We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value ”

Sierra Beachfront Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sierra Beachfront Motel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value ”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Was the best value I could get over the busy period for a family of 5. Great location. Room dated but comfy and clean. Towels, sheets, all lovely and crisp. Provided plenty if soap, shampoo etc. Double bed had big time roll together!!! Had a good stay. Would come back.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patsicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here a few years ago and were happy enough with our stay to book again this time through on our way to and from Nelson. I knew the location to be good - it's set back from the Esplanade and is only a ten minute walk to town along the beautiful seafront. The rates are excellent - I think it's one of the least expensive places to stay in Kaikoura, and definitely good value for money. What I wasn't expecting, and as another reviewer has already mentioned, is that the current owners or managers have improved the place while keeping the rates the same. We had an excellent stay in one of the family units, and if you're looking for an easy, friendly, comfortable stopover or stay in Kaikoura I would absolutely recommend Sierre Beachfront Motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Only stayed one night but a very pleasant one. The room was spacious, clean comfortable, just across the road from the seafront. It is a walk along the seafront to the centre of town. Friendly helpful service. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinLyndhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

well we went back fishing in kaikoura,stayed at sierra again as did last year,same unit,but what a change,new paint new carpet,bedding,but same price,these guys are definiteley getting the place sorted

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brad m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked the Sierra Beachfront Motel at an I-site. It's not beachfront, but down the driveway and across the street. It is in the quiet part of town. The room was adequate for our one night stay, but I would have been upset had we booked longer. The beds were clean, but the carpet was dirty and the curtains were ripped up and had to be pinned shut to keep the outside lights out. The kitchen was minimal, but serviceable, but the cabinet under the sink had a bad odor when opened. The shower had no shower curtain, I guess so you could shower while using the toilet. The water came out in a little stream, if it had flowed, water would have been everywhere. Parking was tight. For the same price, we stayed at a lot nicer motels during our NZ stay. I hope the new owners keep working on it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Sierra Beach Motels for just one night in a studio unit. It was very clean and tidy on arrival. Good value for money. The hosts were lovely and friendly and helpful. A great location close to the town but far away out of the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeCoalgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had just come from a fantastic accommodation in nelson called beachside villa motel. It cost us $190 a night and we couldn't fault it. We headed into kaikoura to stay at the Sierra. It cost us about $150 a night. For the price we were expecting a decent accommodation. However the room we were given could only be described as low budget backpacker accommodation. As soon as we walked in our 5 year exclaimed, "This room stinks!". The room smelt of wet dog, cigarettes and goodness knows what else. The carpet was heavily stained and needed replacing. The sliding door to the bathroom was threatening to come off it's rail as we tried opening it. The oven looked like it had haven't been cleaned in a long time. When we pulled down the quilt cover at night we saw the bed had not been properly made. On our daughters bed, her blanket had a large dark stain that looked suspiciously like blood. In the toilet, the toilet roll holder had been broken so the toilet roll had to be kept on the vanity table.

We really tried hard to find positives about our stay but unfortunately couldn't find any redeeming features. It is surprising to read some positive comments from other people on this site as it is completely different to our experience. Perhaps we were given a dud room? Who knows...all we know is that we will never come back to that motel. Our lesson- don't leave our booking to the last minute.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Beachfront Motel

Property: Sierra Beachfront Motel
Address: 160 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sierra Beachfront Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 Quiet ground floor studio and 2 large 2 bedroom units ,2 Access units. Photo is of the Newer Studio units we have 6 older units which are clean and comfortable. The other 7 units are approx 8 years old . We are along the Esplanade through the main town centre .away from the busy highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing