We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Austin Heights Scenic Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Panorama Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
74
12
5
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
12
5
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bowners johnnew zealandpier restaurantan ironbeautiful gardensouthern alpswonderful hostspeninsula walkwayyogurton arrivalbeautiful roomfur sealscomfortable roomsmade us feel at homewonderful staystunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 94 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at Austin heights in January and Lynne and John were great hosts. Their house and garden are beautiful and it is a very relaxing place to stay. Lovely comfortable bedroom, great views and excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Studio bedroom on first floor looking down to the sea over roof tops - enjoyed the bottle of beer and small bottle of wine - complimentary from the fridge.
Room and bathroom very clean and well furnished.
Unfortunately the way down to the restaurantsand esplanade is down a very rough vertiginous track- not for the feint hearted especially in the evening and certainly requires a taxi for the return journey.
Hosts very friendly and continental breakfast average

Room Tip: higher the better
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at Austin Heights yesterday for one night. We were made welcome and felt part of the family as soon as we arrived.

The room on the upper floor was definitely 5 star and little touches such as complimentary items and free wi-fi probably pushed it higher than this.

Our hosts John and Lynne were delightful and helpful with suggestions for eating out or suggesting nearby activities, or sites to visit.

The view from the upper verandah where our room was situated was stunning and with the quiet background of this property which is outside the main area of Kaikoura it made for a very comfortable and relaxing end to a busy day driving, whale watching and sightseeing.

Thanks John and Lynne for sharing your house with us.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor balcony rooms if possible. These are up a flight of steps but the views are worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinandDiane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in mid October in the ground-floor self contained apartment. Lynn & John have created a wonderful B&B and are obviously very thoughtful in what they do for their guests. A nice welcome touch was provision of some wine, beer and milk in the fridge and chocs too! We were the only guests but enjoyed Lynn's company over breakfast & John later in the day. The room was very comfortable and views stunning. One of our best B&B stays in NZ.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubascubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We recently toured NZ for the Rugby World Cup & booked this stay prior to a Whale Watching trip the following day. We were given a self contained apartment on the lower floor of the house, which was ideal & had everything we needed for our one night stay. The views from this place are absoultely stunning, you could never get tired of staring out of the window. Kaikoura is a beautiful place & would be in the top 3 of where we would want to live if we were to move to NZ. John & Lynn were both very welcoming & provided a great breakfast & friendly conversation & advice for our onward journey. We rarely stay in B&B's, but these became the highlight of our stay, all down to the friendly & welcoming nature of the likes of John & Lynn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren_Vicky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews