We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation, location and friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, location and friendly hosts”
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Austin Heights was our first B&B in New Zealand and it set the standard.

Austin Heights is located at the top of a hill, in a quiet residential area about 1 miles from the centre of Kaikoura. Although John & Lyn were happy to drive any guest to and from town, a car really is essential to enjoy the area to the full.

We stayed in the deluxe ocean view suite which was on the 1st floor complete with a balcony overlooking the mountains and the sea. Our room was very spacious with a comfortable bed with high quality bed linen and a modern ensuite with an excellent shower and fluffy towels. There was also a small kitchen area complete with fridge, microwave and ample crockery and cutlery. It was nice to be able to have a cup of tea and our 1st Anzac biscuit when we arrived.

The Contiental breakfast was excellent - fruit juice, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, muesllis, delicious brown toast and tea or coffee.

John & Lyn with their local knowledge, could recommend places to go and where to eat. Lyn booked us a table at the Green Dolphin Restaurant as we had particularly wished to have crayfish. The entire meal was delicious, including the crayfish, and the young waitress from Berlin knew her New Zealand wines.

We would certainly recommend Austin Heights to anyone visiting Kaikoura and as a tip, do as we did and book direct with John & Lyn on their website!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rover33507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Manager at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your stay with us Team.
Great advise on where to book direct with us as well. Many thanks & all the best. Hopefully we will meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
65
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Friendly welcome and helpful local advice on arrival ensured that we got to go whale watching before the weather closed in. That done we settled in to our very comfortable well appointed accommodation to recover from a very busy sea trip. A small kitchen area enabled us to make hot drinksprepare and heat meals and store foodstuffs in the fridge.
Views from the appartment overlooked sea and mountain scapes. Breakfast, taken with hosts John and Lynne in their dining room were cooked to order with a fine selection of cereals and delicious home made marmalades and jams. Other guests who had gone out for an early whale watching trip -unsuccessful - were invited to join us for breakfast. A very sociable affair.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Comfort, location, attention to detail, friendly welcome and genuine interest
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bursledonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We really appreciate your lovely review Team, thank you! It was our pleasure to meet such a lovely appreciative couple. All the best from Lynne & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We have just recently stayed at Austin Heights in Kaikoura and I would thoroughly recommend anybody to stay there.
The hosts John & Lynne couldn't have been more helpful and made us feel instantly at home. We were a bit concerned that we would have to share their home for breakfast but they made us feel as though we were part of the family and any fears soon disappeared.
The rooms were first class and had all the comforts that a weary traveller needs and more besides. It has fantastic views and tranquilty and would definitley recommend the whale watching what an experience.
Austin Heights is on my return list in the next 2 - 3 years time and hopefully John & Lynne will still be there. They are very proud of what they have acheived in the makeover & upgrading of their lovely property and are only too happy to show the before & after photos.
A definite stay if you go to Kaikoura, it is out of the town on the peninsular but what it lacks in amenities on the door step more than makes up for with its fantastic setting, and John is more than happy to give you a lift into the town, only about 5 - 6 minutes drive if that.
Please go and see for yourselves.
Jean Daly

  • Liked — Everythin
  • Disliked — there was nothing I disliked at all
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you Jean for your lovely comments and advise for future Guests. We both enjoyed your company also. Take care & all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

This place is wonderful!

I stayed here as a treat during a backpacking trip around New Zealand. What a treat it was! The accommodation is so luxurious and I also felt so at home. The apartment I stayed in was full of lovely little touches that made all the difference and the bed was so huge and cosy! with electric blanket, just what I needed during the 'cold snap' weather whilst I was there. The weather was certainly not a hindrance, snow on the mountains and the cool fresh air added to the experience - stunning!

The owners are exceptionally warm and friendly and treated me so well I didn't want to leave. The views are spectacular, both from the balcony and without having to leave the room, I sat for a long period of time just gazing out at the mountains!

Kaikoura is a lovely town and this place comes highly recommended.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank orcalesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Guests like you Mate, are what makes this business so worth the while. Many thanks & all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Spent the month touring South Island, of the ten B&B accomodations I experienced this was by far the best. Cannot understand why Trip Advisor does not give a higher rating. The house is recently refurbished, best of taste,best of furnishings and equipment. Total comfort is assured. The view is wonderful. (see photo)
The welcome, consideration and kindness I received made me feel like I was a favourite friend.

  • Liked — The warm friendship.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fredthehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
What can we say Fred? How lucky we were to have such a grateful Guest stay with us! Thank you so much. All the best from Lynne & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2008

The B&B is nicely located away from town centre but within close proximity to most activities. We had a great view of the ocean and the mountains. We were there in spring and the garden was in full blossom. The family room was complete with children's books and toys which kept our young kids well occupied.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — ok generally
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MLY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Stayd at Austing Heights in kaikoura and had a great stay. Highly recommended -it has excellent views of the surrouning mountains as this B&B is situated near the viewpoint on the top of th hill in town. In addition, great people that run this B&B and the rooms are very private as if in a hotel. Highly recommended for travellers with families.

  • Liked — views and the friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — had not too much luck with the TV system
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for upstairs ooms with the mountain views
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank teni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
6.0 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Point Bed and Breakfast
The Point Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Property: Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Address: 19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love Kaikoura, but hate the noise of the traffic - here's the answer. Beautiful Austin Heights is situated on the Kaikoura Peninsula where it is peaceful and commands a stunning Panoramic view of the Kaikoura Mountain ranges, Pacific Ocean & Coastline. Only a five minute drive from the town center and all local attractions. Like the Whale-watch, Dolphin & Seal Encounters, handy to the beautiful Peninsula Coastal walkway & the Seal Colony. Lovely, spacious & sunny, apartments with a lovely decor, excellent quality beds. Opening directly out onto a long balcony with a Panoramic view of the Mountains & Pacific Ocean. Own kitchenette, fridge, microwave, tea & plunger coffee facilities. Private entrances & parking space. Austin Heights is surrounded in prize-winning Gardens. Lynne & John your friendly Kiwi Hosts have 15 years experience running their B&B and will make you welcome to Austin Heights. A special continental breakfast plus free range eggs is included in tariff plus all government taxes. Free WIFI available at all times. Complimentary pick-up & deliver to the bus or train with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing