We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaikoura Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay. We had apartment 12, which was spacious, modern, and spotlessly clean. Wifi access (voucher) was good, kitchen well equipped, good washing machine and dryer. Liz and Damer were fun, accomodating and helpful. Waves looks over the sea, beautiful views, and quiet, though not to far out of town (we walked it). Thoroughly deserving of their No.1 rating.

Room Tip: No 12 has both stairs and lift (very handy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    49
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
157
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked Waves because of the feedback on Tripadvisor. It is fantastic. The room we had was spacious well presented and fantastically clean. The whole experience was a pleasure. The apartments are right on the front but away from any real noise so you can sit on your balcony and watch the world go by. When we checked out my wife forgot her coat. We asked Liz if she could send it and it arrived perfectly. Before booking anywhere else try Waves you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S2ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Highly recommend this place. We took apartment 6, which had a more restricted view of the beach. Nonetheless, it is a lovely apartment: spacious, well equipped, tastefully decorated and very new. The kitchen has everything you need to cook. An extra bed was placed in the living room to accommodate 5 of us. No issues with the wifi connection and the laundry facilities inside the apartment. As noted by other reviewers, Waves is only a minute’s walk to Dolphins Encounter office and to White Morph restaurant. A couple of other restaurants are further down. The apartment does not have a bathtub but there is an outdoor hot tub in the premises, which fitted all 5 of us comfortably.

Liz was very helpful & prompt with all email enquiries. Liz and Damer went out of their way to accommodate to our needs and were the most friendly and helpful hosts out of our whole stay in NZ South island. Although what we needed had been communicated to them a couple of months back, they remembered what we needed upon our arrival. They were seriously eco conscious and recyclable materials were sorted into different bins in the premises. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g0_f0r_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I and our two sons stayed in Apartment 12. It was lovely and very well equipped. We were within easy walking distance of town and the whale and dolphin watch. Liz and Damer could not have been nicer or more accommodating. They joked with our sons, gave us extra Internet coupons, suggested dinner spots and Damer drove us all the way to ChCh to catch an early flight. We left loving Kaikoura and knowing that we had friends at Waves. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This has got to be the best accommodation in Kaikoura! The owners are extremely friendly, helpful and fun to talk to, and the apartments themselves are magnificent.

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for two nights, with great views from the balcony out to the ocean and the mountains beyond. The apartment itself was spacious, clean, light and well-proportioned. There were two bathrooms (with great showers), so there was never too much drama getting ready in the morning.

The apartments are located in a quiet area of town, just down the road from the main shops. It's also right next to the White Morph restaurant, so you can go out for a great meal overlooking the ocean, or organise your own (in the well-equipped and spacious kitchen), and enjoy it on your own veranda. Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redrose93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

REALLY nice place. If your budget will stretch it is well worth the extra $$$. Nice furniture, kitchen utensils and crockery, comfortable beds, well arranged bathroom with lovely cupboards and shower. Plenty of space to put luggage. View from balcony was great – mountains and sea. Table and chairs on balcony to watch the world go by. Easy walk into Kaikoura. Dolphin watch place is a 3 minute walk away. Under apartment garage area. LOTS of information in folder, ordered alphabetically, this was my kind of place !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Apartment is great and clean. Ideal for my family of 5. Apartment had everything I asked for. Liz was fabulous when we arrived and she showed us where things are kept. However, I totally forgot that I was booked in for 2 nights and when we arrived, I informed Liz that we would only be there for a night. She was gracious and understanding and amended the booking for a night's stay. Not long after while we were unpacking our personal belongings, we were interrupted by Liz's husband, Damer. He asked my wife who answered the door, "I would like to see the man!" and when I came to the door, first thing he did was that accusatory tone and that finger wagging! He made us feel really small for the oversight and treated us like 2nd class citizens and lectured us at the door. I mean WTF! Come on, there's a better way to do this. After reading all your comments and my personal experience, this chap made our stay here forgettable and regrettable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kennethgemplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WavesKaikoura, Owner at Kaikoura Apartments, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
This is a simple misunderstanding that needs to heard from the perspective of the management. As these guests have stated, they were surprised to see on their 'check in' form that they were booked in for 2 nights and asked to cancel the second night which I did. I was however a little perplexed re the supposed error on my part so did some investigating amongst our emails where I discovered the email from the guests in response to our original confirmation, requesting to stay a second night. MYSTERY SOLVED. I printed out the email and asked Damer (as I was busy) to take this to show the guests to clarify the situation for them. The wife answered the door and said that her husband was in the shower. Damer would happily have left the correspondence but was asked to wait for 'the husband'. Damer does not recall using an accusatory tone (it is not his manner) and most certainly did not wag his finger. Out intention was only to clarify the situation for the guests. We regret any miscommunication and bad feelings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Apartments
Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing