tired from everything else we had done in New Zealand, but I can't recommend the place highly enough.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the views in all directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are happy to help with picking up and dropping off our guests. Our views are stunning from the upstairs rooms, such a great place to sit and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikau Lodge

Property: Nikau Lodge
Address: 53 Deal Street | close to State Hwy 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nikau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 10 minutes walk from Kaikoura's main town centre, Nikau Lodge has magnificent views of the Kaikoura Mountain Range and the Ocean. Come relax in the lounge, unwind in the garden or just come for a good nights rest. Continental and Full Cooked Breakfast using fresh local produce is served to you in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nikau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing