We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, great hotel managers!”
Review of Seaview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seaview Motel
Ranked #14 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, great hotel managers!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel managers were absolutely great, we didn't have a car and when they had time they would drop us in to town or the seal colony and even took us to a lookout. Would def stay there again and recommend to everyone I know!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
28
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Since we were arriving late and only needed a place to sleep for the night, we didnt want anything fancy and booked the backpacker deal with Seaview Motel. The room turned out to be more than what we expected and the location was excellent - right by the sea! The manager Roger had a great sense of humour and we'd like to thank him for recommedning us to go see the baby seals in Ohau Stream - it's definitely worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraSeaviews, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
What an ANGEL you are...Glad you enjoyed being part of the Seaview family for your fleeting visit..The seal pups is a must visit,and the good part its FREE,you are welcome to return home to stay with your new KIWI family,if you are ever back this way.All the best,ROGER & TRISH...THE CREW AT SEAVIEW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are two German tourists who had a wonderful time at Seaview Motel. The Unit was lovely, warm, inviting and clean. From our huge window we had an amazing view on the ocean and the snow covered mountains around. We even could hear the sea, when the waves were breaking at the beach. It was so peaceful!
Roger and Trish, the managers are lovely people, too. They treated us like royals and made us really feel at home.
We liked it so much at Seaview Motel, that we even stood longer than we had planed before.
Thank you a lot for this amazing holiday we could have with you. It was our highlight in New Zeeland and we will never forget it.
We would really recommend Seaview Motel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraSeaviews, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks Steffi & Simone,we enjoyed your company and time with us.It was worth the trip up to the seal pups,just to see your faces when the seals all came up to you.You must have shot hunreds of photo's up there..We are glad you felt treated as royals,but that is how we try to make all guests feel that choose us to stay with while in Kaikoura.Safe trip home,you girls are real kiwi's now,All the best from your new kiwi parents,Roger & Trish.........THE CREW AT SEAVIEW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

That's what holidays should be like. In this lovely Motel you have nice and super clean rooms for every size from double bed to a big apartment with 5 places to sleep for the whole family for a more than fair price. Ask for Apartment 1 (the crownsnest) there you stay at the first floor all on your own with a big window front with a beautiful seaview to watch the sunrise or sunset – it's like being in your own little world. Roger and Trish will make you feel more than welcome and know the area very well, so they can give you all the tips you need to explore Kaikoura. We'd definitely come back and stay there again, we had a fantastic time. Thanks Roger and Trish!!!

Room Tip: Crownsnest on the first floor with a beautiful seaview – it's like being in your own little worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraSeaviews, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks team Christian and Marina.Really enjoyed having you as part of our KIWI family for a few days.We both enjoyed your company,pity we couldn't talk you into getting married while you were here with us.Anything for a party!!!We hope you are enjoying the rest of your adventure around the country side,and wish you safe trip back to Germany.We already miss you guys.Come back any time....Roger & Trish,THE CREW AT SEAVIEW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked this on line because I wanted a view of the ocean and was traveling with overseas visitor, so wanted to show off Kaikoura. The motel is in an older style building.
The furnishings are tasteful though,and the unit we were in was very spacious and comfortable. All the things we needed were there, and good heating and amenities.
Great uninterrupted views of the ocean and can hear the waves crashing at night. (and day)
The host/manager Roger and his wife were very friendly in that lovely familiar Kiwi way, and really helpful about what to see and where to eat. Great hospitality, and that can be hard to find sometimes !!
Comfortable, warm, aspects of modern decor throughout, clean and Great views!!! Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNZfromCHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraSeaviews, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thankyou for your kind review,we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us.We treat all our guests the way we would like to be treated in a reverse situation,We have only been managing the complex four months,and by giving our guests the old fashioned kiwi welcome,our reviews have reflected this...We are just down to earth kiwi's,and wether local or interbational visitors,we want you to drive away at the end of your syay,with happy memories of your time ,not only at the Seaview,but with Kaikoura.Our repayment for our efforts,are the kind reviews from visitors such as yourselves,and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Regards Roger & Trish.....THE CREW AT SEAVIEW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Rock up from Christchurch 2 getaway from red zone checked out various motels from street frontage hey looks like this is us meaning me the wife and daughter called in meet the owners Roger and Trish this couple will make you more than welcome from the word go, trust and feeling welcome is where it starts. Advised what to see where to go and whats going down round this town ended up staying extra night. Super clean and tidy unit and superb ocean view. They tell me that they have only been in control for 5 months but i tell you this couple know there stuff you wont get any better than this for pricing and views wouldn't hesitate to stay again and as a bonus Roger may even give you a tip on the horses all the best guys Bevan, Michelle and Caley.

Room Tip: Top view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraSeaviews, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks Christchurch gang,we also enjoyed your company and friendship.Your visit was also enjoyed by us..Your review is appreciated,and because guests who enjoy their stay with us take the time to give us reviews,we are able to gauge areas we can improve,and satisfaction from oyhers that achieve our expected standards..You were great company,and we shared a similae warped sense of humour,and look forward to seeing you,and hearing from you again soon.
Regards your new mates at The Seaview,Roger & Trish''
PS...Couldn't find the $100 tip,or did you fotget to leave it??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We rolled into town in our big blue campervan during the worst storm in 20 years. Roger and Trish were more than accommodating to make sure we were comfortable. They even gave us candles when the power went out. The rooms were spotless and after a few days the weather cleared and the views of the ocean right across the road are incredible! We tried to stop by and stay here again but they didn't have any vacancies! Despite other super old, bad reviews I think that since Roger and Trish have been running the show they have really improved the place! Go for it! Cheers to them from Jackson and Timo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheredaheckarewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Brook House B&B & Cottages
#10 of 32 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
3.5 mi away
Wacky Stays
Wacky Stays
#13 of 32 in Kaikoura
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Motel

Property: Seaview Motel
Address: 164 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Motel ...If you want an enjoyable and memorable experience,thenthis is the place to stay.Sitated on the seafront only metres to the seashore on the Kaikoura Esplanade.With uninterrupted views of mountains and seaviews from 4 of our prime units,easy walking distance to shopping centre,bars & restaurants & Summer swimming pool.Your hosts Gordon & Donna,provide spotless and tidy accommodation,bookings for the many local activities(Whalewatching/Dolphin Encounters/Golf/Seal Encounters/Hiking Trails/Fishing Charters/you name it,we'll book it for you...Summer guest BBQ area,bring along your BBQ food and refreshments,...Or simply kick back in your unit or on the beach,and listen to the sound of the sea lapping away,and enjoy your glass of wine and just RELAX....We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Seaview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing