We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Window onto coastal paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Window onto coastal paradise”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Waves on The Esplanade, an immaculate condo, was our unlikely quarters here on the wild Canterbury coast. (yes, those snowy mountains and crystal waters were our wake-up vista while enjoying toast, tea and jam).

The managers, Liz and Damer were attentive, fun, and responsive. Complimentary bikes for touring the area were a real plus. This condo is very well kept, spacious, and was most comfortable.

We set off by foot and bike to costal tracks that trace the volcanic cliffs and velvet meadows of the peninsula. An immense colony of sleepy fur seals has designated the sunny trailhead as snooze central.

Low tide afforded us the thrill of walking out among the tide pools on slippery volcanic rocks to get personal with preening males who slithered ashore. The crashing surf, bracing breeze, and other-worldly backdrop of pure white peaks stirred my wife to declare this place among the most beautiful that we’ve seen.

The town of Kaikoura (pop. 2100) has the feel of a backwater surfer-backpacker refuge – touches of art-deco, faux Trader Vic’s, and a hint of the Isle of Skye leave room for everyone to commune with their respective Natures.

Room Tip: We had Apt 8, and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelblogger1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    49
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
157
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just stayed one night but wished it was longer. The hosts were charming & friendly - the apartment was spotless & beautifully furnished. Beautiful quality bedlinen & towels - amazing views from every room. It was a quiet time of year when we stayed as a family of 5 - the apartments are 2 bed each so we intended to have an extra bed but our host generously volunteered the neighbouring apartment for our adult son to just use the bedroom & bathroom!
( NO extra charge ) Now that is service of the highest order! Would definitely go back again & have just recommended it to friends for November this year.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TealyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a nice time staying at the apartment but it missed a bit of charm.
A very friendly gentleman running the business but is seemed he was alone because our rooms hadn't been cleaned during the 3 nights we stayed.
But not too bad overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WavesKaikoura, Owner at Kaikoura Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Simon

I'm so sorry to learn that you felt that our accommodation was "Good but not special" as we pride ourselves on the care we take not only of our guests but of the apartments also. My husband clearly took good care of you (I was unable to be working as I was just out of hospital) but it is not common practice to service apartments on a daily basis (as outlined in our comprehensive compendium) unless guests request a daily service or unless the apartments are called 'Serviced Apartments'. We treat your apartment as 'your apartment' once you have checked in and respect your privacy in your home away from home. Your expectations were clearly different and had you let us know that then your apartment would have been cleaned/refreshed daily as you had expected.
Our apartments are currently being refurbished so perhaps if you visit again you will find 'things' a little different.

Thank-you for you feedback and we hope that you enjoyed your time in New Zealand.

Liz Farrell - Owner/Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Booked two 2-bedroom apartments for 3 nights for our family of 6. They gave us the choice of rooms and advised us so that we had two across the hall from each other on the top floor. The rooms were fabulous. Spacious, clean, excellent kitchens, balconies, with great views of the ocean and mountains. Being right on the esplanade, I was concerned the traffic might be noisy - not a problem. Easy walk into the main area of Kaikoura, with plenty of bars, restaurants, shops. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kaikoura after this great experience.

Room Tip: Ask the advice of the very helpful managers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagfromthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I rang this hotel to reserve a room saying I would be there in 2 hours (I was traveling from Blenheim) and was told that was fine. I showed up 2 hours later to find out my reserved room had been taken 30 minutes ago. Charming. No apologies, no recommendations for alternative accomodation. In a month of travel in New Zeland I only met one hotel owner I didn't like and he owns this place. Avoid.

In the end I went downt the road to the Waterfront Appartments which are just as conveniently located but at a lower price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your booking in writing or you might not have a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tribesmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kaikoura Apartments, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear 'Tribesman', we are surprised by your review. Whenever we take a booking we take a name and make the booking. We would NEVER sell an apartment twice. If we get 'walkins' and we are full, we always go out of our way to help these people find alternative accomodation. We pride ourselves on our professionalism. Clearly you do not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Waves is awesome! We were only going to stay 1 night, ended up staying 4 and did not want to leave then.

The owners are super nice and helpful. Rooms were great. Easy walk to any place in Kaikoura.

We were made to feel as family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, apartments had every facility, we were able to wash and dry our clothes, ready for the next stop offs, where the facilities were nt so good! Would definitely return.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jill190872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Apartments
Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing