We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could you not love a luxury treehouse??”
Review of Hapuku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hapuku Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How could you not love a luxury treehouse??”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife Jesse and I stayed here towards the end of our 2 week honeymoon in November of 2012, and after two weeks in a camper van, it was a welcome change of pace and scenery.

From the moment we arrived, we were immediately attended to by the staff. They offered to take our luggage from the parking lot to our tree house, and gave us a great recommendation for lunch in the area. Our room was by far the nicest during our trip, and it felt cozy and huge all at the same time! They also provide a great concierge service that was able to book us a whale watching trip the following day. Very convenient!

Our view from the all-glass shower (that opened onto the deck) was an interesting design that gave us an expansive view from the olive orchard all the way to the ocean, while also allowing total privacy from everyone around you. The shower head was a rainfall style, and you honestly felt like you were standing outside in a storm. AMAZING!!!! And big enough for two ;)

The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on - California king, awesome pillows, sheets - firm mattress which I can only assume is a Tempurpedic or some equivalent model. There was also a complimentary minibar stocked with great beer and juices. Plasma TV, and an ipod player as well! When we were brought to our treehouse, the ipod was already playing, and it set the mood for the rest of our stay.

The best part was the mountain view of the unit, which looked out onto the Kaikoura Range and made them feel practically on top of you! In the sitting area in front of the bay window, was a wood burning stove with two chez lounges, where the wife and I sat and enjoyed some wine and a fire.

The meals were also amazing! I had the venison raised on site! Breakfast was also good, with both continental and hot breakfasts served.

Overall, this place exceeded our expectations and blew our minds. It was without a doubt the most luxurious hotel experience of our trip, and while expensive, worth every penny!

Room Tip: Go for the Treehouse vs Lodge - so worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    37
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
215
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Otago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This stunning property, featuring tree houses and Lodge suites, oozes luxury, quality and good taste and is obviously designed to meet the requirements of the most discerning traveller. It certainly ticked all the boxes for my wife and I ----from the welcoming but unobtrusive staff, excellent dining, spectacular mountain view, solar heated swimming pool and overall creature comforts. And talking of creature comforts, I've got to include what is surely the most important of all -----a superbly luxurious bed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyNorthOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Firstly, we loved our 1 bedroom treehouse ( there are also 2 bed ones, which we didn't see the interior of, but looked super). Although not huge, the treehouses are very well designed and work well, even with loads of luggage. The log burning stove is the perfect finishing touch. Great to have a huge bath AND a shower! Super comfy bed. It's worth looking at their website for the 360 degree tour of the room....
A bonus was being able to park at the bottom of the staircase to the room ( and the staircase is very easy to use and robust.)
A slight disappointment was how close the treehouses were to each other- and they are basically in a row along a side road! The views , however, were fantastic- there was snow on the mountains inland- and you could just about see the sea in the other direction. ( there was a good walk down a track to the sea- about a 20 min walk or a 10 min run)
When we were there, there were very few guests and the in house dinner was a pretty low key affair, with us all sitting seperately at tables in a row by the window with the mountain view, at one side of the main lodge ground floor sitting room- a bit of an odd arrangement. The food was excellent though. I might have preferred to eat out if we'd been there another night.
My only other criticism was the proximity of the lodge to the main ( busy) highway.. which spoilt the concept a little, as we watched and heard trucks go past the grounds.

Room Tip: The point of staying here is to stay in a treehoouse room! I can't see that there would be any a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0gli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had the most wonderful time here. We were able to relax by the pool, go for a walk and sit back with a glass of wine and enjoy the wonderful views from our treehouse. Caught up on some much needed sleep. Overall we just loved it and will return again some day.

Room Tip: The tree houses have great views and wonderful birdsong
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_Picton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hapuku Lodge for our 5th Wedding anniversary (being that the token gift for 5 years is wood, we thought Hapuku Lodge to be very apt!)
What an amazing experience, from the amazing food from Fiona, to the beautifully handcrafted furniture, and the fantastic personal service, including dessert being delivered to our room as we were too full to enjoy it straight after dinner.
We will absolutely be back, and hope to spread the word to more New Zealanders to experience a wonderful weekend away!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeMc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hapuku Lodge on our honeymoon in November 2012. We were so impressed that we canceled our next night in Nelson to have one more night in the stunning treehouse. Yes, you will pay for it - we had a rate of NZ$900/night - but we were looking for a bit of luxury and couldn't have been happier with the stay. Be sure to check for package deals; they often offer a two-night promotion at a lower price.

They really have thought of everything. The heated bathroom floor and towel rack; a stocked mini fridge with beer, juices and other goodies; freshly baked cookies each day; a French press with amazing coffee; incredible views by the fireplace... I could go on and on. Our host even created a nice cheese tray and brought it up with a bottle of wine while we got ready for dinner.

The food at Hapuku was also some of the best we had in the entire South Island. In the morning they offer a buffet of fresh baked goods, cereals, fruit and jams while you wait on your main course to be prepared in the kitchen. Dinner was absolutely amazing. It's clear that the chef knows what she's doing.

Be sure to take the complimentary bicycles down to the beach. Our only complaint was that there was no hot tub out by the pool, but we were told that one that will resemble a hot spring is coming in soon!

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a tree house, but one of the lodge rooms (at a lower price) probably would have offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adreap2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights in October '12 and loved it. From the moment we arrived, the level of service that we received was 5 star and the room that we stayed in was amazing. The views alone were worth the money but when coupled with the quality of the furnishings and the extremely comfortable beds the value for money was exceptional. All the staff treated us like members of their family, always wanting to hear how our day had gone and what we had planned. If I'm ever in Kaikoura again, I will certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Go for an upper branch room - the views are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
7.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
7.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Fairways
The Fairways
#5 of 36 in Kaikoura
297 reviews
4.1 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#15 of 36 in Kaikoura
38 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Hampton's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuku Lodge

Property: Hapuku Lodge
Address: State Highway 1 At Station Road, RD 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hapuku Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuku Lodge and Tree Houses is distinctive boutique luxury accommodation set on a deer farm and olive grove in one of the world's most beautiful locations, between the Kaikoura Mountains and the Pacific Coast of New Zealand's South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hapuku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hapuku Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing