We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and lovely place to stay”
Review of Anchor Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here for the last 2 nights of a 12 day trip around the South Island and it was the perfect way to finish off my holiday. This motel is very lovely and spacious, with a perfect view and door front access to the sea front. I hadn't pre booked and was a bit embarrassed having asked to see the room before I accepted, as it was quite a pretty room and so spacious - very luxurious. The owners were very helpful and friendly and I enjoyed a very relaxing stay in Kaikoura. It's just a little out of the main strip of town, but not at all far and much better for the sea front location. Has it's own kitchenette and very professionally maintained with not just the view of the sea front but the gorgeous mountains nearby. Highly recommend,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 358 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had one of the roomy two level apartments and found it good to stretch out. The location is very good with stunning views across the water to the mountains. Only hope for good weather. Management were very co-operative, only thing was that the bathroom was downstairs yet the bedrooms were upstairs. Overall very hard to fault.....and Kaikoura is a nice little town also.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank arborictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A very good motel on the seafront run by friendly helpful owners, the room was very large (plenty of space for all of our luggage) with a well equiped kitchette and large ensuite, we also had a good view of the mountains from the sunny patio. The continental breakfast delivered to our room was ok but no fresh fruit.
The location is a long walk from the town if you do not have a car but there is a Kaikoura shuttle taxi service that the owners will arrange for you.
The rooms at the front have sea views, the rooms at the side mountain views but may be quieter as they do not face the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alang684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The softest towels & the best shower in a 5 week holiday! We spent 2 nights here and it was grand. Just across the road (30metres) from the sea with the surf tumbling in. Doors onto a patio with built-in seating facing the sea. The room was spacious (king bed, sofa, kitchenette with table, fully supplied, and a very good en suite. The owners were friendly and welcoming and helpful with local knowledge. It is down the road from the town center so quiet and is an excellent place to stay. I'd stay there again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: View, good location, quiet and so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MANDKJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This motel has a seafront location and a good view out across the bay. The owners were friendly enough but seemed to lack information about restaurants in the town.

The motel is a 40 minute walk to the whale watch location (but whale watch has a reasonably big car park) and about 30 minutes walk to the town. A few restaurants and a pub are about 10 minutes walk away. There is a seal colony and also amazing wave cut platforms about 10 minutes drive away. A seafood van cooks food to order on the road there - it looked very good but closes for the night around 1830.

We had a large room, acceptable but not outstanding, with microwave and fridge. The bed was fine and the room was quiet. It was very cold when we arrived, but there were heaters and the room warmed up quickly. The bathroom had mould around tiles in the shower. Wifi was extremely slow and free for only one hour per day. Manoeuvring our car within the restricted courtyard parking wasn’t easy.

Breakfast, delivered to our room, was just about acceptable but included items like canned fruit. We haven’t had much experience of motels, so maybe this is usual.

Of course we went whale watching - the main reason to visit Kaikoura. We thought this was a great experience even in 3m swells driven by 40km/h winds. But well over half the passengers were ill - some almost to the point of collapse. Check the weather before you leave; the company will give refunds even if you decide on the harbour that you don’t want to go.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A very nice neat motel in a superb position on the esplanada at Kaikoura. We stayed here for one night only. Found the room to be very good, well stocked kitchenette, good bathroom, shower etc. Slept well after an excellent dinner at one of the restaurants recommended by the owners. Stay here, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NS_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice place - good spacious room, clean and smart furnishings, very welcoming owners, excellent view out to the ocean just yards away....great value for money. Decent wi-fi and parking fine. Also well away from the busier 'not so smart' front along the other end of the bay, so calm and peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea if you want a view - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Motel

Address: 208 Esplanade | Cnr Margate Street, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $125 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchor Inn Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a modern and stylish motel superbly situated on the Kaikoura waterfront with most rooms enjoying magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and the stunning Kaikoura Ranges.Our award-winning motel offers a range of studios and family units which are spacious and well-appointed, fully self-contained, climate controlled and double-glazed for your total comfort and enjoyment.The Anchor Inn holds a 4+ Qualmark star rating and a Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.We provide a guest laundry, wireless internet, Sky's 50+ channels and an extensive DVD library. Secure off-street parking is provided in our enclosed courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Kaikoura
Anchor Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing