We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know how to do it”
Review of Whale Watch

Whale Watch
Ranked #5 of 28 Tours in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "THE ULTIMATE MARINE EXPERIENCE" Whale Watch is New Zealand's only marine based Whale watching company offering exciting up-close encounter with the world's largest toothed predator the Giant Sperm Whale in their natural environment at all times of the year, our 95% success rate means we guarantee an 80% refund if your tour does not see a whale.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
626 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“They know how to do it”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Safety first. Every single step and procedure follows the highest standards. All the way to "if sea too choppy, don't go". We went today and it was "calm as good as it can get" and still, while watching the whales (yes, we saw three!) we had trouble standing not the upper deck taking pictures without holding on to something. Staff very helpful and friendly. They let families with kids board first so they can sit towards the back where it is more stable if you are prone to seasickness. These are the little details that come from experience and caring. Observing the captain of the boat with his headphones and holding his "microphone stick" into the water trying to determine the position of the whale was also quite something. Perfect and instructive experience, also on how to be customer friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunriseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It is always great to hear that we are delivering such a memorable experience for our passengers. All the best with the rest of your travels around New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    360
    118
    43
    55
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Genial / great!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We were able to see two sperm whales! We also saw a group of dolphins :)

Pudimos ver dos ballenas cachalotes! También pudimos ver un grupo de delfines :)

Helpful?
Thank carolinaurdaneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, 2 sperm whales and dolphins is fantastic, we hope you managed to get some fantastic photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really informative”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a great experience. The water was a little choppy, however the boat was comfortable and I felt safe the whole time. We saw two whales and a small pod of dolphins. Really friendly and knowledgeable staff keep you entertained throughout the journey. I highly recommend it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Littlevic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful feedback, it is always great to hear that we are delivering such a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Saw 3 whales and dolphins”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was a great trip/experience that was well co-ordinated with friendly and informative staff that really try hard to make this a worthwhile trip. In our case it resulted in seeing 3 sperm whales and a pod of dolphins so that coupled with the great weather meant we had a brilliant trip. It was definitely worth the money. Would definitely recommend this.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pcuff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Kia Ora, thank you for such wonderful feedback it sounds like you had a fantastic time on your tour. We are truly blessed to have such amazing marine life live off the Kaikoura Coastline. We hope the rest of your travels around New Zealand have been just as successful. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No whale, no pay”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I love this terms and condition of theirs, I really find it quite fair. Still the crew will try real hard to look for one, I betcha you wont get disappointed. The crew are so well trained, they really know their job. I enjoyed the boat trip immensely especially when you finally spot the big fella. You all get excitedand have this certain high. Its a once in a lifetime experience that no mkney could buy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Kia Ora Susan, wow thanks so much for your kind words it is always so great to hear how our passengers time has gone for them and it sounds like you had such a wonderful time. We hope you managed to capture some beautiful photos, we are so blessed to have such amazing marine life live off the Kaikoura Coastline. Thanks again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watch also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing