We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this motel”
Review of Anchor Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchor Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We had an exellent stay here.The spacious Studio had all we needed (fridge,micro,small hob) plus a nice area to sit out front ,overlooking the sea.Away from the town but only a walk away from a good restaurant -Green Gables.A short drive to Seal colony and Sheep shearing demo,which was worth the visit.Its only a 5 min.drive to Whale Watch station and town.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pearsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 359 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2007

I stayed at the Anchor Inn for one night at the start of March 2007 with two members of my family - we had booked a two bedroom unit (#12). Upon check in we were warmly greeted by the friendly host and shown to our accommodation. I had read great reviews about the establishment and wasn't dissapointed. I wouldn't describe it as a five star luxery motel but more than adequate nontheless.

The unit was very clean, had plenty of amenities and was directly across the quite road from the beach. Attention to detail had been thought about with this motel including a heatpump, double glazed windows, free video hire and comfortable beds.

My one complaint was that the shower cubicle was quite small (and I'm a small person myself) and the water pressure wasn't really adequate for washing shampoo out of hair.

The motel is located at one end of the beach which was no problem for us walking to the main town of Kaikoura but for the elderly or disabled it might be a bit of a trek.

Whilst staying in Kaikoura we went for a meal at 42.25 degrees South restaurant which was SUPERB! The crayfish was delicious but I would recommend arriving early or booking as it is very popular. Another good eatery is the fish and chip shop at the far end of town away from the motel which has whole crayfish for only $40, whereas most of the restaurants charge that for half a crayfish.

Just past the motel beyond the pier in Kaikoura is a seal colony worth going to, and of course a trip to Kaikora is not complete without going Whale watching - truely a remarkable experience but if you get sea sick I would advise taking a motion sickness tablet as the boats get up to some pretty fast speeds.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Dragon_Griffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

I stayed at the Anchor Inn for three nights in early March 2007. The motel unit was very clean and comfortable, with a wonderful view of the ocean (and the motel provides folding chairs, so I could sit outside in the morning and really enjoy it). The room was well-appointed with a small kitchenette and a VCR (with free movies available for borrowing in the lobby), and there are laundry facilities available on the premises for guest use. The management was very helpful, providing a map of the town, dining recommendations, and booking transportation for me when necessary (as I did not have a car). The single drawback to the motel is that it's a bit of a walk to get to the town center and restaurants, which could be a problem for people who are out of shape or disabled and who don't have their own transportation. But if you have a car or a good pair of walking shoes, this place is great!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aredhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2007

We arrived on a dull cloudy day and awoke next morning to a beautiful clear blue sky and realised what stunning scenery the clouds had been hiding from us the previous day. Motel not quite luxurious, but none the less top quality. Extremely helpful and friendly owners. Everything was spotless. The views are amazing but you are 3 yards from the road - that said the road is a dead end and there is so little traffic anyway that it hardly matters. We had one of our best meals in New Zealand in Kaikoura at 42.25 degrees South, an easy walk from the motel, as were most of the lovely eateries in this town. Breakfast at the Whale Watching Station (literally as it is on the railway line) was also fabulous. Totally recommended - shame we only did one night there.

Stayed: December 2006
5  Thank scissorsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Without question the best motel that we stayed in during our holiday in NZ. The views were stunning and the standard of accomodation was first class. Head & shoulders above the rest.
The furnishings and decor were contemporary modern, our unit was spotlessly clean throughout and very spacious. Go to sleep at night to the sound of the waves breaking on the beach opposite - this is how to relax!

If you fancy a meal, you'd do well to try the White Morph Restaurant - as recommended by our host. Great food and wine at reasonable price. It's a ten minute walk along the Esplande.

Don't bother looking anywhere else - this is the one!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Waggers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

This is an excellent spot, right on the water front. Perfect for going on whale watching trips. The standard was extremely high, even had a spa bath. Laundry facilities too. The small kitchen was well equipped & there are quite a few eating places close by.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank UKBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We stayed here for a couple of nights, and found this to be a lovely family run motel. The location is great, just the other side of the road from the ocean. The motel even supplies each room with picnic chairs which you can take to sit on the beach. The rooms are very comfortable, and the freindly helpfulness of all members of the family who own the motel is what would bring us back here again. They told us the best places for dinner - The Blue Morph just down the road in walking distance, where we had sublime local crayfish, and breakfast and/or lunch at the (Dolphin) Encounter Cafe, also within walking distance. Kaikoura is in a beautiful situation with the ocean in front and the snow capped mountains behind. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Motel

Address: 208 Esplanade | Cnr Margate Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $106 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchor Inn Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a modern and stylish motel superbly situated on the Kaikoura waterfront with most rooms enjoying magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and the stunning Kaikoura Ranges.Our award-winning motel offers a range of studios and family units which are spacious and well-appointed, fully self-contained, climate controlled and double-glazed for your total comfort and enjoyment.The Anchor Inn holds a 4+ Qualmark star rating and a Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.We provide a guest laundry, wireless internet, Sky's 50+ channels and an extensive DVD library. Secure off-street parking is provided in our enclosed courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Kaikoura
Anchor Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing