We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Recently spend 2 nights in Kaikoura and were very happy with Waves. It was very large, clean (had a washer/dryer with laundry soap) and nicely located just outside the main street area but great walking distance to some lovely restaurants. Especially liked Passione in town (fabulous pizza and salads) and the Green Dolphin. Also highly recommend the Kaikoura Whale watching boat expedition. Really well run and highly entertaining-we were lucky enough to see 2 whales, 1 shark, dolphins and seals. Also highly recommend doing the walk around the peninsula where you see all the seals lounging on the rocks-amazing!

Room Tip: no help with the luggage so either be prepared to bring your bag up some stairs or request a low flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21yearsinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 415 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed for one night but wished we had extended our stay for at least one more night at the Waves on the Esplanade and explored Kaikoura for longer - spectacular coastline, scenery, wildlife & nature walks/cycling. One day is just not enough.

The Waves although on the more expensive side of accommodation in Kaikoura, the apartments are extremely well equipped, well planned and in an excellent location. Mr & Mrs Farrell were extremely friendly, helpful & thoughtful - a fresh bottle of milk on arrival was such a nice touch! Will definitely return to stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room on the upper floors - there is a lift to help with luggage & access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arekaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were thrilled when we opened the door .... It was beautiful!! Mum is 86 with dodgy knees and there was a lift up to our unit which was wonderful! We both caught terrible colds in NZ and the manager Liz went out of her way for us. She sent up medicine and a bottle of scotch. Liz was a delight and really made us feel welcome.... Thank you Liz and hope to come back next year

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank helenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for one night in their ‘Luxury’ unit, which was apartment #1. The apartment had a lounge and dining area with open plan kitchen, as well as two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. It ended up being loads of space for the two of us. There were pleasant ocean views from the lounge and there was a large balcony attached as well. The apartment seemed well stocked with kitchen utensils, washing machine, ironing board, vacuum, etc. I’m not sure if I would call it a luxurious apartment, but it was reasonably well appointed and we were satisfied with our stay. The staff at the front desk (possibly the owners) were friendly and happy to give us tips for our short stay in Kaikoura. It is a very small town and we found that everywhere we wanted to go (i.e. local shops, dinner, Peninsula Walkway, Whale Watch office) was within 5-10 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ishan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 2 nights and it was perfect. The apartments are beautifully designed so that all of them have balconies looking out over the ocean. Our apartment was classy, clean and very well equipped. Kaikoura must be one of the most spectacular places in the world.

Room Tip: You'll hear the sea better if you have an apartment nearer to the esplanade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed three nights at Waves, Liz in reception welcoming and friendly. Great location, only 5 minutes walk from centre of town unless you feel like a nice dawdle and just take in the view of the mountains. Apartment we chose was spacious and had view of ocean and mountains, well maintained, absolutely spotless and great having washing machine and dryer, thought we wouldn't need to use them but did on our last night. We didn't cook but the kitchen was certainly well equipped if we felt inclined to do so. Recommend Waves on the Esplanade and if in Kaikoura again would stay there.

Room Tip: A higher floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (no 11) and it was fantastic. The views are mind-blowing and sitting having a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking snow capped mountains on one side and the sea on the other, in a peaceful, quiet, beautiful little town like Kaikoura is a perfect end to the day. Our apartment was perfectly appointed and we wanted for nothing. It was a short 7-10 minute walk to town for dinner and a little more the other direction to the seal colony and beautiful lookouts etc. Manager was delightful and helpful and little touches (hand crocheted doily tops to the hand painted little milk bottles...? What's not to love! : ) really made a difference. I can't wait to go back and next time I'll stay longer.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Puddingkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $198 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing