We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Kiwiana”
Review of Clearwater Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater Motel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Classic kiwiana .. great location and awesome views .. nice and quiet away from the town but close enough if you want anything .. clean, comfortable and the host is very welcoming and friendly and happy to share useful tips for the area .. and the price is great given the views .. made for a great weekend away .. thanx so much Chrissy :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chook004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 20 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Uninterrupted views of the sea and the Kaikoura mountain range from a double waterfront unit.

The unit itself was dated, but it is classic Kiwiana. (Think of a well-worn bach near a beach with a great view). It has the basics if you are staying on your way through the town - heater, electric blanket, microwave, fridge, small CRT TV. No hairdryer in the room, minimal toiletries in the bathroom, no milk in the fridge (didn't care - if not having milk ruins your travelling experiences then stay home).

Having wooden floors meant that there was some noise from the family next door but had a good night’s sleep listening to the sea. Bathroom was clean (no bath) and bed was comfy. Motel is very close to the beachfront pool, a few cafes and restaurants along the road; it's an easy 10 minute walk along the beach to the centre of Kaikoura.

Owners were friendly and accommodating - thanks for the extras.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband I travelled through out the South Island during our holiday and stayed at many motels during the months of January 2011.
Our stay in Kaikoura was very enjoyable. There was much to do and see during our stay there. We stayed at the Clearwater Motels for 2 nights and we really did enjoy our stay at this motel. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean. The beds were great as this motel was not modern but the price was reasonable considering we had a view of the Ocean and mountains from our room.We had several meals at the Seafood BBQ which is near the Seal colony which were really cheap and also fresh. If you enjoy Seafood then this is the place to eat in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boub B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

If you are into a motels that have WiFi, 40+ channels of SkyTV, hottubs, then go stay there!!!... The Clearwater is like a favourite pair of jeans or shoes, that no matter how tatty they appear, you feel good in them, it is a classic 1950's bohemian feeling New Zealand motel... yeah sure, the garden needs a tidy up, and first impression you think it is a soviet style gulag, but the old saying is, don't judge a book by it's cover and this is an old NZ book from way back, rustic charm is the word a real estate person would use, functional is another that springs to mind, it has Freeveiw TV (with SBS as well), shower is damned hot! (40 gallon hot water cylinder for those who like 1 hour showers), the usual kettle, toaster, fridge, the owners Roy and Bon are not into blowing hot air, they are laid back (not don't give a toss) but laid back in way where they treat you for you and not what you do people, Bon has the units spotless, you won't catch anything nasty in the place, unless you picked up abit at a local pub for alittle slap and tickle, location spoton !, if you are staying in unit 3, you have one of the best views of Kaikoura, walking distance to the Commercial Hotel (Brighton St), stroll down to the swimming pool turn right out the gate, walk for 3 minutes and you will fall into the pool, basically it is slap bang in the centre of Kaikoura. This motel is not for people who whinge, it is catering for the piece of the market that is sadly forgotten in this day, it screams low cost, clean, safe for target market mum and dad with 2 kids, dad making 38k, driving a Toyota station wagon, who is on stuggle street, but not flat broke, and the backpacker on a self drive, yes pictures can be decieving, but it is a place where I will stay again, and I would say alot of other Kiwis would stay at, for that economical, back to basics, roof over your head..... if you are yearning to just have a classic holiday like you did when you were a child, well the Clearwater is it...... enjoy.... PS leave your laptop, cellphone at home ok....trust me

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Initially attracted to this Motel via www.ratestogo.com, based on location, price and a photo which turned out to be a little deceptive in the way it was cropped.

On arriving at the Motel, our reaction was to continue driving and look for other options. This is an aged hodge podge of buildings masquerading as a motel complex. It is more a collection of functional seaside batches on a very open section, than a motel.

As we had booked for 2 nights we returned for an inspection and were shown studio and double units. unrepaired broken windows were evident along with superficial attempts to freshen the place up by painting over aging wallpaper.

The male proprietor was initially welcoming, but was clearly expecting our reaction. His insistance that the motel standard was up to a 2 star rating is a cop out for laziness and a desire to get away with what he can with regards to unsuspecting travelers.

We refused to stay at the cost of one nights accomodation. Shortly after we departed we were interested to see one of the rooms offered to us, being advertised on roadside signage at a cheaper rate.

The Clearwater Motel is an embarrassment to the Kaikoura community and to the New Zealand tourisim industry.

DEFINITE NO GO.

Two star Motel - Yeah Right

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
1  Thank Lightwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This is the worst motel I have ever stayed at and it is way overpriced.
The rooms are old and shabby, the wallpaper is peeling off the walls, the couch was broken, the shower hardly worked at all.
There was no milk provided in the fridge which is usually expected. We were charged a lot of money for what we would expect to pay for a clean modern unit.
To top it off the owners were the rudest people I have ever some across.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwileigh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We booked to stay at this motel and drove past it. We couldn't bring ourselves to stay in such a shocking motel. My first thought was if I wanted to stay in a world war II bomb shelter I would sort consultation from the Army for places to stay. The internet had a nice photo showing the place. Lesson learnt never believe anything you see on web sites.
I actually would have preferred to stay in the car and I own a mini. Now what is worse is I rang to cancel and they still want the full night payment. This has put me off the town of Kaikoura.
MY ADVICE IS NEVER STAY AT CLEARWATER MOTEL KAIKOURA

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank sucks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Panorama Motel
Panorama Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Motel

Address: 168 Esplanade, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing