We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

What a beautiful apartment this was. Spotlessly clean, great layout, beautiful comfortable beds - couldn't fault it in any way! Many little touches that made us feel at home. Lovely to meet Liz who went out of her way to welcome us - thank you Liz. Stayed in the front apartment overlooking beautiful Kaikoura and watched the sun come up. This apartment will always be a favourite of ours in our memories of our trip to Kaikoura and of course we would only ever stay there again! Lyal, Pat and Tim Allen (Australia)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_AustraliaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    49
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
157
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had a great stay. It was Mums Birthday and when we came back from a day out there were Birthday presents for Mum and Dad ( birthday two days later ) and a surprise for us kids ( way too old to mention ) a game to keep us quiet. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

We are a group of squash players from Christchurch who play in the Kaikoura Masters Squash tournament and have done so for the last 3 yrs. We've stayed here evey time and would not go anywhere else. Liz and Damer could not have been more friendly and helpful, particularly this year when the Chch earthquake meant that some team members were a bit nervous and we needed to bring extra people along. Wow you guys are just fantastic and the apartments are always so lovely and clean and i just can't rate you highly enough.
Hopefully we will stay 3 nights next time, no more natural disasters :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

We couldn't have asked for a better place. Liz and Damar went the extra mile for Dave's 50th birthday, decorating with balloons and signs. They were also very helpful when asking for recommendations. Kairkoura is a beautiful place and the view from the spacious apartment was fantastic. Highly recommend the whale watch boat and a visit to the seal colony.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonville, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

We both stayed at Waves in the front apartment overlooking the Bay, a fabulous view and very well appointed apartment. Liz and Damar, the management, certainly go beyond their duties and are a pleasure to meet and deal with. Certainly recommend this apartment complex. There is no much to do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diablo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed at Waves for one night on a drive from Nelson to Christchurch. The host was very helpful, friendly and straight up told us (as we arrived in a Jusy camper) that we were at the top hotel in Kaikoura and what the price would be. Showed us the room after telling us the rate (which he discounted slightly for us as we would only use one of the two bedrooms in the apartment). The room was well set out, clean, comfortable beds. Full kitchen with anything we may have needed and bathroom. Great selection of television channels in the bedroom and lounge.
Our host was helpful with dinner suggestions and when we left, telling us the best place to get crayfish and see seals.
Great nights sleep, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrystleBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

The apartments are right on the waterfront about a 10 minute walk to the centre of Kaikoura. The apartments are very well furnished with everything you might need, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher etc. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The sunrise from our room was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Apartments
Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing