We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Brook House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Brook House”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at Brook House in July 2013 and had a great experience. Judy is very easy going, welcoming and gave us great tips for our travels. The rooms are simple but fantastic value for money. Loved it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis201, Owner at Brook House B&B & Cottages, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again. Kind regards Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comblanchien, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We usually use motels but for this trip to Kaikoura, my wife and I thought : "Why not a Bed and Breakfast?"
What a great idea, and how lucky we have been to find Judy and her dog Charlie!

We had booked the bedroom n°3, and she offered us to stay in the n°2 with our own bathroom. Who on earth is so generous with tourists?

We had a great night, a nice view when we woke up, and a marvelous breakfast.
Congratulations for your muffins Judy!

I agree that the TV in the bedroom would be great.
However, we will be back there for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

nice B&B, nice owner, the room is clean big and very nice! free wi-fi internet and parking! the breakfast was great and we had a very nice stay! I'd surely stay there again if got the change. the only small point is that there is no tv in the room, but the balcony has a great view! the bathroom is outside the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. The owner, Judy, was very nice and helpful - give us a lot of advice to make our trip extremely interesting.
The bed is comfortable.
The breakfast is well prepared with a variety of cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and breads for toast. The muffin made by Judy is definitely a big plus! very delicious!
We brought 2 cray fish back from our fishing trip. Judy is so kind to help us cook and cut.
We had a very very pleasant stay in Brook House B&B.
We definitely recommend this B&B.
Thanks Judy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a very late check in at 10 pm, the host was welcoming but she mentioned that none of our requests and notes made through agoda were passed on to her. Our requests were late check in and check out plus one extra bed. At the end she did accommodate all of our requests although the miscommunication did disappoint us a bit. We actually live in christchurch, but having made the booking through agoda gave her an impression that we are foreigners thus she used the sentence "here in new zealand..." quite a bit. The room was small but ok for us, the extrabed is actually a sofa bed in the connected 'living room', no tv in the room. The shower was inside the bedroom, the toilet is ensuite. The cleanliness is superb. breakfast is provided and homemade chocolate muffin is yummy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aastari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We only stayed the one night and were the only guests. The owner Judy was off travelling in Cambodia and had left the B&B in the charge of two young Canadian tourists who did a great job. The narrow staircase up to the room was a bit of a challenge but the bed was comfortable and you have the run of a large modern, well equipped kitchen and a large lounge. Being the only guests, we didn't have to compete for the fresh muffins on arrival and could help ourselves to tea and coffee (plunger). As mentioned by others, a comprehensive continental breakfast is set out early in the morning with a variety of cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and breads for toast. If you wanted a hot breakfast you always cook it yourself if you bought the makings the day before. We had a vehicle so the short drive into town didn't concern us. On the recommendation of the managers we had dinner at The Whaler - a good sirloin steak was on special for NZ$15.50 and was great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrior11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The landlady, Judy, has a very good set up at Brook House leading to a nice relaxing atmosphere. We arrived and found our key waiting for us next to our names on the guest board for that day and a message to let ourselves in. A lovely room with stunning views of the mountains to the rear and a veranda outside the bedroom to sit in the sun and take it all in. Alternatively you can sit in the garden which is also a sun trap. Judy seems to be constantly baking fresh muffins and no sooner is one batch put out then they just disappear and another batch is set off - get in there quickly as they are lovely! There is plenty of coffee/tea etc to help yourself to and whilst breakfast is continental, there is a good choice of cereals, yoghurts and fruit salad (made fresh each day) Plenty of off road parking outside the house and whilst close to the main road, there is very little traffic noise. Judy also works for the Whale Watching company and will book your trip if you let her know in advance

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room at the rear for the views. Not all rooms are en-suite so if required spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House B&B & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House B&B & Cottages

Property: Brook House B&B & Cottages
Address: 201 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook House B&B & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Judy and her 'team' - Charlie (the poodle) and Henry (the cat)- welcome you to their home - come and relax at Brook House. Enjoy kiwi hospitality, comfy beds and cosy rooms. Bed & Breakfast in the house but 2 self catering cottages are now also available. Snpectacular mountain views from a peaceful rural setting just off State Highway 1. All this is just 2 km from the town centre and Whale Watch. See you in Kaikoura! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brook House B&B & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing