We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect location if you want to go whale watching in kaikoura. The apartments are on the waterfront and we had a lovely view from the first floor. Mandy gave us great advice about what to do in the area and where to find the best places to eat. She also suggested we visit the baby seal waterfall as we headed north and that was the best thing we did while in nz. The apartments themselves have everything you need. One problem is the wifi. You have to pay for it and even then you can only connect to it on a very clear day if you are standing on the balcony holding your phone in the air.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nilante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great little place to stay. We stayed one night and the apartment was very clean and had all you needed for a self catering holiday (although we did eat out - the owner recommended the Green Dolphin. Fantastic food and service. Need to book) Definitely do the Peninsular walk taking in Fyffe House which was the first whaling station in Kaikoura, built on whale bones and is where the first Maori arrived. This is where Maori and European met for the first time.

Room Tip: I would think an upstairs room would give you a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent accommodation.. The 2 bedroomed apartment was exceptionally well fitted out and very clean. All apartments provide a side/diagonal view to the sea. The best views are provided by the top/1st floor rooms.. The accommodation is well placed being just away from the high street with its cafes and fast food outlets but within easy walking distance. Just a few minutes drive to the Whale Watch Tour Centre. We ate at the Green Dolphin Restaurant - see BDR report

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David2Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Great welcome. Fantastic, well appointed, apartment with all mod-cons and very comfortable bed. Great water outlook including sunrise. Well placed for a casual stroll to cafe/pub. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Azzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Thank you so much for the last 3 nights ( Jan 24th to 27th 2014 ). We have been truly spoiled .We had a 2 bedroomed apartment with so much space Our apartment was immaculate and beautifully furnished. Good to have sole use of a washing machine.The balcony area was spacious with lovely sea views. What a beautiful location and so much to do. We went on the dolphin encounter expecting to see a few dusky dolphins, there were HUNDREDS !!!!! I was quite overcome. What a way to see these beautiful creatures in their own surroundings. I will never forget it. Mandy was an excellent and extremely knowledgeable host, with an infectious personality. Such a lovely lady.We were given several recommendations for places to visit and went on an awesome afternoon trip to Kaikoura Lavender Farm and Gardens. Don't miss a visit to Kaikoura peninsula. The views are spectacular, honest. Thanks again for a memorable stay. Hope to return one day.Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight to visit the Seal Colony...had a two bedroom apartment which was very comfortable..beds were good, kitchen was great even though we ate out at the Thai restaurant in town ( which was awesome). Beautiful and clean and the managers were lovely...especially loved the visit from their resident cat..x He must have know I was missing my cats so he let me give him a big cuddle...would Definately come back again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gayle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

To be honest. This wasn't our first choice, but am I glad we stayed here !! The owners (Mandy.. forgive me if I don't have the name right) were absolutely wonderful. In fact helped us find great restaurants, must see places including a suggestion to have lavender honey ice-cream at the Lavender gardens and a Seaside barbecue serving grilled crayfish and prawns. we stayed here between January 1-3, 2014 (room 206).

The apartment itself was a beautiful 2 bedroom apartment, with large balcony where you could sip some wine while watching the sea and the mountains, functional kitchenette, cozy bedrooms and best of all lots of TV channels for the kids. I would recommend this place to any family with kids.

There is no swimming pool or fitness centre. But who needs one with an ocean in front and beautiful beach side running places :)

All the best to the owners and thanks for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: You need to pre-order breakfast. So remember to do that the night before. Else there are some wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hampton's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments
Address: 126 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, modern 1 and 2 bedroom courtyard or balcony apartments with stunning sea and mountain views. Only 50 metres to the beach, 100 metres to Dolphin Encounter, Albatross Encounter, award winning cafes and restaurants and a 2 minute drive to Watch Watch and town. Located on the sea edge of the famous Peninsula Walk. Executive double spa bath, access and family apartments. Apartments all have a fully self-contained kitchen (stove top, oven, rangehood, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, plunger coffee machine), in-room laundry (washer/dryer), 50+ channels on SKY LCD TV, wireless Internet access, super king and twin bedrooms, double glazing, air conditioning/heat pumps, electric blankets, hairdryer, alarm clocks, a private balcony or a private gated courtyard to enjoy the views, indoor and outdoor dining settings, free on-site parking. .Continental breakfasts available for purchase. 2 Studio units with kitchenette, ensuite, Queen or King bed, 50+ Sky channels at complex rear - perfect for a quiet restful overnighter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Apartments Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing