We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, comfortable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two nights at this lovely B+B up on the peninsula hill in Kaikoura. Our room looked out towards the snow capped mountains and the town in the bay below. The room was very comfortable with a fantastic King Size bed, armchairs, large tv, fridge, microwave and small dining table. There were cookies and chocolates in the room on our arrival as well as plenty of toiletries in the bathroom.
Lynne and John are lovely hosts and it was nice to spend time chatting with them over breakfast each morning.
We walked into the town each evening which was a pleasant 30min stroll, although on the way back it is up a rather steep hill so you need to have reserved a bit of energy! If you're not fans of walking it's only a short drive and there is plenty of parking available in the town.
We took the whale watching trip on one of our days there which we would recommend. However if you suffer from motion sickness at all it is advisable to take precautions before going out. It wasn't a particularly rough day when we went but it was pretty choppy by the time we got out to the whales and several people were rather ill!! We saw three whales (all sperm) which was pretty spectacular.
Would definitely recommend Austin Heights for a very pleasant stay in Kaikoura

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saldridge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you so much it was our pleasure. We enjoyed your company as well.
All the best Lynne & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 88 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent two days and nights at this bed and breakfast. The owners were most gracious. They prepared a hot breakfast for us on request and helped us have a wonderful experience of the local area. A special treat was that the room had a small kitchenette so we could prepare a lunch, have tea or bring take out back to eat. Since we had to leave early the last morning to go whale watching, we cancelled breakfast and the owners invited us for a light snack and wine when we got back. We highly recommend the this bed and breakfast and the owners John and Lynne. Michael and Ann MArie

Room Tip: The rooms are great..only thing is we were asked not to wear shoes inside..had to go buy some New Ze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thank you Team, for the lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you both and would like to wish you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at this very good BB. Very clean, perfect service, BEAUTIFUL surroundings. Lynne and John are very friendly. We warmly recommend the place to stay in and Kaikoura is so great!
Anne and Leif from Sweden

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Hi Anne & Leif, long time no see! Thank you for the lovely review. Hope to see you in Sweden one day. All the best from L & J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Beautiful house and enthusiastic host, delicious breakfast, there is no reason don't like this house, all too much 。A beautiful garden and a lovely cat, let us forget the unfamiliar city, nervous, this is a place like home, next time with my lovely daughter again。

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

We are looking forward to that day when you return Team. Many thanks for your nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Thanks to John and Lynne we enjoyed our short time in Kaikoura. We only wish we had a few extra days to stay! The room was clean and comfortable, and the views were BREATHTAKING! Our breakfast was delicious and we were so thankful that they were so accomodating to our schedule. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theeverydayexchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Many thanks to the Casey brothers for you lovely comments! Until next time take care.
Cheers Lynne & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

In all of our travels it would be very, very hard to find a place that is more welcoming, clean, light and friendly. I cannot speak highly enough of Lynn & John and as for the views from the rooms and dinning room, just breathtaking. Then there is the garden which is so beautifully designed and relaxing. The breakfast was much better than some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in around the world, thank you for a truly great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but second floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much Team for the lovely review! we loved your company and hope we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The couple who run this B&B are so kind and accommodating. The rooms are nicely decorated as well as comfortable and clean. They have thought of everything from books to read, movies, a stocked kitchen and yummy breakfasts with an opportunity to meet other travelers or just have a conversation with the hosts. The view is also spectacular. The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood on the top of a hill above all the hustle and bustle of Kaikoura's main street. This was a great place to spend a few days of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itzme52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for the great compliments, was wonderful to meet you both! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
350 reviews
1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
7.3 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: $172 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin Heights is situated on the Kaikoura Peninsula where it is peaceful and commands a stunning Panoramic view of the Kaikoura Mountain ranges, Pacific Ocean & Coastline. Only a five minute drive from the town center and all local attractions. Like the Whale-watch, Dolphin & Seal Encounters, handy to the beautiful Peninsula Coastal walkway & the Seal Colony. Lovely, spacious & sunny, apartments with a lovely decor, excellent quality beds. Opening directly out onto a long balcony with a Panoramic view of the Mountains & Pacific Ocean. Own kitchenette, fridge, microwave, tea & fresh plunger coffee facilities. Private entrances & parking space. Austin Heights is surrounded in prize-winning Gardens. Lynne & John your friendly Kiwi Hosts have 18 years experience running their B&B and will make you welcome to Austin Heights. A continental & cooked breakfast is included in tariff. Free WIFI. Complimentary pick-up & deliver to the bus or train with prior notice. Laundry facilities available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing