We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments, great veiws.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent apartments, great veiws.”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed for one night and it was a great spot, we would have liked to stay longer. Very smart, clean and well furnished with all the amenities that you would need. The view from the balcony is a picture postcard. Nice friendly hosts. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrys_crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Across the road from the beach. Cozy, kitchen, comfortable and spacious. Good location, you can walk to the downtown area for restaurants and groceries if you want. Management was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodhi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

After a fairly long drive from Christchurch we were looking forward to putting our feet up and from the moment we were greeted by the owner, we knew we would be looked after. While only staying one night, all our expectations were met from the friendly and very helpful advice given on where to eat including details on our whale watching trip. Our room was very clean and the size and facilities provided were better than expected, certainly far better than initial sight suggested.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I was looking for somewhere stylish to stay in Kaikoura, and this didn't fit the bill, but we got a good deal and I came to really appreciate the facilities this motel offers. Space, (partial) views of the sea, washer/dryer (very useful 2 weeks into a trip, and washing powder provided), well-stocked kitchen area, big balcony & quiet bedroom. Was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Booked a room that I knew wouldn't have a sea view., But the "studio" was right at the back ot the hotel, behind the office, and absolutely tiny - not enough room for us to unpack our bags. I was so disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

The Waterfront Apartments are in an excellent location. The sunset and views from our balcony was unbelievable as Kaikoura is one of the more picturesque locations on our tour of New Zealand. Kaikoura itself had a very quaint, small town feel that was enjoyable. Our hosts were very helpful. They suggested a wonderful restaurant - White Morph - and it was one of the best places we've eaten on our whole trip. The apartment itself was well stocked. The kitchen seemed brand new and had a combination washer/dryer, which was convenient as we were in the middle of our two week trip. The actual linens were dated, but the whole place was clean and very spacious. This place is probably more appropriate for a family as there was an extra room with two twin beds we didn't even use. It was a lot of space for just a couple but we would recommend it all the same.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I only stayed the one night, having arrived in the late afternoon to find my room wasn't quite ready, but it was very quickly finished off. I was warmly greeted by Mandy, her husband was away for a few days and she could not have been more helpful. The hospitality here is second to none. I was given an extensive map of the area and all the best places to go and eat were clearly marked. She also ringed a few places of interest for me to go and see and directed me where and when I needed to be the following morning to go whale watching. Nothing was too much trouble. I liked that, because it makes your stay so much more fulfilling.

The apartments are right on the main esplanade, within walking distance of the restaurants. A short drive in the oppsoite direction will take you past the seafood barbeque and on towards the local seal reserve.

The apartments themselves are well furnished in a modern style and very clean and well presented. The suspect the fixtures and fittings though have been done on quite a tight budget, but unless you work within the furniture industry you wouldn't honestly know as the overall effect looks very classy.

Overall, I would highly recommend a stay here if you're stopping in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Hampton's Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#14 of 32 in Kaikoura
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments
Address: 126 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, modern 1 and 2 bedroom courtyard or balcony apartments with stunning sea and mountain views. Only 50 metres to the beach, 100 metres to Dolphin Encounter, Albatross Encounter, award winning cafes and restaurants and a 2 minute drive to Watch Watch and town. Located on the sea edge of the famous Peninsula Walk. Executive double spa bath, access and family apartments. Apartments all have a fully self-contained kitchen (stove top, oven, rangehood, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, plunger coffee machine), in-room laundry (washer/dryer), 50+ channels on SKY LCD TV, wireless Internet access, super king and twin bedrooms, double glazing, air conditioning/heat pumps, electric blankets, hairdryer, alarm clocks, a private balcony or a private gated courtyard to enjoy the views, indoor and outdoor dining settings, free on-site parking. .Continental breakfasts available for purchase. 2 Studio units with kitchenette, ensuite, Queen or King bed, 50+ Sky channels at complex rear - perfect for a quiet restful overnighter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Apartments Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing