We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomdations experienced in all of NZ”
Review of Hapuku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hapuku Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2005

What a delightful surprise. We traveled all over the north and south island and no where was tougher to leave. In fact we extended our planned stay to almost double the time at the Hapuku lodge. It was the most relaxing place we stayed with a different view in every direction - beautiful snow capped mts to the west, rugged coast line to the east, and an olive farm and deer farm all within sight on the property. The staff were curtious and lodge offered excellant food with one of the best lattes I've ever had. I would definitely recomend this place.

Stayed: February 2003
3  Thank paramoreSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Hapuku Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 302 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
North Carolina, US
12
Reviewed September 21, 2005

Our favorite stop on a month long honeymoon adventure through the South Island- views from the Olive House made me want to roll around in the grass like Colfax (Colfax is the not-so-fierce canine guardian of the property). The grounds are beautiful and peaceful, just what a person needs for a relaxing sojourn.... excellent food, super friendly staff. We are definitely going back - wish i could give it six stars.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Auckland, New Zealand
12
Reviewed September 13, 2005

I was looking for somewhere to get "away from it all", and a colleague had recommended Hapuku Lodge in Kaikoura. I'd been to Kaikoura before, but that was many years ago and Hapuku Lodge wasn't there in those days - I've since found out that it's only three years old. I flew to Blenheim and hired a car and set off on what I can only describe as a drive down one of the more spectacular coastal roads in New Zealand to the lodge. Upon arrival I was checked into my room, which had been pre-heated in anticipation of my arrival, and then adjourned to the bar in the Hapuku Cafe. It just happened to be the night that the New Zealand All Black's were playing against the British Lions, so there was a good crowd at the Cafe to watch the game on the big screen. The food was superb (can highly recommend the Hapuku fish steaks), and I had a great night with the other guests at the lodge as we watched the All Blacks win. Breakfast the next morning was in the lodge's dining room, and again, the selection of food was superb. After breakfast I took a wander around the lodge's grounds to visit their olive press, the olive grove and to see the deer (didn't realise they ran their own deer stud farm). I was scheduled to drive to Christchurch that morning, but didn't really want to leave (and wished I'd booked another night), so took some time out relaxing and reading my book in front of the fireplace in the lounge before having lunch in the Cafe - NZ mussels in a coconut cream sauce! I finally had to drag myself away and head off to Christchurch, but I will definitely be back to stay at Hapuku Lodge again. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable (they even had heated floors in the bathroom!), and the food was outstanding! I only wish I'd booked another night there before heading down to Christchurch, but I'll know better next time. Thanks Hapuku Lodge for a great stay and look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
13
Reviewed September 11, 2005

Imagine waking up to a stunning vista of snow capped mountains through one window and hearing the sound of crashing waves through another. Only 10 minutes north of Kaikoura Hapuku is a stunning, well appointed, contemporary Lodge accessible to a myriad of activities and the great outdoors.
I loved staying at Hapuku simply for the peace and traquility. I really felt that I had escaped from the noise and clutter of the outside world. What interested me the most was that the buildings, the gardens -that conjured up images of a dried river bed over grown with native New Zealand plants, the furniture and the furnishings are all designed by the owners. This gives it it's own unique feel and ambience.
If there is one thing that impressed me the most it would have to be the beds. Made specifically for the lodge I don't recall having slept so sound in a long time. I certainly got out of my visit exactly what I had come looking for - to live, per chance, to dream. As for the heating, my room was very cosy when I arrived and we had other heating beyond the one behind the curtain. They obviously resolved any dilemma's they may have had.
My entire travel experience went well. I found the owners to be extremely helpful and willing to ensure that I enjoyed my visit. They offered help with local activities if necessary but I had already booked Whale Watching and Maori Tours before I left. Even though the owners (or managers) are there for you I liked the fact that they weren't always around because it made me feel as if I had this amazing place to myself - well I am allowed to dream.
My only regret was that my agent had only reccommended one night (I extended my stay). If you are going to Kaikoura make sure you stay at least two. I discovered so much to do and I don't think my travel agent was aware of it. After Whale Watching and Maori Tours I went swimming with seals, hiking, star gazing and if I had more time I would have added the Dolphin swimming and maybe even the swim with sharks.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2005

We found things to be a bit disorganized at the Hapuku Lodge, both in trying to make our reservation and in coming for our stay. The first person that we e-mailed with disappeared, and only after some prompting did we get another reply from someone else. Initially we were told that we could stay for both of our desired nights, and later were told we could only stay for the first night (it is notable there were no other guests staying there when we were there, so I'm not sure if this was just to discourage us from staying or if perhaps a large party was coming the next day). We were also told that their website entry page was secure, but on all of the computers that I used the entry page came up as insecure, which I brought to the attention of the manager. I did not feel comfortable entering my credit card info on an insecure site, so needed to phone in a credit card. When we arrived for our stay the lodge was deserted - luckily we had a cell phone and called the lodge's 800 number in order to contact one of the lodge keepers. They had gone out to the farm and had assumed that we would not get there until later (we had told the manager that we would be there at 6pm at the latest; we arrived at 4:30pm). We were also told that there would be a bottle of olive oil awaiting us on our arrival and there was not (on check out I inquired and they gave me a bottle of olive oil). On the plus side, the lodge itself is very beautiful, and located on both an olive farm and deer farm. There are views of both the sea and the mountains from the room we stayed in (#6). Our room was large, beautifully decorated, and had a decadent bed. However, there were a few inconveniences, such as not being able to have the heat on and the curtains closed at the same time (it presented a fire hazard due to the curtains covering the heater when closed), and a fan in the bathroom that would run without the ability to turn it off (although it would generally turn off in about 7-10 minutes). It was also necessary to keep the room key in a slot in order to have power in the room - although good for conserving energy, it can be inconvenient if one person needs to leave while the other remains sleeping in the room. Breakfast was a lovely continental breakfast, including cereals, fresh fruits, bagels and toast, juices, tea and coffee. The people who were managing the lodge when we were there are part-owners who were filling in for the usual manager who was away at a conference - that may have been the reason for some of the confusion during our stay. They were extremely friendly and pleasant people who seemed invested in us having a good stay. Overall we found the lodge to be a very nice place, beautifully decorated, and staffed by friendly people. However, given the cost and some of the inconveniences I think I would have prefered to stay elsewhere.

4  Thank hliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanousha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle Räume sind super, Essen ist sensationell!!!
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Knuthi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
7.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
7.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Wacky Stays
Wacky Stays
#13 of 32 in Kaikoura
54 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
4.1 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#12 of 36 in Kaikoura
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuku Lodge

Address: State Highway 1 At Station Road, RD 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: $632 - $1,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hapuku Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuku Lodge and Tree Houses is distinctive boutique luxury accommodation set on a deer farm and olive grove in one of the world's most beautiful locations, between the Kaikoura Mountains and the Pacific Coast of New Zealand's South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hapuku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hapuku Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing