We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of a good bunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 34 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of a good bunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon, whilst touring idyllic New Zealand in January 2014. We booked on the basis of previous reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not let down.

John & Lynne, the owners, were extremely warm & friendly with us. They welcomed us into their own living area for a fantastic homemade breakfast. They helped us find a place to eat tea, and when we told them we were getting up at 4.30am for the (amazing) dolphin tour, they wanted to get up with us to cook us breakfast.

The B&B is very homely, with beautiful views of Kaikoura. Throughout our stay in New Zealand, we stayed at many wonderful hospitable B&Bs, but this was the best of the best. We can't wait to return one day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello Martin & Jess, the two of the many lovely people we want to visit one day - hopefully.
We enjoyed our time with you both and appreciate you both taking the time to put a nice review on for us. Thanks Team and all the very best for the future. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    12
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chavannes-de-Bogis, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in Lynne and John's house which is located in a quite area with a beautiful view. Both of them were very welcoming and gave us many information about the area upon our arrival. We had the room on the ground floor which is very comfortable and nice. Breakfast prepared by Lynne was gargantuan and excellent (especially the fruit salad!). Town center is easily reachable on foot with a 15 minutes walk, or by car. Do not miss the Pensinsula walkway: seal spot and beautiful views from the cliffs. I would recommand Lynne and John's house without hesitation!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Team, it is hard to believe that it is over a month since we meet.
We thank you and appreciate the lovely review you have put on TripAdvisor for us. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. It was our pleasure to have such wonderful Hosts like yourselves in our home. We wish you both all the very best and hopefully we will get to meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were given a big welcome by Lynn - meeting John, also very welcoming, on day 2. Our room was beautiful, spacious, well equipped, with fantastic views. Our whale watching trip was at 7.15am - and Lynn kindly got up and made us breakfast before we went. She had already booked the trip for us and had offered to book a table at a restaurant. Very friendly and helpful - excellent hosts. Being a ragdoll owner myself, it was lovely to meet 17 year old Oscar - albeit briefly!
The house is set in beautiful gardens.
We had a fabulous meal at Tuti's

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us Karen. We are pleased you enjoyed it as we certainly enjoyed our time with you. We hope to meet again sometime. All the very best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Austin Heights B&B was one of the best stays we had on our South Island tour. Very warm welcome by Lynne and John, easy to feel like home, wonderful views right from our windows (beautiful night sky too) and not at least a lovely little town with anything you need for your holidays.

You should pay a visit to the Green Dolphin restaurant, stunning food!

Thanks again and again for this wonderful experience!

Yours, Mia and Norman

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Mia & Norman, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us & the Green Dolphin.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will get to meet again sometime, take care and all the very best from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Austin Heights B&B is located in a quiet residential area on a low hill close to the town, which can be reached by a quarter-hour walk down an attractive hillside path or a few minutes drive. The house sits in a beautifully kept garden and there is ample off-street parking behind the house. Our first-floor room was spotless and comfortable, with a superb view from the balcony over the sea to the mountains beyond the town. The continental breakfast was both generous and tasty. The owners, Lynne and John, were friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome in their home (as did Oscar, their ragdoll cat). We will certainly plan to stay here again on our next visit to Kaikoura.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balcony with superb view over the town and bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review Bill & Marcia. We both enjoyed our time with you very much and will look forward to meeting you again in the future. All the best from both of us plus Oscar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

A Wonderful time with magnificent hosts, definitely going back, stunning views of the mountains, sheep in the paddock opposite, very clean and what a beautiful well-cared for garden, a restful setting with the beautiful ragdoll cat Oscar

Thanks for your lovely hospitality from Greg and Sam, Christchurch ex South Africa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory and Sam... v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
What a lovely review from an awesome couple, thank you so much Team. Can't wait to spend some more time with you both. Take care until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This stay was joint top of our 11 stops in our first visit to NZ. From the outside it does not look as good as it is but, believe us, you won't be disappointed here. Our hosts could not have done more and the rooms were bright and very clean and well appointed. Good value for money. Super views from our rooms and only drawback is that it is a little way out of town. If you're staying at Kaikoura - and Kaikoura is not a place to miss - then this has to be it!
Richard + Diana Morris and Olga Cannan UK

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6xb42long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi Team, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We do appreciate it and we feel honored to have meet you all. Take care & all the very best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Property: Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Address: 19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Love Kaikoura, but hate the noise of the traffic - here's the answer. Beautiful Austin Heights is situated on the Kaikoura Peninsula where it is peaceful and commands a stunning Panoramic view of the Kaikoura Mountain ranges, Pacific Ocean & Coastline. Only a five minute drive from the town center and all local attractions. Like the Whale-watch, Dolphin & Seal Encounters, handy to the beautiful Peninsula Coastal walkway & the Seal Colony. Lovely, spacious & sunny, apartments with a lovely decor, excellent quality beds. Opening directly out onto a long balcony with a Panoramic view of the Mountains & Pacific Ocean. Own kitchenette, fridge, microwave, tea & plunger coffee facilities. Private entrances & parking space. Austin Heights is surrounded in prize-winning Gardens. Lynne & John your friendly Kiwi Hosts have 15 years experience running their B&B and will make you welcome to Austin Heights. A special continental breakfast plus free range eggs is included in tariff plus all government taxes. Free WIFI available at all times. Complimentary pick-up & deliver to the bus or train with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing