We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab u lous”
Review of Hapuku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hapuku Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in this very different property on 18th January. Our room was up a tree some 30 meters above ground with views of the sea and deer farm on one side and olive groves on the other. The room was sumptuous with a spa bath for two at one end of the room and a wood burner at the other with two loungers either side. The comfortable king sized bed was in the middle. There was even an iPod on a speaker base with great background music already programmed in.
Dinner was superb and I had the local speciality crayfish which was delicious. Kiwi crayfish have no claws and have a thinner shell than lobster so much easier to extract the meat from the legs!!
The weather however was not good so we missed out on the many things that you can do in Kaikoura. We will definitely go back there but spend 2 or 3 nights rather than 1.

Room Tip: The tree houses are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 319 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at Hapuku Lodge in the Lodge room with large sitting area in January. We only stayed one night but it is a wonderful place to stay, the room is well laid out and every attention to detail has been focused on. The on suite with Japanese bath and huge shower is very good. The food we had for dinner was excellent and one of the best meals we had on our trip. We had an opportunity to view one of the tree houses and they too are well equipped and look great. For us though we still preferred our Lodge room and all its space. The staff are very friendly and Anneka on reception was very helpful and helped us with arranging a whale watch tour at very short notice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, treehouse ones are in separate block to main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keithad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in one of the tree houses at Hapuku Lodge for three days over Xmas 2012 and the entire family - two adults, three daughters - declared it to be the perfect place to be. The setting is amazingly tranquil and beautiful, the food and wine exceptional, and the staff are great. We really liked the low-key and unpretentious atmosphere, and even the sun came out on Xmas day. Very highly recommended indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BleedingEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are sitting the in the gorgeous lounge of this lodge, which is definitely the best we have stayed in in NZ. Brilliantly designed with fantastic interior design, we have been in two rooms as we decided to stay an extra night - both were excellent. The staff have all been brilliant, whipping us up a couple of cheese toasties while we are trapped indoors by the rain, but we couldn't be happier to be trapped anywhere! Our rooms were $675 and $900 respectively but they include a delicious 3 course meal and represent great value for money as the rooms are superb and have every convenience you could wish for. We loved having a swim in the outdoor pool and watching the deer wandering past. The common areas are really comfortable and homely. A great place for a romantic break. If we come back to NZ we will definitely come back here and stay for longer. Thanks so much to all the team.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Anna_Traveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hapuku Lodge was a perfect place to stay. We booked late and were not able to stay in a tree house, but our rooms were lovely. Our kids stayed in a lodge suite and we stayed in the Olive House. Both accomodations were wonderful. The heated swimming pool was a delight. The staff was very helpful when asked to advise us on local activities. The food was amazing. After a hectic trip, we were finally able to relax at the Hapuku Lodge. We can't say enough about Chris and Annika, who helped us at every turn. Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in the Hapuku room over Christmas 2012.

The Hapuku room is extremely large and comfortable with a fantastic bathroom and lovely views. As the Lodge is small, it has a lovely warm and intimate atmosphere, but it was large enough that we didn't feel too aware of other guests and therefore enjoyed our own privacy.

The staff are sincere and provided good advice on the best things to see and do around Kaikoura. We were a bit surprised to learn on arrival in Kaikoura that all of the wildlife tour operators would be closed for business on Christmas Day as we had hoped to have seen and done as much as possible during our short stay. However the Lodge kept all guests informed and made every possible effort to ensure we didn't have to spend the entire day sitting around doing nothing.

Breakfast and dinner were included in our rate and I must say that the food was excellent. Lots of variety, different options for breakfast and dinner each day, and the quality of the produce was top notch. On Christmas Day, the Lodge laid on a five course dinner in the evening which was executed beautifully. There was one morning when pretty much all guests turned up for breakfast at the same time which resulted in a rather lengthy wait for food cooked to order, but it didn't particularly bother my husband and I.

All in all my husband and I really enjoyed our stay. Kaikoura was the first stop of a South Island trip and Hapuku Lodge certainly set the bar high for the rest of our visit. Staying at Hapuku Lodge doesn't come cheap but it is unique and memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooooh_pardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife Jesse and I stayed here towards the end of our 2 week honeymoon in November of 2012, and after two weeks in a camper van, it was a welcome change of pace and scenery.

From the moment we arrived, we were immediately attended to by the staff. They offered to take our luggage from the parking lot to our tree house, and gave us a great recommendation for lunch in the area. Our room was by far the nicest during our trip, and it felt cozy and huge all at the same time! They also provide a great concierge service that was able to book us a whale watching trip the following day. Very convenient!

Our view from the all-glass shower (that opened onto the deck) was an interesting design that gave us an expansive view from the olive orchard all the way to the ocean, while also allowing total privacy from everyone around you. The shower head was a rainfall style, and you honestly felt like you were standing outside in a storm. AMAZING!!!! And big enough for two ;)

The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on - California king, awesome pillows, sheets - firm mattress which I can only assume is a Tempurpedic or some equivalent model. There was also a complimentary minibar stocked with great beer and juices. Plasma TV, and an ipod player as well! When we were brought to our treehouse, the ipod was already playing, and it set the mood for the rest of our stay.

The best part was the mountain view of the unit, which looked out onto the Kaikoura Range and made them feel practically on top of you! In the sitting area in front of the bay window, was a wood burning stove with two chez lounges, where the wife and I sat and enjoyed some wine and a fire.

The meals were also amazing! I had the venison raised on site! Breakfast was also good, with both continental and hot breakfasts served.

Overall, this place exceeded our expectations and blew our minds. It was without a doubt the most luxurious hotel experience of our trip, and while expensive, worth every penny!

Room Tip: Go for the Treehouse vs Lodge - so worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
7.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
7.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
369 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 31 in Kaikoura
164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 31 in Kaikoura
178 reviews
4.1 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#8 of 36 in Kaikoura
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuku Lodge

Address: State Highway 1 At Station Road, RD 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: $679 - $1,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hapuku Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuku Lodge and Tree Houses is distinctive boutique luxury accommodation set on a deer farm and olive grove in one of the world's most beautiful locations, between the Kaikoura Mountains and the Pacific Coast of New Zealand's South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelPower, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hapuku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hapuku Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing