We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura
Ranked #11 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
warwickshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Thank you Margaret and Nicky for making us feel so welcome in your home

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetheyerkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We felt at home and the views from the house are stunning! Extras like laundry faciliies, and Margaret's lovely garden is a delight. Excellent value for money. Home made bread and produce for breakfast too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony276mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I enjoyed a one-night stay in the Bay View and it was great. The breakfast was very filling. The fireplace was on when I walked in. I got a great night's sleep- no complaints and it was all for an affordable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnJamesFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed at the Bayview Homestay for a week, it was a prize find. Margaret and Nicky are the best B&B hosts I've ever come across, very caring and happy with a great sense of humour, it was a delight to stay with them in their comfortable and very clean home, I could not have asked for more, if I had they probably would have fulfilled the request.

All rooms have their own bathroom which are pristine, clean towels seem to appear very regularly. The breakfast is a treat with the best muesli (put together by Margaret) and homegrown fruits along with homemade bread made by Margaret which was very yummy slathered with homemade marmalade, Margaret is really an amazing lady with more energy and get up and go than someone half her age. Chooks out the back who are very happy as they produce the best eggs and all wood for the wood burners cut personally by Margaret, fabulous place, great people and brilliant value for money.

Please discount all negative comments already posted here, they just do not apply!!!

Room Tip: The single room actually has a double bed and its own bathroom (not ensuite but spacious and lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

To run a B&B, you need: 1) a nice garden, 2) a friendly personality, 3) clean, comfortable rooms. Bayview meets all the criteria and more. Nicki and Margaret were perennially cheerful. Guest rooms are in another part of the house which afforded some privacy. Breakfast was a yummy fry up with eggs collected from the chickens in the backyard coop. Nicki was able to come get me / drop me off at the bus station in town (and reminded me twice about daylight savings!) Otherwise, it was a pleasant 20-25 minute walk (easy downhill walk but a bit of a workout coming back up the hill) after a long day out. Would definitely recommend the Swimming with Dolphins activity - an unforgettable experience. Kaikoura itself is a quaint town with one main road but Bayview was a convenient place to stay, even without a car.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drouin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We would definately stay again the hosts were absolutely brilliant,really nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Flats, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed overnight with these lovely people in a lovely home at a great location. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RailfanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.8 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Brook House B&B & Cottages
#10 of 32 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nikau Lodge
Nikau Lodge
#4 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
6.1 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura

Property: Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura
Address: 296 Scarborough Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Woodill is the classic Kiwi grandmother and thinks nothing of getting up at 5.30 am to cook a full breakfast including homemade bread before your whale watching or dolphin swimming trip in Kaikoura, New Zealand. She’s lived in her Kaikoura peninsula home with its sweeping views of sea and mountains since 1934. She began taking in passing travellers over 20 years ago, just before the whales and dolphins turned the township into a tourist Mecca. When her four children left home, opening a bed and breakfast seemed a logical use for spare bedrooms and bathrooms. Since husband Bob’s death in 1999, Margaret says guests are her family and that’s why she calls it a HOMESTAY rather than a B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing