We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doubtful booking system at Waves” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaikoura Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doubtful booking system at Waves”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

We made a booking online at this place. The booking was confirmed and our visa card instantly debited prior to our stay. Then Waves sent an email cancellation telling us they were going to debit a cancellation fee. The web booking was made confirmed and paid for and then Waves emailed to cancelled our booking and charge us a cancellation fee. Bad management, bad booking system, bad goodwill. they could at least have contacted us by phone personally, said they had made a mistake and suggested alternate accomodation in Kaikoura. When questioned they said they would not charge a cancellation fee as they had "accidentally double booked?"..... Yeah right!! a new slogan for the beer people...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nowaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    49
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
157
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

We only had 2 nights here but we enjoyed the home from home quality of the accommodation everything was spotless and extremely comfortable.Liz and Damar are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble to them. I would not hesitate to recomment a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

beautiful spacious and very comfortable apartments. great location near centre of town. STUNNING views. good value for money. VERY welcoming and friendly hosts. highly recommend waves and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claireyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Waves Kaikoura would rate 10 Stars if that existed as a rating! Liz & Damer are amazing hosts, and we truly felt "at home" (actually better than "at home," given the views and set up and relaxing feel). The beds and pillows and towels are comfy, the shower pressure great, and all the appliances were top of the line. When we had difficulties figuring out the Washer/Dryer (which we did in every place we stayed in NZ), Damer was right there with a smile to explain the set up and how to make sure we got it going properly. Sounds easy, but in all of the places we stayed during our trip, Damer was the only one who really knew (and took the time to explain) how to work it.

This place is The Place to stay per TA, and with good reason. We would go back in a second with no hesitation (other than the long plane ride from San Francisco).

Our "Big Reason" for visiting Kaikoura was to swim with the dolphins..... that did not happen because of cold, windy, not fun to swim with dolphins type weather while there, but nonetheless, Kaikoura, and Catching the Wave at Waves Kaikoura was a major highlight of our 3 weeks in NZ. We stayed 2 nights, now wish it had been three (or longer, it is just such a great "chill" spot).

Also, they have a cool cat who is curious and fun and made us feel right at home since we were missing our cat (though I am sure the cat would stay away if preferred - very cool, friendly kitty, if you like cats).

Don't miss the amazing hike around the peninsula, and of course the famous lobster.

Have fun while there!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Lovely spacious appartment with kitchenette, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher and everything you need eg washing powder, milk, etc provided. Free wifi. My only criticism was that there was quite a noise at night as it is on a busy road.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

This was the first time in our travels that we stayed in an apartment and if this is the standard of all serviced apartments, we're not likely to stay at 4 or 5* hotels again. Everything was immaculate and all our likely needs thought of. There were only 2 of us, but the flat itself had enough room to sleep at least 5. The flat was fully equiped with a washer/ dryer and dish washer and the kitchen had clean dishes and utensils - just like it would be if I were at home.
We've also been traveling in NZ for a week by the time we arrived at the Waves and were making our way to Oz, so it was great to be able to wash and dry our clothes; there was a selection of DVDs to borrow for free at the office and the living room was equipped with a nice tv, DVD player and stereo. Again, much like one would have at home, thereby making it easy to relax and feel at home. The balcony itself was just screaming for a proper sit down with a cup of tea or a cold beer while one gets lost in the stunning view of the ocean and the mountains behind the waves. Heaven!
If you take a right outside the complex and follow the path, you'll get to where the seals are and there are some food shacks along the road that are hygienic and serve excellent seafood. If you take a left outside the complex, there's the town where you'll surprisingly find most everything you want and need for your visit, despite the small size.
People in general are warm and friendly and Liz and Damer are just lovely.
By the way, we went to Kaikoura for the sole purpose of seeing whales. Unfortunately,we happened to be there when the weather was so inclement that we were on the only boat that managed to sail that day; most everyone got seasick because of the violent waves and worse, we did not get to see whales after all that, which only happens in extreme circumstances (such as this, obviously). Although we were greatly disappointed, our enjoyable stay in Kaikoura and on the Waves on the Esplanade saved what would have been a disastrous leg of the trip otherwise.
NB: the whale watching company handled everything very professionally while we were on the boat getting sick and while we were queuing for our partial refunds for not seeing whales that we would have gotten on another boat to try and see whales again had there been another one sailing that day.
Thanks Liz and Damer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalBarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

What a place to stay, great views loverly apartment and great hosts .Thank you Liz and Damer for your hospitality .Mark&Debbie Ricketts.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdgricketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph
The White Morph
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Apartments
Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing