We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austin Heights is Amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 16, 2012

In all of our travels it would be very, very hard to find a place that is more welcoming, clean, light and friendly. I cannot speak highly enough of Lynn & John and as for the views from the rooms and dinning room, just breathtaking. Then there is the garden which is so beautifully designed and relaxing. The breakfast was much better than some of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in around the world, thank you for a truly great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but second floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much Team for the lovely review! we loved your company and hope we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 88 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! The couple who run this B&B are so kind and accommodating. The rooms are nicely decorated as well as comfortable and clean. They have thought of everything from books to read, movies, a stocked kitchen and yummy breakfasts with an opportunity to meet other travelers or just have a conversation with the hosts. The view is also spectacular. The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood on the top of a hill above all the hustle and bustle of Kaikoura's main street. This was a great place to spend a few days of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itzme52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for the great compliments, was wonderful to meet you both! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful spot with great proprietors. We arrived later on an overcast day and found the place quite easily. The Proprietors, who are a lovely and accommodating couple, helped us to feel at home instantly and even upgraded our room (based on availability). The next morning we stepped out onto the terrace to an amazing sight...you could see the whole bay with the open see, green steppe, and snow-capped peaks. Just amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Hi Jon & Hui, great to meet you both. Thank you for the lovely remarks on TripAdvisor on your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Austin Heights. A room upgrade and complimentary drink on arrival was much appreciated and a lovely way to start our weekend.
Thanks to Lynn and John for their recommendations, and amazing breakfasts in the morning! We had plenty of energy to burn enjoying the attractions Kaikoura has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you Hayley & Nick for your wonderful remarks, see you in Christchurch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Austin Heights was our first stay in our two weeks travel in the South Island of NZ, and it started this unique and very memorable experience. The room we stayed in was very spacious, comfortable and well equipped. John and Lynne, the hosts, were very kind and helpful. If by any chance we will visit Kaikoura a second time, Austin Heights will still be our first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you both for the lovely review, much appreciated & makes it all worth while. Take care & all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely friendly hosts. Clean and comfortable rooms. Highly recommended, awesome stay.
Can't wait to go back next year for the Seafood Festival and I will be staying with you again every time I am in your area. Thank you for making my visit as wonderful and special as can be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you Rose for the lovely review! We will look forward to meeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just perfect! The location, the rooms, the service, we were all satisfied! And We had breadfast in the hosts living room, it made us feel warm and comfortable. We will choose the hotel when we visit Kaikoura again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicelee4505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heights99, Owner at Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

It was so lovely to meet you both and so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much. All the best to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
349 reviews
1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
7.3 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Austin Street | Kaikoura Peninsula, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: $161 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin Heights is situated on the Kaikoura Peninsula where it is peaceful and commands a stunning Panoramic view of the Kaikoura Mountain ranges, Pacific Ocean & Coastline. Only a five minute drive from the town center and all local attractions. Like the Whale-watch, Dolphin & Seal Encounters, handy to the beautiful Peninsula Coastal walkway & the Seal Colony. Lovely, spacious & sunny, apartments with a lovely decor, excellent quality beds. Opening directly out onto a long balcony with a Panoramic view of the Mountains & Pacific Ocean. Own kitchenette, fridge, microwave, tea & fresh plunger coffee facilities. Private entrances & parking space. Austin Heights is surrounded in prize-winning Gardens. Lynne & John your friendly Kiwi Hosts have 18 years experience running their B&B and will make you welcome to Austin Heights. A continental & cooked breakfast is included in tariff. Free WIFI. Complimentary pick-up & deliver to the bus or train with prior notice. Laundry facilities available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing