We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious accomodations but rude managers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We reserved a two bedroom suite and a couple hours before checking in, we received an email from the owners suggesting that we move to a single room at another hotel of lower quality. This was unacceptable to us. We reserved the two bedrooms for a reason. When we arrived, the owner and his wife were very cold and unfriendly to us,

I would also say that the furnishings are dated and of lower quality at this hotel. While spacious, it was definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WavesKaikoura, Owner at Kaikoura Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We are all human!! In this instance, only the second time in 5 years we found ourselves overbooked - an error for sure. We felt it best to be honest and upfront rather than waiting for the guests to arrive. It is easier to move 2 people than a family so I found alternative accommodation of the same 5 star standard and approached these guests first (being 1 of 2 couples checking in for 1 night only) to enquire if a move (to a choice of 2 places - both 5 star) would be acceptable. They had booked one of our 2 less expensive apartments with lesser views and were offered an 'upgrade' view wise. I received a 'threatening' response stating

"This is unacceptable. I booked this room a month ago because of the strong evaluations. You are proposing less than equal accommodations. I booked luxurious accommodations but you have booked me in a room with less than equal rating.I am already in town. I want you to straighten out this mess by the time I get there with my wife or else I will inform others of your poor treatment of customers"

The guests state in their review that "When we arrived, the owner and his wife were very cold and unfriendly to us" but in fact I did not meet them until check out and Damer was pleasant and courteous on their arrival. We even popped a bottle of wine in their fridge by way of an apology. Upon check out the guests stated "thanks, great stay".

Upon cleaning we discovered that these guests had required the use of both bedrooms. It would have been much nicer for all parties if they could just have been upfront about this rather than unpleasant. The guests who did stay elsewhere were happy about their alternative accommodation and were understanding of the situation.

Liz for Waves on the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 415 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

A clean, spacious and comfortable apartment overlooking the aqua waters of this beautiful nook of NZ. Everything is catered for and the extra touches were very much appreciated. The hosts were friendly with nothing being too much trouble. We ate at the pub for lunch (great seafood!) and Thai Siam for dinner(also great). We only had one night which was way too short.

Room Tip: One with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnewls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our accommodation was in a two-bedroom apartment on a room only basis. These apartments offer the ultimate in 5* luxury accommodation with amazing sea and mountain views. It is situated on the waterfront and it is only a short walk into the town centre with its shops, supermarkets and fish & chip shops.
The two bedrooms are beautifully decorated with one having an en-suite. The other uses the main bathroom which also has a washing machine and tumble dryer behind cupboard doors.
The kitchen diner is well equipped and a restful place to sit.
There is a balcony with table and chairs.
We really loved staying here and have very fond memories of our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank magsHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here recently with my husband and my brother. We had a spacious 2 bedroom apartment with many amenities, including a well-functioning washer and dryer which we used (they even provide the soap). Full kitchen, tons of supplies (wine glasses, dishes, coffee maker, silverware, you name it, they have it all). Total non-hotel feel - small scale, apartment style stay. Very friendly staff. Incredibly clean. Very comfortable beds. Gorgeous balcony with views to die for - stay here!!

Room Tip: Choose the second floor for the best view - further back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JStewFarm_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the waves hotel and had a really comfortable stay. Liz and Damar were very kind and super accommodating to our almost one year old and boisterous 3 year old, even letting him try a skateboard and a helmet. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place, though it is pricey(and for good reason given the views). We ate all of our meals on the balcony and one early evening saw a fire on the hill. Was cool to see the local fire fighters get to work so quickly in an emergency!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nate43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have stayed in Kaikoura 2 times now. If I came back, I would only want to stay here. Amazing view, well equipped units and a friendly staff. They even let us know when we left something in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Had a wonderful night here. Balcony with views of snow capped mountains dropping to the ocean. Glorious.

Apartment well equipped and very comfortable. Could stay here a week or more if time permitted.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Panorama Motel
Panorama Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $192 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing