We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for Kaikoura if not bargain basement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed in two apartments as a group of nine of varying ages. Waves on the Esplanade does what it says on the tin: it's not a romantic cosy luxury hotel where you're pampered but an ideal place to base yourself when exploring Kaikoura. It's modern, very comfortable, clean and well appointed and all this comes at a bit of a premium over the competition. It's worth paying the extra though, we thought. The bedrooms are a good size as are the bathrooms and the lounges. The kitchens have everything you need and all the balconies overlook the sea. The beach is 30 seconds' walk across the road and the centre of Kaikoura is about ten minutes by foot. The owners are really helpful though have taken over relatively recently and their local knowledge is not highly developed (they recommended the pretty dire Sonic Bar down the road). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjsacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Kaikoura Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 412 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2009

We only had one night here and found the apartment really nice. spacious, clean, new, comfortable, and good location. Helpful owners, reasonably priced. Make sure you go for a walk to the seal colonies while in Kaikoura. We also indulged in the crayfish while here but it was nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottishsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We had a 1 night stay in apartment 11. The whole block of apartments are individually owned and then managed centrally. Our apartment had a good view of the beach and was very well fitted out with dishwasher, washer, dryer, two bathrooms. Very clean and modern and central location.

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank TravelbunnyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Алла Ш
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre les appartements en bord de route pour avoir une belle vue sur la mer.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank soizicPapeete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $167 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing