We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura
Ranked #12 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in Kaikoura! Very homey and inviting for those who want to stay in a Kiwi home instead of a more impersonal hotel. Owner Margaret is a delight (ask to browse the book about her life) as well as her daughters who also take care of travelers. Old farmhouse, but extremely clean and nicely furnished. Best breakfast in New Zealand with a stunning view when the weather is clear. If you like gardens and flowers, you will really enjoy this lovely home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakertraveler38237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have enjoyed several great B &Bs in NZ. But Bayview Homestay was special. It is as the name suggests, a "homestay".

Sitting in her sunny kitchen, overlooking riot of colorful flowers, we enjoyed Grandma Margaret's (she's 84) homemade "everything" ... fruit preserves, bread, yogurt, even her own backyard eggs. Over steaming morning coffee, we shared recipes and hilarious stories about chooks (chickens) and eggs.... it felt like home.

We were nearing the end of a 21 day journey, quite tired but completely contented.
Thank you Margaret and Nicky.

We will always have fond memories of Kaikoura, especially when we read "Life of Mar", Margaret's story.

Michelle and Mario
Singapore

Btw: I appreciated how the bathroom was carefully planned for wheelchairs (being spacious), with stools in shower areas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It is very interesting reading the mixed reviews on the website. I think if you stay here you have to realise that it is a B&B in somebody's home and not a private unit. Having said that, the guest part of the house has its own lounge and back entrance plus a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities and a washing machine. I found the bedroom and bathroom very clean and the bed super comfortable. The family are all very friendly and helpful. The garden setting is beautiful and the breakfasts are the best we had during the whole trip. They don't take too many guests so you don't feel overwhelmed with other people. I enjoyed their Kiwi hospitality and tips on places to eat, etc. You can pay an awful lot more in Kaikoura. I was originally booked in somewhere much more posh but they pulled the pin on our booking with very little notice so I was very grateful to Margaret and Nicky for being able to accommodate us. A highlight for us was being able to cut through on Tom's Track to the peninsular walk and Dempseys Track to the seal colony walk from the house. You can also walk down to the Pier Hotel and the Green Dolphin restaurant using Dempseys track. Another track via Ward Street took you down to the Seafood BBQ place. I enjoyed being out of town a little but it is only about 10 minutes to drive in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately I have to agree with other reviews that this accommodation is very out dated and needs some improvements to justify the cost. Location is good, a wonderful view of the bay, the garden is impressive but the accommodation is below par compared to all the other home stays and b&bs we used during our 3 week stay on the South Island.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruisliptravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Bayview for 1 night in January 2014. We had booked this place after reading the spectacular reviews but we were disappointed. The room was very small and didn't feel clean. There were some leftover hair in the ensuite bathroom(presumably from someone staying there before us.)
While the hosts were very nice and friendly, we did not think this B&B was worth the money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hereigoagain54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Located at the end of the peninsula, this place is perfect for the ever changing views of Kaikoura's landscape. We also went for a hike/walk to the seal colony from this place, gorgeous view!
We stayed two nights at Margaret's and she and her family was ever accommodating. Breakfast was great too, with goodies coming from her own garden - which is very well tended by the way.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had planned and booked a Whale Watch trip in Kaikoura during our trip round the South Island and was looking for somewhere to stay just for a couple of nights. After reading several TA reviews for this Homestay decided to give it a go and was so glad we did.
On our arrival Margaret and Nicky made us so welcome and was just like being back home.
The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. They have a nice view from their drive and their garden is a must see providing them with a lot of their own food for themselves and a home grown breakfast for their guests which I must add was delicious.
I would certainly recommend this Homestay for anyone looking for a home from home homestay and should we return sometime in the future to visit Kaikoura we will certainly be stopping here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JORO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura

Address: 296 Scarborough Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: $58 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Woodill is the classic Kiwi grandmother and thinks nothing of getting up at 5.30 am to cook a full breakfast including homemade bread before your whale watching or dolphin swimming trip in Kaikoura, New Zealand. She’s lived in her Kaikoura peninsula home with its sweeping views of sea and mountains since 1934. She began taking in passing travellers over 20 years ago, just before the whales and dolphins turned the township into a tourist Mecca. When her four children left home, opening a bed and breakfast seemed a logical use for spare bedrooms and bathrooms. Since husband Bob’s death in 1999, Margaret says guests are her family and that’s why she calls it a HOMESTAY rather than a B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing