We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay-view Homestay Kaikoura
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kaikoura
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Panorama Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
67
14
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
14
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher daughterhomemade jamsown gardenwood burnerb and bfree range chickenpleasant stayyogurtstunning viewsmargaretbayviewnickyguests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 87 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I enjoyed a one-night stay in the Bay View and it was great. The breakfast was very filling. The fireplace was on when I walked in. I got a great night's sleep- no complaints and it was all for an affordable price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnJamesFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed at the Bayview Homestay for a week, it was a prize find. Margaret and Nicky are the best B&B hosts I've ever come across, very caring and happy with a great sense of humour, it was a delight to stay with them in their comfortable and very clean home, I could not have asked for more, if I had they probably would have fulfilled the request.

All rooms have their own bathroom which are pristine, clean towels seem to appear very regularly. The breakfast is a treat with the best muesli (put together by Margaret) and homegrown fruits along with homemade bread made by Margaret which was very yummy slathered with homemade marmalade, Margaret is really an amazing lady with more energy and get up and go than someone half her age. Chooks out the back who are very happy as they produce the best eggs and all wood for the wood burners cut personally by Margaret, fabulous place, great people and brilliant value for money.

Please discount all negative comments already posted here, they just do not apply!!!

Room Tip: The single room actually has a double bed and its own bathroom (not ensuite but spacious and lovely).
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

To run a B&B, you need: 1) a nice garden, 2) a friendly personality, 3) clean, comfortable rooms. Bayview meets all the criteria and more. Nicki and Margaret were perennially cheerful. Guest rooms are in another part of the house which afforded some privacy. Breakfast was a yummy fry up with eggs collected from the chickens in the backyard coop. Nicki was able to come get me / drop me off at the bus station in town (and reminded me twice about daylight savings!) Otherwise, it was a pleasant 20-25 minute walk (easy downhill walk but a bit of a workout coming back up the hill) after a long day out. Would definitely recommend the Swimming with Dolphins activity - an unforgettable experience. Kaikoura itself is a quaint town with one main road but Bayview was a convenient place to stay, even without a car.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We would definately stay again the hosts were absolutely brilliant,really nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed overnight with these lovely people in a lovely home at a great location. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RailfanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews