We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
280
40
9
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
40
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house treehouse room olive groves breakfast and dinner new zealand our honeymoon log burner stunning place overlooking the mountains kaikoura coast snow capped mountains the pacific ocean comfortable bed whale watching mountain range kaikoura ranges stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 339 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at Hapuku Lodge in the Lodge room with large sitting area in January. We only stayed one night but it is a wonderful place to stay, the room is well laid out and every attention to detail has been focused on. The on suite with Japanese bath and huge shower is very good. The food we had for dinner was excellent and one of the best meals we had on our trip. We had an opportunity to view one of the tree houses and they too are well equipped and look great. For us though we still preferred our Lodge room and all its space. The staff are very friendly and Anneka on reception was very helpful and helped us with arranging a whale watch tour at very short notice. Highly recommended.

Room tip: All rooms are good, treehouse ones are in separate block to main lodge.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keithad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in one of the tree houses at Hapuku Lodge for three days over Xmas 2012 and the entire family - two adults, three daughters - declared it to be the perfect place to be. The setting is amazingly tranquil and beautiful, the food and wine exceptional, and the staff are great. We really liked the low-key and unpretentious atmosphere, and even the sun came out on Xmas day. Very highly recommended indeed.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BleedingEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are sitting the in the gorgeous lounge of this lodge, which is definitely the best we have stayed in in NZ. Brilliantly designed with fantastic interior design, we have been in two rooms as we decided to stay an extra night - both were excellent. The staff have all been brilliant, whipping us up a couple of cheese toasties while we are trapped indoors by the rain, but we couldn't be happier to be trapped anywhere! Our rooms were $675 and $900 respectively but they include a delicious 3 course meal and represent great value for money as the rooms are superb and have every convenience you could wish for. We loved having a swim in the outdoor pool and watching the deer wandering past. The common areas are really comfortable and homely. A great place for a romantic break. If we come back to NZ we will definitely come back here and stay for longer. Thanks so much to all the team.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Anna_Traveller028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hapuku Lodge was a perfect place to stay. We booked late and were not able to stay in a tree house, but our rooms were lovely. Our kids stayed in a lodge suite and we stayed in the Olive House. Both accomodations were wonderful. The heated swimming pool was a delight. The staff was very helpful when asked to advise us on local activities. The food was amazing. After a hectic trip, we were finally able to relax at the Hapuku Lodge. We can't say enough about Chris and Annika, who helped us at every turn. Thank you for making our stay special.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in the Hapuku room over Christmas 2012.

The Hapuku room is extremely large and comfortable with a fantastic bathroom and lovely views. As the Lodge is small, it has a lovely warm and intimate atmosphere, but it was large enough that we didn't feel too aware of other guests and therefore enjoyed our own privacy.

The staff are sincere and provided good advice on the best things to see and do around Kaikoura. We were a bit surprised to learn on arrival in Kaikoura that all of the wildlife tour operators would be closed for business on Christmas Day as we had hoped to have seen and done as much as possible during our short stay. However the Lodge kept all guests informed and made every possible effort to ensure we didn't have to spend the entire day sitting around doing nothing.

Breakfast and dinner were included in our rate and I must say that the food was excellent. Lots of variety, different options for breakfast and dinner each day, and the quality of the produce was top notch. On Christmas Day, the Lodge laid on a five course dinner in the evening which was executed beautifully. There was one morning when pretty much all guests turned up for breakfast at the same time which resulted in a rather lengthy wait for food cooked to order, but it didn't particularly bother my husband and I.

All in all my husband and I really enjoyed our stay. Kaikoura was the first stop of a South Island trip and Hapuku Lodge certainly set the bar high for the rest of our visit. Staying at Hapuku Lodge doesn't come cheap but it is unique and memorable.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooooh_pardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews