We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchor Inn Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Panorama Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
268
104
16
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
104
16
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadexecutive roomsea facing roomwhale watchingpier hoteljacuzzi bathlarge roomnew zealandkitchen areasouth islandlovely viewa great place to stayfriendly ownersstayed one nightfantastic locationgreat roomminute drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 392 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We picked this motel mostly due to the Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We booked a standard studio unit, but on arrival had been upgraded to a sea view unit, which was spacious, light and airy. The patio doors opened out onto a small patio area at the front of the motel with the sea and beach just across the not very busy road. The unit was modern and the soft furnishings beautifully co-ordinated. The shower room was also modern and both rooms were spotlessly clean. My only very small criticism is that when seated on the sofa, you couldn’t watch the TV comfortably even though it was on a turntable. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the guest laundry was also very clean and user friendly. It was about a 10 to 15 minutes walk into the centre of Kaikoura, but there are restaurants within 5 minutes of the motel. We had a lovely stay here and would highly recommend the Anchor.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at the Anchor Inn for two nights in an executive suite with sea views. It was a relaxing and comfortable stay with a king bed, spa tub and air conditioning. We ended up only using the A/C the first day as it was easy to open the door for a sea breeze. The owner helped us get our wi-fi set up, but it was slow in the room. With all the concrete between reception and the rooms, he has his work cut out for him to get a good wi-fi. We ended up sitting in the reception area for the faster speeds.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhead_librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Decent, clean, large rooms. Very friendly proprietors. Location is right at the Esplanade, some rooms have a sea view.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mugwump888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The location just outside of the town was scenic, silent and convenient for going around the peninsula. The host was delightful and helpful. The room with a sea side terrace was clean and comforatble. Since we can get fresh sea food in Kaikoura, we were delighted by the well equipped kitchen. Our self-cooking dinner menu included sea-food salad with big crayfish and cheese, mussels steamed with wine, mussel-soup with baby leaves, eye filet steak. Although the seaside room was located along the main road, traffic sound was not disturbing at all in the night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginmokusei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night one our way from Wellington to Queenstown. It was a wonderful place to stay as it is very homely. The rooms are clean, tidy and very comfortable. The location is great, just outside the town and less than 20 seconds from the sea front..

The family that run Anchor Inn are exceptionally friendly. They helped us arrange tours, and recommended a great restaurant for us. They even directed us to a seal colony right on the sea front less than a 5 minute drive away - we got amazing close to the seals with very few other people around.

Whilst in Kaikoura, we went seal swimming and whale watching - both highly recommended. It was lovely to come back to such a warm, friendly place after our adventures!

I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank young_happy_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews